We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowded House Bar & Cafe

93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
+64 6-759 4921
Website
Save
All photos (51)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good30%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (11 reviews)
“donuts” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Bar, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 60 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2016

Halfway between bar and restaurant this place is ok but lacks character. You'll only ever find rugby on the big screen unless there is none in which case they will substitute any other sport until more rugby comes on. At special events (FIFA World Cup,...More

Thank Tease-Reddy
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stopped by with kids and enjoyed a nice lunch with burgers, chips and sandwhiches. Its a nice lively place

Thank Jeeei
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This is a great bar to go to for watching sports events, with a big screen and several TVs plus tables or booths to sit at. The food is at the high end of quality for pub food and the service is onto it (although...More

Thank Kiwi A
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Another return visit and the customer service was outstanding. Service was prompt and the servers were efficient and had a sense of humor. Our meals were delightful and piping hot.

Thank kiwiman13
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Best place to watch live sport in New Plymouth. Nice big bar. However the service I got from staff was poor and the steak meal I received was not the pricetag. Hopefully a one off as it is a good bar.More

Thank 676kaner
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Hi Kane, Thanks for you review, it's great that you like the bar and enjoyed watching sport here. I apologize for the the service not being satisfactory and wonder if you can let me know which meal you didn't think matched its price? I'm sure...More

Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Dinner for 4. We called in to see if there was a table (it was Mother's day night, and town was busy). There were no tables but we were offered a bar table, which was comfortable enough. The meals as pictures attached were: open beef...More

Thank flaashkiwi
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Great restaurant to go for a nice dinner or a drink with mates. Our family comes here quite often for a nice meal or a drink. I would recommend Crowdy to anyone wanting a nice meal in an awesome atmosphere. Staff are very very helpful...More

Thank eth_griff
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Popped in the a couple of nights before we were leaving to watch the rugby. We had a few drinks and the atmosphere was great. We saw the food coming out as we were sitting there and thought gosh we better come here for our...More

Thank Hayleigh E
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We celebrated our oldest son's birthday. The restaurant was not busy and all staff standing near the entrance were pleasant and friendly.The table we had asked for, when we booked, was still busy, so our party was re-directed to another table which as not so...More

Thank JohnMarion H
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2016

Hi John, Thanks for your feedback. We apologise for the not having the table ready for you when you came in especially as you had booked it. In regards to the food not being up to our usual standard as you stated in your review,...More

Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a quick visit with the parents while in New Plymouth. The food was good, the service was great! The lad who served us, the name escapes me, was a cheerful guy. The potato sharing thing was nice. Maybe less Salsa on it....More

Thank SilicoJack
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Hiya, Thanks for your review, love hearing it and sharing with the team. I checked the bathroom and found that the fly spray dispenser was empty, we are sorry for not noticing sooner. All fixed now. We will also discuss ambience with our staff so...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
India Today Tandoor and Bistro
297 reviews
.15 km away
The Hour Glass
171 reviews
.09 km away
Bella Vita
257 reviews
.13 km away
Emmalou Macaron and Coffee House
84 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pukekura Park
1,276 reviews
.24 km away
New Plymouth Coastal Walkway
1,210 reviews
.63 km away
Puke Ariki
369 reviews
.46 km away
Brooklands Zoo
306 reviews
1.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$26
Cuisine
New Zealand, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 4921
  • E-mail
Description
Crowded House, it's a local sports bar like no other in the heart of the New Plymouth CBD. Open 7 days from 10am until late the eatery menu has a wide selection of dishes to choose from brunch, lunch & dinner. The bar has an extensive range including Heineken. We LOVE sport and have plenty of screens for you to watch it all on. FREE WIFI for all of our customers too. Crowded House is just 5 minutes walk to our World famous Pukekura Park or down to the Coastal Walkway.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing