We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowded House Bar & Cafe

93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
+64 6-759 4921
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good31%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (11 reviews)
“donuts” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Bar, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 180 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Fabulous food and service, would highly recommend. The food comes out very quickly crispy pork belly , lamb salad and super calamari salad. Food was superb and service amazing! Will definitely be back when we’re next in New Plymouth.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went in yesterday for lunch, I asked what was recommended and got told the burger and beer deal... Wow the burger was amazing, Chicken and bacon best burger I have eaten hands down.... Awesome service!!!

Thank Kimbleamanda69
EmmaPuletaha, Public Relations Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Our Chicken and Bacon Burgers are very popular, glad you enjoyed yours and the service :)

Reviewed 1 week ago

We hadn’t been to ‘Crowded House’ for ages and were pleasantly surprised at the menu choices. They have just implemented a new summer menu. We enjoyed our meals which arrived quickly. The service was great. My only concern was smoke wafting in through the open...More

Thank Nakitraveller
EmmaPuletaha, General Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Many thanks for your review, we will take a look at our seating area out the front we understand your concerns.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice place for a meal. The staff is friendly and the food is great. The chef was able to accommodate our vegetarian needs :) Thanks heaps!

Thank Pedro S
EmmaPuletaha, General Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Glad you enjoyed your visit and meals. Always happy to help with vegetarian needs, and we've just launched a new menu with various vegetarian options.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Crowded House has space aplenty! And most of it is occupied by happy eaters and drinkers, and for good reason. I was enthusiastically greeted immediately upon arrival, and the staff all seem to be friendly, happy, and highly capable. The vibe is amazing, it's...More

Thank BrianInAuckland
EmmaPuletaha, General Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

So happy you choose to join us for dinner and drinks on your visit to the Naki. We couldn't ask for a better review and we're very happy that you enjoyed your meal, service and the atmosphere of which we are so proud of.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great iconic bar went there with friends on Boxing Day and was quite busy and ordered food and was very quick service. Food was so satisfying portion and tasty and fish and chips so crispy , and had steak so tender and juicy, asked the...More

Thank Nickheinz
EmmaPuletaha, General Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your review. Boxing Day was crazy busy all day for us, we are happy to hear you still received good service and a great steak :)

Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

Decided to dine after a number of recommendations from family who live in NP while up for a weekend visit. Was promised yummy sports bar style food and large portions... Oh how I was greatly disappointed. Seated promptly, as super quiet for a Friday evening...More

Thank Sarah_kiwichick
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hey Sarah, We were recommended to you by friends and failed to impress, we are so sorry. Crowded House is known for it's big portions, in fact often we give too much on the plate and people don't have enough room for dessert. Our waitress...More

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Really amazing service. Wanted a certain thing off the menu and the chef went beyond means to make it gluten free. Thanks guys 😊

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

We dined here as part of a large group on business. We unfortunately were running late, the staff were amazing and understanding of our circumstances and the kitchen remained open. Food was served so fast, and no one was disappointed. Customer service was fantastic.

Thank trudy_11
EmmaPuletaha, Public Relations Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Trudy, thanks for your lovely review.

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Went here for a drink Easter Sunday and of course we had to have food the waitress was helpful with this. There menu looked good though we weren't very hungry so didn't order much, to be honest can't remember exactly what we ordered

Thank Shane B
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you Shane

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 30 hotels in New Plymouth
The State Hotel
180 reviews
.18 km away
ASURE Abode on Courtenay
90 reviews
.37 km away
Nice Hotel & Bistro
131 reviews
.43 km away
Brougham Heights Motel
114 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Restaurants
India Today Tandoor and Bistro
303 reviews
.15 km away
The Hour Glass
174 reviews
.09 km away
Bella Vita
266 reviews
.13 km away
Emmalou Macaron and Coffee House
88 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pukekura Park
1,340 reviews
.24 km away
New Plymouth Coastal Walkway
1,257 reviews
.63 km away
Puke Ariki
384 reviews
.46 km away
Brooklands Zoo
319 reviews
1.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 4921
  • E-mail
Description
Crowded House, it's a local sports bar like no other in the heart of the New Plymouth CBD. Open 7 days from 10am until late the eatery menu has a wide selection of dishes to choose from brunch, lunch & dinner. The bar has an extensive range including Heineken. We LOVE sport and have plenty of screens for you to watch it all on. FREE WIFI for all of our customers too. Crowded House is just 5 minutes walk to our World famous Pukekura Park or down to the Coastal Walkway.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing