We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Lago

Is this your business?
$$$$European, ,
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
+64 7-378 7080
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lamb rump” (14 reviews)
“truffle” (6 reviews)
“sorbet” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 476 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

First I would like to compliment the chef on the tasty food. No complaints there. However, the service was appalling. When I look back at the past reviews I notice complaints about the same thing we experienced. If they are working on these issues, they...More

Thank Shariquickenden
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Just had a very pleasant dinner food wise spoilt by wait staff been too pushy to get our meal selection,we were asked three times in ten minutes for our order, we were there for a relaxing evening, it was not a calm atmosphere. Felt too...More

Thank Poppet1056
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Being part of the Hilton Hotel the food prices are a little on the steep side. Had a beef burger and some buffalo chicken bites, alongside a bottle of wine. Service was great but the food was nothing special. The bar staff were also setting...More

Thank nzsarah2016
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although they have a somewhat captive audience as there are no alternatives nearby this is not reflected in either the food or the service both of which were spot on.

Thank traveller175England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We wanted a nice meal, but were too tired to go far. We ate at Bistro Lago in the Hilton and really enjoyed it. The food was good, there was a nice selection for adults and kids, the wine selection was good, and the service...More

Thank kjh529
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went Bistro Lago last night with family and friends. I am a visitor to Taupo and the table was booked by a friend. Probably the worst service by poorly trained waitresses that I have experienced for a long time, and some of the side dishes...More

Thank Mike W
Carlee-ann I, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Mike for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent dinner at Bistro Lago. I am sorry your experience was disappointing. We strive to provide great service, delicious food and overall a great night out. Unfortunately, this time we messed up and I'm...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have been regulars over the years and had a family dinner with out of town guests. On arrival our table was missing two settings even though I personally called and had them confirm the number. Upon sitting down we didn't get any table service...More

Thank Rachael W
Carlee-ann I, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Rachael for taking the time to provide some feedback on your evening with us. I am very sorry that you had brought your out of town guests and we failed to live up to your expectations. I understand you called earlier to change...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We dined at Bistro Largo twice over the 2017 Christmas period and both time thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I don't often give 5 stars but the atmosphere (helped by the setting sun), service and food could not be faulted on either occasion. It is a...More

Thank Kiwitony
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the best meal of our two week vacation in New Zealand and one of my most memorable meals ever. I was not expecting to be blown away by the food at a hotel but it was incredibly good. The salmon su vid appetizer...More

Thank DOCCSW
Carlee-ann I, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the awesome review! We do an amazing lamb so I am glad you were able to try it. We have won the New Zealand Beef and Lamb Excellence Awards 9 years running. Next visit to New Zealand I hope we will see...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second time dining at Bistro. And again it didnt disappoint. Delish entre, i ordered the calamari gnocchi and husband had the bluff oysters. YUM! mains weren't as good as entre, but very good. Would definitely eat here again.

Thank Hazel K
Carlee-ann I, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks Hazel for your great review! We are doing Bluff Oysters into April (subject to availability of course) so hope you can make it out again to try some more of our delicious options.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 68 hotels in Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
2,301 reviews
.10 km away
Karaka Tree Motel
244 reviews
1.05 km away
Phoenix Resort
73 reviews
1.06 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
293 reviews
1.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Rangitaiki Tavern
9 reviews
.08 km away
Mole & Chicken
252 reviews
1.17 km away
Edgewater Restaurant
207 reviews
1.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Waipahihi Botanical Gardens
135 reviews
.71 km away
Wairakei Natural Thermal Valley
337 reviews
1.03 km away
Wairakei Geothermal Power Station Visitor Center
79 reviews
1.03 km away
Taupo's Floatplane
91 reviews
1.58 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gogirl17
13 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Guido P | Property representative |
Hi St. Augustine, Sorry for the late reply. Legally we cannot have trout on the menu, I am afraid. However if you catch one, we are more than welcome to cook it for you. all we need to see if your current fishing license... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$27
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: +64 7-378 7080
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing