We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowded House Bar & Cafe

93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
+64 6-759 4921
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good30%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (11 reviews)
“donuts” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Bar, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017

Three of us went for lunch. We received a friendly welcome and were seated immediately. Our drink orders were taken and delivered punctually and or food order was taken our meals arrived in a timely manner as ordered. Everything was to our satisfaction and a...More

Thank kiwiman13
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

LOVE a 5 star review, thank you very much Kiwiman13.

A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

The waiter Kodee was so helpful, he promised great food and Crowded House Bar & Cafe delivered amazing food. Kodee you are the BEST!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we will let Kodee know.

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Got sliders with the extra chip option $3 it was a joke barely any chips, I can go to a rugby game and get $2 chips and I will get more than what I did. See photo for proofMore

Thank carlsdinertime
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Hey Carl, We listened and you are right, our chips were way to small for the Sliders and we are sorry. Since your review we have increased the size of the bowl considerably, thanks for pointing this out and we hope you come back and...More

Reviewed 28 May 2017

Went to Crowded House Bar and Café for lunch with my wife and My wife ordered a raspberry and lemonade and chicken sandwich and I ordered a coke and a steak sandwich the wife's sandwich was all right but my steak on the open sandwich...More

Thank MickB3
EmmaPuletaha, Public Relations Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Hi Mick, No words can describe now mortified management was to read this review, we can't apologize enough for this happening to you and your wife. It is absolutely unacceptable and we are not sure how it happened, we pride ourselves on keeping all of...More

Reviewed 23 May 2017

We are lucky we live in New Plymouth,have a great choice of Restaurants.in fact if you walk from the bottom of Devon streets,you will be spoilt fpr choice,We choose Crowded House,,, this morning it was not crowded in fact it was opening time,This is a...More

Thank nowekow
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for your kind words we really appreciate it.

Reviewed 18 May 2017

We always go here when visiting New Plymouth, the food is good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Family friendly. Try the pancakes with fruit, very nice.

Thank Janice P
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you Janice 😊

Reviewed 24 April 2017

Good meals at good prices. Casual pub style restaurant with TV screens on all walls. Suitable for families.

Thank Maree B
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you Maree

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We arrived at 10pm from a late flight from Auckland and struggled to find anywhere open for dinner so late. Fortunately crowded house came to the rescue offering cheap pub meals and snacks late at night. Washed down with some reasonably priced beers while watching...More

Thank iamrhys
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Visited for a quick drinks . Paid at the counter and had to wait for a while . Had to go in again and reminded them . Host was apologetic , although ambience was good with tv and music in the background. We were disappointed...More

Thank MAILRIQ
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Glad to hear you enjoyed our venue we apologize that the kitchen was closed when you were after something to eat, although our after hours menu was still available. Our kitchen is open as long as there is a steady flow of customers to cook...More

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Be alert...mon to sun specials.... Ordered fish and chips and smoked bbq chicken wings n sides... Fish we asked for pan fried instead but is bland. Chicken wings ok as lots of sauce.. We went there in sunday night which suppose to give free($5) doughnuts...More

Thank Jjasg10
EmmaPuletaha, General Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Thanks for your review, the team is sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us and you feel this way.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
India Today Tandoor and Bistro
299 reviews
.15 km away
The Hour Glass
172 reviews
.09 km away
Bella Vita
259 reviews
.13 km away
Emmalou Macaron and Coffee House
86 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pukekura Park
1,283 reviews
.24 km away
New Plymouth Coastal Walkway
1,216 reviews
.63 km away
Puke Ariki
373 reviews
.46 km away
Brooklands Zoo
308 reviews
1.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$26
Cuisine
New Zealand, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 4921
  • E-mail
Description
Crowded House, it's a local sports bar like no other in the heart of the New Plymouth CBD. Open 7 days from 10am until late the eatery menu has a wide selection of dishes to choose from brunch, lunch & dinner. The bar has an extensive range including Heineken. We LOVE sport and have plenty of screens for you to watch it all on. FREE WIFI for all of our customers too. Crowded House is just 5 minutes walk to our World famous Pukekura Park or down to the Coastal Walkway.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing