We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ploughmans Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Off State Highway 1 45 Charles Crescent, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
+64 7-377 3422
Website
Today
12:00 - 10:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 10:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 284: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The location, the menu, the staff were all great, by when the food arrived it was very disappointing. I ordered a mixed platter - over 90% of the food was overcooked and dry. It may have been because we were a large group of 13 and getting 13 meals out at the same time was a challenge - but I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Riotrioadventures
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stopped into Ploughmans for lunch and left very happy. I had the beef burger which was delicious! A nice thick homemade beef patty not a packet one that's just been fried up. The staff was also very friendly and has a lovely atmosphere outside on the verandah. Overall very happy and will return again!

Helpful?
Thank ccw85
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Venison pie/ delicious Kidneys and bacon / rich and tasty Eye fillet/ perfect Curry of the day/ yum Dessert is on the way A Taupo treasure

Helpful?
Thank 700christophero
Taupo District, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to ploughmans with my family on a Friday night with my family and was delighted when I saw crumbed scallops on the menu. They were awesome, cooked perfectly golden, will def be back to have them again 👌

Helpful?
Thank jeeeets
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

A must place to visit once in Taupo! The food is superb,the service is friendly and totally amazing! Visited them on Easter,very busy, I meant,really busy and we had to wait a bit but the waiting was totally worth it. The food was fabulous very fresh and tasty. The portions are generous too.We'lll be back again and bring our friends... More 

Helpful?
Thank 674happytraveller
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying at a motel down the road which recommended the Ploughmans pub for dinner. As it is a 5 min walk- we were keen to try it out. Unfortunately it was very average- I understand that being Easter Sunday night that they were very busy. However we arrived at 5:30pm to beat the rush. Yet the quality of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kat C
Raethiborn, Owner at Ploughmans, responded to this review

Hi Kat, Thank you for your feedback. Yes it was unexpectedly busy, we had staffed based on last years figures and were caught short. As a new Owner we are working to improve the Rstaurant and the service and invite you to try us again in the future once the necessary changes have been implemented. Our apologies that your night... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a vegetarian I am happy to make do with what is on the menu but I was disappointed. I had the feta and spinach parcels with salad.The plate when it arrived looked good but the pretty "salad" was really just a few big lettuce leaves with a fling of grated carrot. On this bed of green and purple leaves... More 

Helpful?
Thank R0z
Raethiborn, Owner at Ploughmans, responded to this review

Hi Roz, We are looking to change the menus in the coming weeks and will take on board your critique. Thank you for taking the time to feed back Kind Regards Paul More 

Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome place to watch the rugby, chilled out and warm atmosphere with friendly staff, will definitely be back 🙌🏽🙌🏽🙌🏽

Helpful?
Thank federalst
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are locals & have loved having Ploughmans in our suburb , but have noticed the food getting worse & worse . We went as a family of 8 adults in January & never again. The steaks were so small they must get them custom cut , and so over cooked & dry . My chicken curry was so terrible... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Monty B
Raethiborn, Owner at Ploughmans, responded to this review

Dear Folks. I am very sorry you had a poor dining experience back in January. I am please to advise you however that the business has been under new ownership since March 1st of this year and I welcome the opportunity to turn your experience around. I note you are locals and as such we aspire to be your 1st... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant staff and good food made for a great night out. The staff were friendly, restaurant roomy and not noisy. Great atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank jan393

Travellers who viewed Ploughmans also viewed

 
Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Ploughmans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$21
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 10:00
Monday
12:00 - 10:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 10:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 10:00
Thursday
12:00 - 10:00
Friday
12:00 - 10:00
Saturday
12:00 - 10:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Off State Highway 1 45 Charles Crescent, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Waikato Region  >  Taupo District  >  Taupo
  • Phone Number: +64 7-377 3422

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ploughmans staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?