We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowded House Bar & Cafe Restaurant

93 - 99 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
+64 6-759 4921
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good28%
  • Average18%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (11 reviews)
“potato skins” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Barbecue, New Zealand, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
93 - 99 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Got sliders with the extra chip option $3 it was a joke barely any chips, I can go to a rugby game and get $2 chips and I will get more than what I did. See photo for proof

Thank carlsdinertime
Reviewed 3 days ago

Went to Crowded House Bar and Café for lunch with my wife and My wife ordered a raspberry and lemonade and chicken sandwich and I ordered a coke and a steak sandwich the wife's sandwich was all right but my steak on the open sandwich...More

Thank MickB3
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are lucky we live in New Plymouth,have a great choice of Restaurants.in fact if you walk from the bottom of Devon streets,you will be spoilt fpr choice,We choose Crowded House,,, this morning it was not crowded in fact it was opening time,This is a...More

Thank nowekow
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words we really appreciate it.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We always go here when visiting New Plymouth, the food is good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Family friendly. Try the pancakes with fruit, very nice.

Thank Janice P
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you Janice 😊

Reviewed 24 April 2017

Good meals at good prices. Casual pub style restaurant with TV screens on all walls. Suitable for families.

Thank Maree B
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you Maree

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We arrived at 10pm from a late flight from Auckland and struggled to find anywhere open for dinner so late. Fortunately crowded house came to the rescue offering cheap pub meals and snacks late at night. Washed down with some reasonably priced beers while watching...More

Thank iamrhys
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Visited for a quick drinks . Paid at the counter and had to wait for a while . Had to go in again and reminded them . Host was apologetic , although ambience was good with tv and music in the background. We were disappointed...More

Thank MAILRIQ
EmmaPuletaha, Owner at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed our venue we apologize that the kitchen was closed when you were after something to eat, although our after hours menu was still available. Our kitchen is open as long as there is a steady flow of customers to cook...More

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Be alert...mon to sun specials.... Ordered fish and chips and smoked bbq chicken wings n sides... Fish we asked for pan fried instead but is bland. Chicken wings ok as lots of sauce.. We went there in sunday night which suppose to give free($5) doughnuts...More

Thank Jjasg10
EmmaPuletaha, General Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, the team is sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us and you feel this way.

Reviewed 2 April 2017

I don't really know where to start with this review. We were planning on eating at the Mongolian restaurant, but were quite late, and as this place looked quite lively and was a bit crowded we (I, must take the blame for that one) decided...More

Thank Thomas1406
EmmaPuletaha, Manager at Crowded House Bar & Cafe, responded to this review

Hi Thomas, Many thanks for your review, we are always grateful to hear feedback good (and bad). We apologise that you and your wife did not enjoy the food when you visited, we have discussed this at length with our Kitchen staff and reviewed our...More

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The night started well with a very bubbly staff member taking my order and delivering my drink. Unfortunately the Seafood Chowder was bland and lacked seasoning. The Southern Style Chicken Burger was good though, the wait staff were slow to take away previous plates, even...More

Thank mattinthehat25
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
India Today Tandoor and Bistro
283 reviews
.15 km away
Bella Vita
237 reviews
.13 km away
The Hour Glass
162 reviews
.12 km away
Elixir Cafe
144 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pukekura Park
1,226 reviews
.24 km away
Coastal Walkway
1,137 reviews
.71 km away
Puke Ariki
341 reviews
.46 km away
Govett-Brewster Art Gallery
291 reviews
.64 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Crowded House Bar & Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$27
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 03:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 03:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 03:00
Thursday
10:00 - 03:00
Friday
10:00 - 03:00
Saturday
10:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 93 - 99 Devon Street East, New Plymouth 4601, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Taranaki Region  >  New Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +64 6-759 4921
  • E-mail