We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowded House Bar & Cafe

93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
+64 6-759 4921
Website
Save
All photos (50)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good30%
  • Average17%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (11 reviews)
“donuts” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Bar, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 174 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Decided to dine after a number of recommendations from family who live in NP while up for a weekend visit. Was promised yummy sports bar style food and large portions... Oh how I was greatly disappointed. Seated promptly, as super quiet for a Friday evening...More

Thank Sarah_kiwichick
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Food here just seems to be getting better and better! Ordered a steak sandwich and it had the best garlic butter on the bread. Also, ordered a brownie. Was delicious. Super value, with very on to it staff. Always checking on my group of friends...More

Thank Dorothyturner
EmmaPuletaha, Public Relations Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Woop 🙌 Woop - thank you for your lovely review.

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Really amazing service. Wanted a certain thing off the menu and the chef went beyond means to make it gluten free. Thanks guys 😊

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We dined here as part of a large group on business. We unfortunately were running late, the staff were amazing and understanding of our circumstances and the kitchen remained open. Food was served so fast, and no one was disappointed. Customer service was fantastic.

Thank trudy_11
EmmaPuletaha, Public Relations Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Trudy, thanks for your lovely review.

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Went here for a drink Easter Sunday and of course we had to have food the waitress was helpful with this. There menu looked good though we weren't very hungry so didn't order much, to be honest can't remember exactly what we ordered

Thank Shane B
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you Shane

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Fast, efficient service, enormous serving of very good fresh fish with nice fat free chips. Look after with a smile.

Thank George D
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you, glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us.

Reviewed 21 August 2017

I really liked this place. The had a range of really hearty food, great relaxed service and a good atmosphere.

Thank timtT6478JH
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

The place is quite big so you don't feel claustrophobic like in most similar establishments. The place has got big screens so you can enjoy sports and drink away to glory. The music is quite good. They have free WiFi and a games area where...More

Thank Arnav G
EmmaPuletaha, Public Relations Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thanks for your feedback, glad to know you feel comfortable at Crowded. Hope you visit us again in the future.

Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

Good food, especially the burgers, fantastic big screen for sports and lots of other screens including in the toilets, (so you don't miss a thing), and great quiz night on Wednesdays.

Thank Morris W
EmmaPuletaha, Public Relations Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Well thanks Mrs Brown, really appreciate your review :)

Reviewed 7 June 2017

The service was quick, even though it was very busy. The staff was friendly and our meals came quickly. The only negative thing I would say is that the menu is fairly limited.

Thank JandH2007
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you for your kind words

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
India Today Tandoor and Bistro
297 reviews
.15 km away
The Hour Glass
171 reviews
.09 km away
Bella Vita
256 reviews
.13 km away
Emmalou Macaron and Coffee House
84 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pukekura Park
1,275 reviews
.24 km away
New Plymouth Coastal Walkway
1,209 reviews
.63 km away
Puke Ariki
369 reviews
.46 km away
Brooklands Zoo
306 reviews
1.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$26
Cuisine
New Zealand, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East | Taranaki, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 4921
  • E-mail
Description
Crowded House, it's a local sports bar like no other in the heart of the New Plymouth CBD. Open 7 days from 10am until late the eatery menu has a wide selection of dishes to choose from brunch, lunch & dinner. The bar has an extensive range including Heineken. We LOVE sport and have plenty of screens for you to watch it all on. FREE WIFI for all of our customers too. Crowded House is just 5 minutes walk to our World famous Pukekura Park or down to the Coastal Walkway.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing