We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowded House Bar & Cafe Restaurant

) #49 of 126 Restaurants in New Plymouth $$ - $$$ Barbecue, ,
93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
+64 6-759 4921
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good29%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (11 reviews)
“potato skins” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Barbecue, New Zealand, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We arrived at 10pm from a late flight from Auckland and struggled to find anywhere open for dinner so late. Fortunately crowded house came to the rescue offering cheap pub meals and snacks late at night. Washed down with some reasonably priced beers while watching...More

Thank iamrhys
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Visited for a quick drinks . Paid at the counter and had to wait for a while . Had to go in again and reminded them . Host was apologetic , although ambience was good with tv and music in the background. We were disappointed...More

Thank MAILRIQ
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Glad to hear you enjoyed our venue we apologize that the kitchen was closed when you were after something to eat, although our after hours menu was still available. Our kitchen is open as long as there is a steady flow of customers to cook...More

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Be alert...mon to sun specials.... Ordered fish and chips and smoked bbq chicken wings n sides... Fish we asked for pan fried instead but is bland. Chicken wings ok as lots of sauce.. We went there in sunday night which suppose to give free($5) doughnuts...More

Thank Jjasg10
EmmaPuletaha, General Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thanks for your review, the team is sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us and you feel this way.

Reviewed 2 April 2017

I don't really know where to start with this review. We were planning on eating at the Mongolian restaurant, but were quite late, and as this place looked quite lively and was a bit crowded we (I, must take the blame for that one) decided...More

Thank Thomas1406
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi Thomas, Many thanks for your review, we are always grateful to hear feedback good (and bad). We apologise that you and your wife did not enjoy the food when you visited, we have discussed this at length with our Kitchen staff and reviewed our...More

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The night started well with a very bubbly staff member taking my order and delivering my drink. Unfortunately the Seafood Chowder was bland and lacked seasoning. The Southern Style Chicken Burger was good though, the wait staff were slow to take away previous plates, even...More

Thank mattinthehat25
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food, brilliant service, need I say more. It's so cool when you return to a place that you've not visited in a while and it's even better then you remember. Such a friendly atmosphere, fun and comfortable, massive Tv's and awesome decor well thought...More

Thank Marlaina C
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Great value for money. Had the fish sliders and they were delicious! The complimentary donut deal also went down a treat!

Thank Michelle L
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Excellent service even though they were busy with Americarna crowds. Excellent food and great atmoshpere.

Thank kimz120
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

Visited this place , awesome food . Spacious and nice ambience . Famous for its ribs . Good place to visit . Staff could be more attentive

Thank MAILRIQ
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The food was amazing. Atomsphere was good as well. But from what we really liked was the friendliness of our waitress, it was liked we had known her for years. Lovely 'cheeky' personality fast and reliable.And thats what we think makes a 'dinner out nite'...More

Thank Lesley J
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bella Vita
241 reviews
.13 km away
The Hour Glass
165 reviews
.12 km away
India Today Tandoor and Bistro
284 reviews
.15 km away
Elixir Cafe
145 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pukekura Park
1,235 reviews
.24 km away
Coastal Walkway
1,148 reviews
.71 km away
Puke Ariki
344 reviews
.46 km away
Govett-Brewster Art Gallery
296 reviews
.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 03:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 03:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 03:00
Thursday
10:00 - 03:00
Friday
10:00 - 03:00
Saturday
10:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 4921
  • E-mail
Description
Crowded House, it's a local sports bar like no other in the heart of the New Plymouth CBD.

Open 7 days from 10am until late the eatery menu has a wide selection of dishes to choose from brunch, lunch & dinner. The bar has an extensive range including Heineken. We LOVE sport and have plenty of screens for you to watch it all on. FREE WIFI for all of our customers too.

Crowded House is just 5 minutes walk to our World famous Pukekura Park or down to the Coastal Walkway.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing