We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Lago Restaurant

$$$$, European,
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
+64 21 518 402
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lamb rump” (12 reviews)
“truffle” (5 reviews)
“sorbet” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had booked at the Hilton and decided to go to dinner at their restaurant. So glad that we did. It was just lovely, the atmosphere, the staff, the whole package. The weather was a little cloudy but on a clear day the views would...More

Thank OrangesnLemons
Reviewed 11 September 2017

As we’d had a substantial breakfast we didn’t feel like lunch so we decided to opt for a high tea at this restaurant. When we arrived and enquired we were told that it wasn't available, so we selected from the lunch menu opting for Cloudy...More

Thank Int_Academic
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Thought we were going somewhere really special in Taupo for an anniversary dinner. The service was so shocking we ended up walking out. It took almost half an hour for someone to ask us if we would like to order any breads or entree. No...More

Thank brittanyg62
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Are twice here - dinner and breakfast. Dinner menu is typical NZ menu (beef, lamb, chicken) with a local mix where possible. Service was left wanting. No care at breakfast (didn't even offer coffee) all self service. Lack of attention to the needs of families.

Thank Brooke D
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Duck breast was too small slices not good enough . Food average service ok To top it of they tried to charge for using a credit card . Wont be back

1  Thank Michael K
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Three of us decided to give Bistro Lago another visit thinking it could only improve, but no such luck. The waitress was wearing a top with food spilt on it and her apron was dirty, and we were there for lunch and the only ones...More

Thank annacd
Reviewed 20 August 2017

A brilliant place to dine, we had excellent service, amazing cocktails and the special scallops of the day were a fantastic entree to share! Staff were attentive and friendly!

Thank trace883
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We had dinner in this restaurant as part of the Hilton. Dinner service was appropriate and the food was nicely done up. We ordered a lamb and a coq au vin both dishes were delectable to our taste bud This Restaurant has 2 nice fire...More

Thank Mantatattoo
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Stopped by for a quick drink after soaking at Debretts down the road. The service was quite nice but we were the only people in the restaurant at the time. The dining area looked quite nice.

Thank Acineto
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

This place seemed to have everything going for it, easy to get to, good parking, lovely ambiance, we had high expectations. Unfortunately, we were part of a large group & had a set menu with very few options to choose from. Staff could have been...More

1  Thank Ursh503
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hi Ursh503, Thank you for your feedback in regard to the recent dining experience at Bistro Lago and I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your meal. We offer set menus to parties of 12 guests and above and we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mole & Chicken
224 reviews
1.17 km away
Espresso Cove
87 reviews
1.18 km away
Edgewater Restaurant
190 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Great Lake Taupo
243 reviews
1.59 km away
Waipahihi Botanical Gardens
119 reviews
.72 km away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
424 reviews
.15 km away
Taupo's Floatplane
78 reviews
1.58 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gogirl17
13 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Guido P | Property representative |
Hi St. Augustine, Sorry for the late reply. Legally we cannot have trout on the menu, I am afraid. However if you catch one, we are more than welcome to cook it for you. all we need to see if your current fishing license... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$27
Cuisine
New Zealand, European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: +64 21 518 402
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing