We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, New Zealand
Meals
Lunch
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Table Service
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
61
71
68
28
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
61
71
68
28
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews battered prawns hot chips bread prawn fishing huka falls large restaurant 1kg
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 22 February 2021 via mobile

Lunch - prawn cocktail and very disappointing indeed. Fairly sure these were defrosted mix of shrimps and prawns with one prawn from Huka Prawn Park placed on top of the others. The dressing was not nice - I would say likely something from the supermarket....It’s a shame because your venue is awesome and I am a local. Will not be recommending to others unfortunately :-((More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Shawntheprawn, General Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am sorry you did not enjoy your lunch here. I will pass your comments onto the Kitchen manger

Reviewed 18 January 2021

Decided to visit since thought surely these will be the best prawns. Prawns in garlic butter, bland and $53 for about 100 grams of actual prawn meat. Rip off. Don’t recommend. Prawn chowder, glue consistency... not impressive. Crumbed prawns, bland. Do not recommend, unless you...fancy burning $180 and then going to the bakery for lunch. Even hot chips tasteless. After you pay $150 for food if you want an extra tub of sauce for tasteless chips... $1 more! Don’t bother visiting.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 January 2021

We came here many years ago when the kids were young, so now in their teens we were all looking forward to it. Prices are expensive but the food was just alright - prawns in the prawn salad - dry and gritty. What made it...very disappointing was the service was poor. Waitresses were friendly but waiter spilled the coffee and it went into other drinks, but didn’t seem to notice - so we had to ask for this to be changed. Food took along time to come. Other tables were served food before ours, even though we ordered before them. We only ordered fried food. We waited for over 45mins then asked staff when the meals were likely to turn up. Two kids meals turned up they were both cold. We asked for them to be taken back and reheated. The rest of the meals turn up another 20mins later along with the third kids meal we ordered. Two kids meals were the same, so not sure why they were not cooked together. The experience is not what we remember previously - when there was a lot of tourist from overseas. The experience for our whole family of 5 plus our friends family of 3 was extremely disappointing 😭. We definitely won’t be coming back in a hurry.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 12 October 2020 via mobile

Enjoyed the prawns we had, they were crumbled and had a very delicious lime chili sauce with that was lovely. I also had the Japanese lime green tea which had a wonderful taste and is good for you. The only problem that we had was...that they were expensive. It cost $18 for 6 prawns that were most probably cut in half anyway. Then if you go out and catch ur own it is hit and miss to whether u would catch any.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

It’s easy to give this restaurant a miss as it’s part of the very busy Prawn Park where a lot of local families get together for a day out at prawn fishing. We noticed it after coming out of Huka falls, on the way to...Taupo. Decided to check out what all the fuss was about at the Prawn Park and then noticed this place - a sprawling restaurant that was full of families that looked like a fast food restaurant. We were hungry so decided to take a chance and order something to eat. Were given a table outside on the deck overlooking the pond and were so pleasantly surprised with the food, the ambience and everything else. Liked: 1. The menu of lunch specials was interesting and all around prawns done in different ways. Must orders were the Garlic Prawns (big, fresh and garlic infused) perfect with a glass of white; the Crispy Battered Prawns; the Curry prawns with rice. All excellent in terms of taste, presentation and portion size. Very unexpected for what looked to us at first glance, like a fast food chain. Not a favourite for me - the Prawn chowder. It was starchy, thick and clumpy and bland. Do not recommend. 2. The restaurant interior feels like you are in a spacious fast food chain but the outdoor seating was charming, tables were well spaced out and on a deck and the weather in winter (despite a bit of chilly wind) made the experience so very pleasant. 3. A friendly duck came by to get some bread off us. 4. Apparently the locals we spoke to did not catch much that day so fishing is a hit and miss but I loved the idea of being able to spend a day out doing something with the family. 5. Shaun the prawn is their friendly mascot. Like this place; great for young families and some good local seafood cooked Kiwi style. Note to owners: They need to offer a seafood bbq on weekends in summer - it would be a hit.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?7  
Prawn101, Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2020

Thanks very much for the time and effort in your feedback. I passed this on to the team, and I am sure they will appreciate it. Cheers Mitch

Reviewed 17 July 2020 via mobile

We came in for late lunch. We are a group of 16. When our drinks came, a waitress names ALANA was carrying a tray full of our drinks + glasses. The tray lost balance on her hands and she ended up spilling drinks and dropped...a bottle of beer on the floor. She just stood there frozen and looked like she doesn't know what to do. My husband helped her as one of the bottle is still tipped over and still continued spilling beer on the floor. While she was tidying up, I heard her tell her colleagues "one of them was getting the bottle from my tray. he spilled the drink on me." I can hear her going around other staff telling them this is what happened. WHAT A LIAR. She spilled the drinks herself and ended up blaming my husband for it when all he did was help her AFTER SHE SPILLED THE DRINKS. Then one staff came to us, told us off that next time we should not take drinks from the tray and wait to be served. We immediately told her that we were just helping ALANA after she spilled the drinks and the staff told us that it is a complete misunderstanding as this is what ALANA told her why it happened. This made our group uncomfortable because some of the staff kept on looking at our group thinking we are savages taking drinks from a tray and can't wait to be served. One other waitress got our order wrong and we ended up paying for an extra item we didn't order. The food itself was overly priced and pretty average.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Prawn101, General Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2020

I am really sorry to hear of your experience. We have taken your comments on board and will look into things. Cheers Mitch

Reviewed 30 May 2020 via mobile

Prawn curry luke warm, fries left standing to long so obviously not hot, prawns good half price queens birthday weekend which was good wouldn't pay full price otherwise, overall menu needs to be refreshed a bit limited on selection. Couldn't fault staff very friendly

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
Prawn101, General Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2020

Thank you very much for the feedback, we are also looking forward to when we open back up 7 Days and can offer our full menu. Cheers Mitch

Reviewed 13 January 2020 via mobile

Restaurant is part of the Prawn Park. Indoor and outdoor dining. Large restaurant with table service. Specialises in prawn dishes. The main focus being on the 1/2 or 1kg steam prawns. We had the crumbed prawns and a 1/2kg steamed prawns. Prawns had very large...heads which is about 50% of their weight. So it works out at about $6/prawn☹️ Not a lot of flavour. For my palate I would give it a miss. $100+ a kilo for mainly head and shell far too expensive and they are not that tasty.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Prawn101, Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2020

Thanks for your feedback, sorry we couldn't please you on this occasion. Cheers Mitch

Reviewed 3 January 2020

Visited there during the New Year, it was very packed. Despite being very busy, we were quickly taken to our table. It was a hot day, and the dining area does not have good ventilation. This makes the experience somewhat unbearable. The food is good,...but quite expensive. The prawn chowder is really nice. The number of guests make the place less enjoyable, and unfortunately some made the toilet floor very wet, and quite hazardous and poor. Not a pleasant experience as a result.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Prawn101, Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2020

You are correct in noting that this our busier summer period. We since set a new standard in keeping an eye on facilities. Cheers Mitch

Reviewed 14 October 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed the best prawns ever at this restaurant. Busy over lunch butthestaff coped well. We will be back for more

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Prawn101, Guest Relations Manager at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2019

An awesome review, thanks for sharing :-) See you next time. Cheers, Stacey @HPP

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wairakei Resort Taupo
1,221 reviews
.84 km away
Quality Suites Huka Falls
132 reviews
4.72 km away
Camellia Court Motel
161 reviews
6.21 km away
Family Motel
28 reviews
6.24 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Incredible India Restaurant and Bar
232 reviews
6.61 km away
Paulys Diner
384 reviews
6.61 km away
Victoria's Cafe Kitchen Bar
468 reviews
6.69 km away
Lotus Thai Restaurant
427 reviews
6.58 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Huka Prawn Park
1,280 reviews
.12 km away
Taupo Wake Park
20 reviews
.15 km away
Hukafalls Jet
1,266 reviews
.27 km away
Shooters Golf Range
7 reviews
.81 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
knocker2014
7 January 2020|
Answer
Response from Huka P | Property representative |
Hi there, When busy with customers we may not answer our phone and it's peak season at the moment. We check voicemails every few hours so we can return calls but nothing from Knocker but I did receive an email from you which... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Huka Prawn Park

Huka Prawn Park is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 2.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5