We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Lago Restaurant

) #21 of 92 Restaurants in Taupo $$$$ European, ,
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
+64 7-376 2319
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good23%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“lamb rump” (11 reviews)
“sorbet” (5 reviews)
“truffles” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had dinner at Bistro Lago last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. All four of us had delicious meals, my son declared that his chocolate fondant was the highlight for him, but lamb rump and chicken also very good. Waitress charming too. Very lucky that this...More

Thank Julieimp
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went out for dinner with my partner. We were almost the first guests in there but the administration didn't let us to sit near the fire explaining it like those tables were reserved. We didn't see any notes or boards on those tables saying...More

Thank Елена М
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Елена М, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you, for taking the time to write such a detailed feedback in regard to your recent dining experience in Bistro Lago, and please be assured we have taken your comments very seriously. I...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Credit to the kitchen, our meals were great. Unfortunately, the service was really disappointing especially given the price point of the restaurant. The numerous different front of house staff we dealt with were all friendly but let down either by a lack of training or...More

Thank GJLondon
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear GJLondon, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you, for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor in regard to your recent dining experience in Bistro Lago. I welcome and appreciate your feedback as it helps me understand where we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were 'shouted' dinner at this restaurant - never been before even though we live in the area - well, we were blown away. The food was absolutely stunning as was the service.More

Thank 106emt
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi 106emt, thank you very much for taking time to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor and I am glad to hear we fully met your expectations. I will definately share your review with the team and I am looking forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

we ate here twice during our stay and we still rave about the food.first night we were trying all the starters and I must say,they did amazing job but when on the second night we tried three mains it was absolutely sensational .The salmon main...More

Thank BJBG
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi BJBG, thank you very much for sharing your 19th years anniversary dining experience on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear we made your evening in such an important milestone, an evening to remember. BJBG, I have shared your feedback with the full team and...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017

We had dinner on two nights, both nights were excellent and the staff friendly and attentive. We also had breakfast and there was an excellent range of food, again the staff were friendly and attentive. The restaurant is comfortable and well set out with lovely...More

Thank Dee C
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Must admit after booking I was a little nervous we might be in for disappointment, however, how glad are we!... we just had the most beautiful carpaccio entree, lamb main and especially chef put together dessert that we have had in quite some time! That's...More

Thank maddrose
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Stopped for lunch with a friend today. What a beautiful setting overlooking Lake Taupo. The restaurant was warm and inviting with warm fires and cozy atmosphere. The staff were very attentive but not intrusive. the meal excellent, and the dessert platter superb. Thoroughly recommend it...More

Thank Moys G
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Delicious food with outstanding views. Wonderful attentive staff and a warm inviting area to relax with a drink after dinner in front of the fire.

Thank LoveTaupo123
Reviewed 1 May 2017

I had several dining experiences here while staying at the Hilton hotel that the restaurant is attached to. First, it should be noted that if you are not staying at the hotel, parking in front of the hotel is somewhat limited. If you are staying...More

Thank Fzedlach
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mole & Chicken
216 reviews
1.17 km away
Espresso Cove
77 reviews
1.18 km away
Edgewater Restaurant
181 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Great Lake Taupo
208 reviews
1.59 km away
Waipahihi Botanical Gardens
117 reviews
.72 km away
Wairakei Geothermal Power Station Visitor Center
72 reviews
1.03 km away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
396 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
gogirl17
Do you have local trout on the menu?
13 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Guido P | Property representative |
Hi St. Augustine, Sorry for the late reply. Legally we cannot have trout on the menu, I am afraid. However if you catch one, we are more than welcome to cook it for you. all we need to see if your current fishing license... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$28
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: +64 7-376 2319
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing