We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$3 - $39
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, New Zealand
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Reviews (21)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
8
3
2
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
8
3
2
1
6
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 7 January 2024

We stopped here for dinner because we LOVE SICHUAN FOOD! My boyfriend is from Napier and I am Portuguese but we have lived in London many years and developed quite the taste for Sichuan cuisine! We shared the Chilli Fish and the Mince Green Beans...and both were super delicious! I added a little soya sauce to the broth and my partner wanted more chilli 🌶️ which is easy enough to ask for. It was so good we ate all the broth! Adding to this already outstanding meal, we chatted quite a bit with Chris the owner from Sichuan (can’t recall his real Chinese name) and he is just the most lovely guy. It’s funny that we thought he was a 20 year old boy that was just serving, turned out to be the 40 year old Landscape Architect that decided to takeover this place and transform it into something different. We wish there was a place like this in Napier!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2023

My wife just wanted a nice Chinese meal , they weren’t our first choice but others were closed … we recieved exactly what was ordered … no imagination to their cooking … no taste , I could have boiled a sock and had sock soup...that would of had more taste than what we recieved … terrible food , if that’s what u call itMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seakraft Taupo, Owner at Seakraft, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Hi! So sorry that you weren't happy with our food! Would really appreciate if you could tell us while you were here so we can work to improve our soup of socks. If you had a takeaway and were unhappy please ring and tell us...More

Reviewed 10 August 2023

Bad service. Portion of food is small. Not worth paying. Never go back. One unhappy customer 😡😡😡😡😡

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2023

I stopped here during a road trip for some takeaway, during Easter. Drove around the restaurant area and settled on this. Ordered the sweet and sour pork which was delicious, and MUCH better than any other takeway chinese sweet and sour that I've had. Much...less batter and a cleaner sauce. (craving it right now). I left my wallet pouch which had hundred of dollars, my drivers license and passport, but didn't realize until I was hours away. They were so gracious and mailed it back to me straight away. Above and beyond service. I look forward to trying other dishes when next in town. Highly recommended!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2023

We ordered two dishes that were supposed to have veges. 80% of each dish was rice or noodles. The pork and vege dish had 1 miserable little bokchoy, the other dish had about 6 shavings of carrot a couple of bits of cabbage and quite...a few tiny little frozen beans. Most of the meal was inedible. Ignore their photos of the dishes, they are nothing like what you get. A rip off!More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2022

We ordered sweet’n’sour which had amazing texture, chicken fried rice with flavour to match and the best fried won tons I’ve had in 10 years!! Glad we have found this place after arriving in 2 months ago!

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2021 via mobile

Really nice fresh food. Thank you. Friendly service, could not do enough for us. Best stir fry for many years! Definitely come again

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2021

Their wonton noodle soup is to die for so much flavour loved it!!! The people are lovely with great service and will definitely be going back soon

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 June 2020 via mobile

Such hearty, delicious food for a bang-up price. Big meal and big flavour. Owners are so friendly and accommodating to tailor meals to your preferences.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2020

Sorry to say but it was disgusting for the price you pay $14 for an egg fu yung which has more vege then egg literally so disappointed my kids would not touch it also the fried rice had no taste at all, all you can...taste was the grittyness in the rice also costing $14 when there menu online says $10 for egg fried rice and $11 for chicken fried rice never will I return.More

Date of visit: April 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

We chose this place because today is Chinese Year Eve and we want to eat some dumplings as tradition. After searching some many Chinese restaurants in Taupo, only Seakraft serves dumpling. We also order fried rice, chicken, duck, and fired noodles. Everything is decent and...large potion, enough for group of 5, and totally is about $90. Good deal if you are under budget.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2019

Person serving didn't know what I was talking about (language barrier)didn't understand English! when I was trying to place my order,terahiki fish & bluff oysters,I mean really is this a fish n chip shop?Learn what different fish etc exist in this country,really annoyed

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Couldn’t decide what to have for dinner when one of the kids suggested Chinese. Noticed they had tables so asked if we could eat in - so glad we did! Lovely food, good portions and friendly staff. Kids were very happy and we had leftovers...to take home. Will definitely come again.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2018

I had fish and chips. My partner had a vegetarian noodle meal. Both were good - about what you would expect really. I had quite a few chips left over for the next day. You can eat in or take away. The service was friendly.

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2018

The worst of all the Chinese food I had in New Zealand! The owners were very friendly, hard working and accommodating. But the dishes were not good. They looked better than they taste. The wonton was soggy and the meat tasted veer. The fried rice...was the easiest thing to make but was just mediocre. The roast pork was dry. But while we were there eating our meal, there were so many people coming in to order fish and chip, I believed their fish and chips must be good and we ordered the wrong thing. The location was good.More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Absolute Lake View Motel
68 reviews
.23 km away
Great Lake Motel Taupo
140 reviews
.24 km away
Acacia Lake View Motel
126 reviews
.29 km away
ASURE PRINCE motor lodge
344 reviews
.32 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Master of India
1,299 reviews
.09 km away
Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen
979 reviews
.02 km away
Indian Affair
726 reviews
.04 km away
Replete Cafe & Store
671 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Lake Taupo
923 reviews
.24 km away
Taupo Museum
233 reviews
.25 km away
Taupo Information Centre
205 reviews
.27 km away
Lake Taupo Hole in One Challenge
107 reviews
.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Seakraft staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SEAKRAFT, Taupo - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Seakraft

Yes, Seakraft offers takeaway services.

Seakraft is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3