We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowded House Bar & Cafe Restaurant

) #49 of 126 Restaurants in New Plymouth $$ - $$$ Barbecue, ,
93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
+64 6-759 4921
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good29%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (11 reviews)
“potato skins” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Barbecue, New Zealand, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2016

Popped in the a couple of nights before we were leaving to watch the rugby. We had a few drinks and the atmosphere was great. We saw the food coming out as we were sitting there and thought gosh we better come here for our...More

Thank Hayleigh E
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We celebrated our oldest son's birthday. The restaurant was not busy and all staff standing near the entrance were pleasant and friendly.The table we had asked for, when we booked, was still busy, so our party was re-directed to another table which as not so...More

Thank JohnMarion H
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

Hi John, Thanks for your feedback. We apologise for the not having the table ready for you when you came in especially as you had booked it. In regards to the food not being up to our usual standard as you stated in your review,...More

Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a quick visit with the parents while in New Plymouth. The food was good, the service was great! The lad who served us, the name escapes me, was a cheerful guy. The potato sharing thing was nice. Maybe less Salsa on it....More

Thank SilicoJack
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Hiya, Thanks for your review, love hearing it and sharing with the team. I checked the bathroom and found that the fly spray dispenser was empty, we are sorry for not noticing sooner. All fixed now. We will also discuss ambience with our staff so...More

Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

The meal was great so much food and it was good food. The staff were lovely and friendly. They had a massive screen to watch the game it was awesome. Throughly recommend. Reasonably priced also

Thank kls2015
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

Visiting family and have been here before, so knew we could get a nice meal. The waitress service was quick and friendly. We had chips, potato skins and a chicken burger; all of which were good and tasty. Lots of variety on the menu means...More

Thank acoton
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

We went to dinner last night. I had the wings with southwest dressing, the wife had potato skins and daughter curly fries. The cider was awesome. Service was great.

Thank Jason E
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Went to the pub quiz with my son who is part of a team who visit every week. The quiz was very different to ones I have been to on the UK. I found some questions almost impossible to answer as the were purely about...More

Thank Michael C
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Best ribs we have had in ages, serving was more than enough for the two of us and we were unable to finish it. Great dining experience with lovely friendly staff. Awesome lunch thanks guys, see you again soon.

Thank BHodson
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Got quite disappointed when their menu was changed but the new menu seem to be good. Their ribs tho was too spicy for my liking but they cater to guests request when asked not to make it spicy. Came here to watch special sports show...More

Thank andzkg
Reviewed 18 February 2016

I don't know what it is about me that can't get served in this place I stand quietly among the people waiting to be served, waiting my turn and I might as well be invisible. Not once, not in one year, but every time I've...More

Thank Flash2004
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Flash2004, This is so disappointing to hear that it has happened to you, let alone every time you come in to Crowded House. We are frequently training the staff on acknowledging every person that walks in the door and usually they are very good at...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bella Vita
241 reviews
.13 km away
India Today Tandoor and Bistro
284 reviews
.15 km away
The Hour Glass
165 reviews
.12 km away
Elixir Cafe
145 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pukekura Park
1,235 reviews
.24 km away
Coastal Walkway
1,146 reviews
.71 km away
Puke Ariki
344 reviews
.46 km away
Govett-Brewster Art Gallery
296 reviews
.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 03:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 03:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 03:00
Thursday
10:00 - 03:00
Friday
10:00 - 03:00
Saturday
10:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 4921
  • E-mail
Description
Crowded House, it's a local sports bar like no other in the heart of the New Plymouth CBD.

Open 7 days from 10am until late the eatery menu has a wide selection of dishes to choose from brunch, lunch & dinner. The bar has an extensive range including Heineken. We LOVE sport and have plenty of screens for you to watch it all on. FREE WIFI for all of our customers too.

Crowded House is just 5 minutes walk to our World famous Pukekura Park or down to the Coastal Walkway.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing