We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowded House Bar & Cafe

93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
+64 6-759 4921
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good31%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (12 reviews)
“donuts” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Bar, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Great iconic bar went there with friends on Boxing Day and was quite busy and ordered food and was very quick service. Food was so satisfying portion and tasty and fish and chips so crispy , and had steak so tender and juicy, asked the...More

Thank Nickheinz
EmmaPuletaha, General Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thanks for your review. Boxing Day was crazy busy all day for us, we are happy to hear you still received good service and a great steak :)

Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Decided to dine after a number of recommendations from family who live in NP while up for a weekend visit. Was promised yummy sports bar style food and large portions... Oh how I was greatly disappointed. Seated promptly, as super quiet for a Friday evening...More

Thank Sarah_kiwichick
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hey Sarah, We were recommended to you by friends and failed to impress, we are so sorry. Crowded House is known for it's big portions, in fact often we give too much on the plate and people don't have enough room for dessert. Our waitress...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Really amazing service. Wanted a certain thing off the menu and the chef went beyond means to make it gluten free. Thanks guys 😊

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

We dined here as part of a large group on business. We unfortunately were running late, the staff were amazing and understanding of our circumstances and the kitchen remained open. Food was served so fast, and no one was disappointed. Customer service was fantastic.

Thank trudy_11
EmmaPuletaha, Public Relations Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Trudy, thanks for your lovely review.

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Went here for a drink Easter Sunday and of course we had to have food the waitress was helpful with this. There menu looked good though we weren't very hungry so didn't order much, to be honest can't remember exactly what we ordered

Thank Shane B
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you Shane

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Fast, efficient service, enormous serving of very good fresh fish with nice fat free chips. Look after with a smile.

Thank George D
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you, glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us.

Reviewed 21 August 2017

I really liked this place. The had a range of really hearty food, great relaxed service and a good atmosphere.

Thank timtT6478JH
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Food here just seems to be getting better and better! Ordered a steak sandwich and it had the best garlic butter on the bread. Also, ordered a brownie. Was delicious. Super value, with very on to it staff. Always checking on my group of friends...More

Thank Dorothyturner
EmmaPuletaha, Public Relations Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Woop 🙌 Woop - thank you for your lovely review.

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

The place is quite big so you don't feel claustrophobic like in most similar establishments. The place has got big screens so you can enjoy sports and drink away to glory. The music is quite good. They have free WiFi and a games area where...More

Thank Arnav G
EmmaPuletaha, Public Relations Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thanks for your feedback, glad to know you feel comfortable at Crowded. Hope you visit us again in the future.

Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Good food, especially the burgers, fantastic big screen for sports and lots of other screens including in the toilets, (so you don't miss a thing), and great quiz night on Wednesdays.

Thank Morris W
EmmaPuletaha, Public Relations Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Well thanks Mrs Brown, really appreciate your review :)

PreviousNext
12345619
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 30 hotels in New Plymouth
The State Hotel
183 reviews
.18 km away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay
91 reviews
.37 km away
Nice Hotel & Table
135 reviews
.43 km away
Brougham Heights Motel
116 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Restaurants
India Today Tandoor and Bistro
307 reviews
.15 km away
The Hour Glass
178 reviews
.09 km away
Emmalou Macaron and Coffee House
91 reviews
.10 km away
Bella Vita
270 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pukekura Park
1,372 reviews
.24 km away
New Plymouth Coastal Walkway
1,279 reviews
.63 km away
Puke Ariki
393 reviews
.46 km away
Brooklands Zoo
325 reviews
1.45 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 4921
  • E-mail
Description
Crowded House, it's a local sports bar like no other in the heart of the New Plymouth CBD. Open 7 days from 10am until late the eatery menu has a wide selection of dishes to choose from brunch, lunch & dinner. The bar has an extensive range including Heineken. We LOVE sport and have plenty of screens for you to watch it all on. FREE WIFI for all of our customers too. Crowded House is just 5 minutes walk to our World famous Pukekura Park or down to the Coastal Walkway.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing