We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$9 - US$61
CUISINES
New Zealand, Bar, Pub, Healthy, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
94
96
51
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
94
96
51
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pizza fish and chips salad tacos chicken stone grill great night kim plymouth nz
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We tried the fish and chips with salad. It didn’t taste fresh. The quality of food has really gone downhill from what it used to be.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Sam S, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Darkside247, Thanks for taking the time to review The Good Home in New Plymouth. We take all feedback seriously and will discuss your concerns about the fish with the chef and our supplier. Cheers The Team from The Good Home

Reviewed 26 March 2021 via mobile

Popped in here as we were wandering through the city on a brief one day visit to New Plymouth. The rooftop bar looked appealing on a stunning day so we chanced our luck and managed to grab a table with a great view and some...much needed shade!! We had a couple of drinks each (plenty of options) and shared the fries which came with not only sauce but aoli and gravey YUM they were delicious (and all we needed and felt like) but all around us people were having pizzas and they looked great too. Staff were on to it and really friendly - would recommend.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?2  
Sam S, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2021

Hi Tracey-Lee, Thanks so much for the wonderful review, we really appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in New Plymouth. Cheers The Rooftop and Good Home Team

Reviewed 21 March 2021

The ambience is great on the rooftop, the staff very pleasant and caring and I should have complained to them - but it is not their problem. Food cooked downstairs (other than pizzas which are made upstairs) arrived both times cold. Cold eggs bene isn't...great, and nor is cold bacon. The issue appears to be sending too many meals at once up in the "dum waiter". Partner was able to see the unload and our meals were presumably first in last out. and by the time they reached us cold and had gone greasy. Will go the pizza way next visit.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Sam S, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2021

Hi Kay, Thanks for the excellent feedback. This will help us in future to ensure the meals come out hot. We will discuss this at the next staff review and see how we can change our processes to ensure the food comes out hot. Cheers...More

Reviewed 6 March 2021

Great view, great staff, great food, love this place. Yummy pizzas and cocktails. Staff are so attentive. Pays to reserve a table, everytime we’ve popped in for a drink every table is booked, it’s very annoying.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Sam S, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2021

Hi, Thanks for the great review. So glad to hear you like the pizzas and cocktails. It does get very busy in the Rooftop Bar especially in summer, so yes it does pay to book. Cheers The Good Home Team

Reviewed 31 January 2021 via mobile

Visited here for lunch while staying in New Plymouth for a concert. Took ages for beers to be brought to the table. They seemed to be very under staffed. Food was ok. Eggs were over cooked not much butter on toast, was nice to have...homemade baked beans. Wait time to pay after eating was long due to being understaffedMore

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Sam S, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2021

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We apologise sincerely for the wait time due to low staff numbers. We did have a few staffing issues at that time due to illness and students finishing up prior to going back to Uni....More

Reviewed 12 January 2021 via mobile

Stopped off as near the shopping centre-We weren’t that hungry so some of us only had salad - the fish and chips were good and chips with jus were a novelty. Mocktails were nice- there was a strawberry and there was pineapple and ginger beer...- refreshing on a hot day.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Sam S, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the fish and chips and found the drinks yum and refreshing! Cheers, The Good Home Team

Reviewed 11 January 2021 via mobile

We're finishing our meal as I write. Beautiful burgers with salad and fries for the adults and the kids had the best value kids pizza and fish n chips ($11 each). The kids are eating their churros and ice cream pudding ($5 each) and we're...sneaking what we can. Delicious.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Sam S, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2021

Hi Nadia, Many thanks for the five star review! We are so happy to hear that you and your kids enjoyed your meals and that you found them great value. We can’t wait to see you back again soon. Cheers, The Good Home Team

Reviewed 15 November 2020 via mobile

I’m not sure if the downstairs area and upstairs area are different businesses, but we had a very confusing first five minutes, trying to choose a seating location and menu. Some of us enjoyed our meals and some didn’t. But it’s a cool location and...I especially liked the bathroom.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
1SamS, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2020

Thank you for the review, we are glad you liked our location. We are sorry to hear that you had a bit of confusion trying to find a seat and a menu. We appreciate all feedback and will endeavour to avoid this slip up again....More

Reviewed 4 November 2020

Very busy place we shared a garlic cheese loaf it was delicious but i felt expensive im sure it was $17 then we ordered the steaks these are very pricey so i expected them to be a knock out we ordered flame grilled rib eye.... It was average. I think the chef forgot the seasoning on it and yeh just dissapointed. We do a better steak on the charcoal webber bbq at home. On the upside the staff were very friendly and appeRed to enjoy there jobs there and its a nice place good spaceMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
1SamS, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2020

Hi Carla, Many thanks for the review, we are glad you enjoyed our hospitality, but are sorry about our slip up with the food on the day. We take all feedback seriously and appreciate your review. Cheers, The Good Home Team

Reviewed 30 October 2020

Came here for lunch with some work mates on a rare trip out. It's difficult in covid times, but we were told we weren't to order at the bar, and drinks etc were ordered from the table. Lunch took a while. Most of the food...looked pretty good, however, I ordered the chicken "tacos", which was cold, shredded chicken, in a cold wrap, with salad. Mine was also the last to arrive. Such food envy & disapointment. I would have thought the chicken would have at least been warm. The temperature of my food was so cold (as in, straight out of the fridge) and unappetizing, that I couldn't finish it. Then, to pay, we all had to go to the bar, which made not much sense, since we weren't allowed to order there. I would probably give it another go, but not in a hurry.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
1SamS, Owner at The Good Home, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience didn’t meet your expectations on the day. We take all feedback seriously, and will make sure to bring up the ordering and payment process, along with food,...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Grand Central Hotel
277 reviews
.17 km away
Brougham Heights Motel
149 reviews
.22 km away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
469 reviews
.26 km away
The Dawson Motel
262 reviews
.50 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Salt Restaurant
785 reviews
.15 km away
Koi Spice Craft & Whisky
385 reviews
.17 km away
Area 41
203 reviews
.15 km away
Chaos Cafe
329 reviews
.15 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pukekura Park
1,778 reviews
.39 km away
New Plymouth Coastal Walkway
1,675 reviews
.29 km away
Puke Ariki
537 reviews
.09 km away
Govett-Brewster Art Gallery / Len Lye Centre
812 reviews
.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Good Home staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Good Home

  • Yes, The Good Home offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, The Good Home offers delivery services.

  • The Good Home is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 3.5
    • Service: 3.5
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 4