We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro Lago Restaurant

) #22 of 93 Restaurants in Taupo $$$$ European, ,
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
+64 21 518 402
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good23%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“lamb rump” (12 reviews)
“sorbet” (5 reviews)
“truffles” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

A brilliant place to dine, we had excellent service, amazing cocktails and the special scallops of the day were a fantastic entree to share! Staff were attentive and friendly!

Thank trace883
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had dinner in this restaurant as part of the Hilton. Dinner service was appropriate and the food was nicely done up. We ordered a lamb and a coq au vin both dishes were delectable to our taste bud This Restaurant has 2 nice fire...More

Thank Mantatattoo
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped by for a quick drink after soaking at Debretts down the road. The service was quite nice but we were the only people in the restaurant at the time. The dining area looked quite nice.

Thank Acineto
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place seemed to have everything going for it, easy to get to, good parking, lovely ambiance, we had high expectations. Unfortunately, we were part of a large group & had a set menu with very few options to choose from. Staff could have been...More

1  Thank Ursh503
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ursh503, Thank you for your feedback in regard to the recent dining experience at Bistro Lago and I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your meal. We offer set menus to parties of 12 guests and above and we...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Three of us had dinner here one night during our recent 4 night stay at the Hilton. We had a full 3 courses and all of it was very good. The service was great and the restaurant has a lovely feel. Overall I felt it...More

Thank Briony W
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Briony W, thank you very much for taking time to share your recent experience on Tripadvisor and I am glad to hear we fully met your expectations. I will definitely share your review with the team and I am looking forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017

I ordered venison. It took 40 minutes for the meal to arrive. The venison was cold, plate cold, sauce cold. Nobody asked if our meals were OK. I bought this to the attention of the waiter who seemed disinterested. For 42NZD for a small serving,...More

5  Thank chikakokomaki
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi chikakokomaki, thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor, Your feedback is important to us and it tells us what we do well and where we can improve on. I am sorry to hear that in this occasion we did not meet your dining...More

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

We had a dinner and breakfast at this place. The food was good nothing to be exited. The staff was friendly but always tried to give the place a spirit of a 2 or 3 star restaurant. Not the right way I would say. The...More

Thank Rattle S
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rattle S, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor, Your feedback is important to us and it tells us what we do well and where we can improve on. I am sorry to hear that in this occasion we did not meet your...More

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Had dinner at Bistro Lago last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. All four of us had delicious meals, my son declared that his chocolate fondant was the highlight for him, but lamb rump and chicken also very good. Waitress charming too. Very lucky that this...More

Thank Julieimp
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Julieimp, Thank you for taking time to write your recent Bistro Lago experience on Tripadvisor. I have shared your feedback with both kitchen and front of house team. Again, thank you for sharing and I am looking forward to welcome you back when you...More

Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

We went out for dinner with my partner. We were almost the first guests in there but the administration didn't let us to sit near the fire explaining it like those tables were reserved. We didn't see any notes or boards on those tables saying...More

Thank Елена М
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Елена М, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you, for taking the time to write such a detailed feedback in regard to your recent dining experience in Bistro Lago, and please be assured we have taken your comments very seriously. I...More

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Credit to the kitchen, our meals were great. Unfortunately, the service was really disappointing especially given the price point of the restaurant. The numerous different front of house staff we dealt with were all friendly but let down either by a lack of training or...More

Thank GJLondon
Guido P, Manager at Bistro Lago, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear GJLondon, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you, for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor in regard to your recent dining experience in Bistro Lago. I welcome and appreciate your feedback as it helps me understand where we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mole & Chicken
219 reviews
1.17 km away
Espresso Cove
83 reviews
1.18 km away
Edgewater Restaurant
183 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Great Lake Taupo
230 reviews
1.59 km away
Waipahihi Botanical Gardens
119 reviews
.72 km away
Wairakei Geothermal Power Station Visitor Center
72 reviews
1.03 km away
Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort
410 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
gogirl17
13 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Guido P | Property representative |
Hi St. Augustine, Sorry for the late reply. Legally we cannot have trout on the menu, I am afraid. However if you catch one, we are more than welcome to cook it for you. all we need to see if your current fishing license... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$18 - US$28
Cuisine
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80-100 Napier Road, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: +64 21 518 402
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing