We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowded House Bar & Cafe Restaurant

) #49 of 126 Restaurants in New Plymouth $$ - $$$ Barbecue, ,
93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
+64 6-759 4921
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good29%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (11 reviews)
“potato skins” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Barbecue, New Zealand, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 40 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Went up to the bar, and the female staff member ignored us for 30 seconds with a sour look on her face. Went to the other side of the bar and got ignored by the male staff member, who after serving the couple before us...More

Thank Piwakawaka19
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Hi Anna, We are very sorry that you felt both our staff members ignored you, obviously that is the last thing we want our staff to be doing. We are very sorry this was your experience at Crowded House. Regards Emma

Reviewed 14 December 2016

Everytime we visit service has alway been prompt and the staff are always friendly and check back. Our meals today were perfect as ordered and we will have no hesitation in returning in the future.

Thank kiwiman13
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Great friendly staff. The person who served me was a local so we got chatting about some good places to go visit and things to do in the region. Me and a friend got Large Ribs and it was brought out on a massive plank...More

1  Thank Jack R
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Decided to visit here for dinner, menu was good and very good options, they did cater well for our friend who was gluten free. I ordered half rack ribs and got another one free, pulled the bones right out the stack! there was a bit...More

Thank QuinKiwi
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Took the kids into town to have a look at the cars, bikes etc... very good night road closed off so was super safe for children - had dinner was amazing as always

Thank subwaystratford
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We had the Rumpsteak and Chicken Burger. Both pretty average with the steak not done to order. Service good. Pretty full when we got there on rugby night. Average pub experience.

Thank chicki0626
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Early afternoon, not overly hungry but need a drink and a light bite while I catch up on a bit of reading. A nice cold Heiny followed by some beer battered scallops, with a couple of glasses of Chardonnay. Great staff, reasonable prices and good...More

Thank Chaz258
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We were a group of 3 families, the service we received from the female staff from the moment we requested 3 tabs for our table was the worst we have ever had, you would think we had asked for the impossible. The female waitresses made...More

1  Thank inky-deb
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Cafe & sports bar, catering to the young, drunk & wanting a fight even the bouncers. Nice food during the day tho.

Thank awesomepaulsome
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Hey AwesomePaul, We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit at Crowded House in the evening.

Reviewed 2 October 2016

Popped in for a drink last night. There was a fight playing so the bar was very full and we were amazed at how thick the smoke was in the bar. I understand they can't control customers leaving the doors open but we watched multiple...More

Thank NakiDebs
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bella Vita
241 reviews
.13 km away
The Hour Glass
165 reviews
.12 km away
India Today Tandoor and Bistro
284 reviews
.15 km away
Elixir Cafe
145 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pukekura Park
1,235 reviews
.24 km away
Coastal Walkway
1,147 reviews
.71 km away
Puke Ariki
344 reviews
.46 km away
Govett-Brewster Art Gallery
296 reviews
.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 03:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 03:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 03:00
Thursday
10:00 - 03:00
Friday
10:00 - 03:00
Saturday
10:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 4921
  • E-mail
Description
Crowded House, it's a local sports bar like no other in the heart of the New Plymouth CBD.

Open 7 days from 10am until late the eatery menu has a wide selection of dishes to choose from brunch, lunch & dinner. The bar has an extensive range including Heineken. We LOVE sport and have plenty of screens for you to watch it all on. FREE WIFI for all of our customers too.

Crowded House is just 5 minutes walk to our World famous Pukekura Park or down to the Coastal Walkway.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing