We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, New Zealand, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
86
62
26
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
86
62
26
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters cold meats salad pork curry dessert bar new zealand
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 July 2022

Was looking forward to the buffet given the last time we went was during COVID December 2021 and there were plates served at the table however we all were very impressed with the quality of the food for the price. Unfortunately the same can't be...said for our last visit. The oysters had bits of shells through them and the rest of the seafood was average at best. The hot food selection of curry and fish was overcooked and dry and the rice crispy from sitting too long. Not a dessert person so can't comment on them. Left still hungry as there was nothing I was tempted to have for seconds. Very disappointing.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 May 2022

Chapmans seems to have stepped up their game since the buffet was available again since the last time we went. Everything was so tasty! and different, and not the same old generic buffet meals. Great service.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maureen G, Marketing at Chapman's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2022

Hi Sharn Thanks for your feedback, We have enjoyed coming up with some new dishes while we waited to reopen the buffet. We have kept some favourites like our creme brulee. Regards Maureen

Reviewed 15 February 2022

I came to celebrate a birthday function held on the past weekend. I have nothing positive to say about the service and quantity of food. There was only one waiter. There was only one platter between 4 people. We were told it was buffet but...food would be served on platters. Buffet to my knowledge means you may choose what to eat and ask for more. Our waiter did not cope at all. Guests had to sit and wait and wait, some cleared dishes. Sooo to reiterate your manager on the night failed in his role. I demand a refund. Pani TrentMore

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maureen G, Operations Manager at Chapman's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2022

Hi Pani I am sorry that your dinner with us did not meet your expectations. We are unable to offer buffet at RED and are advertising our 'Chapmans on a plate' service. We are happy to discuss your concerns please contact us directly either 07...More

Reviewed 25 December 2021

I am sitting in Chapmans restaurant with my family, rudely on my phone, typing this review. Hands down the best service received in Rotorua and the food magical. The service impeccable and staff overall a joyful bunch. Thank you for making our Christmas stress free...and memorable. My family is truly grateful. The quality of foid and service has surpassed Stratosphere which for at least 10 years has been my top restaurant in New Zealand. New number 1: Chapmans RotoruaMore

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maureen G, Operations Manager at Chapman's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2021

Hi JujubebeCritic Thanks for your great feedback, we have enjoyed offering our buffet delivered to your table during level 2 and Red but can't wait to get back to our full buffet service from the 31st. Regards Maureen

Reviewed 27 November 2021 via mobile

What a great night we had at Chapmans, done a little different from the normal bufffet but definitely couldn’t fault the service and the food, Alastair who was our waiter for the night did a fantastic job, nothing was a problem, he always made sure...we had enough food and he just kept it coming, would recommend this new way of dining, I have never eaten so much food in a sitting, top marks to Chapman’s tooMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maureen G, Operations Manager at Chapman's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2021

Hi ChrissieJa Thanks for your feedback. Rotorua enters the new Covid-19 Protection Framework at RED so we will be offering Chapmans on a Plate, all the favourite dishes from our buffet and a few new ones, all delivered directly to your table. Cheers Maureen

Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

We have been here previously and experienced great food however this was not the case last night. Pork was dry and over cooked the selection of vegetables and salads was poor and cold meat from a packet. Deserts were also brought in and the blue...cheese and crackers inedible. This buffet was over priced poorly presented and bland food. They need to over haul the food menu or will loose business. Would not recommendMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maureen G, Operations Manager at Chapman's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Hi Loverofkai Chapmans has been serving the Rotorua community for many years with our popular buffet. I'm sorry that on this occasion the food did not meet your expectations. Regards Maureen

Reviewed 18 April 2021

How refreshing to find a cold larder just like in the supermarket. Lots of yummy things like precut battered fish pieces, nice dry well roasted beef hiding under a cloth, roast pork mystery meat casserole. I also recognised the dessert bar, slab cakes, slab slices...such as lolly cake , cowells pavlovas....what a treat. What a treat for over $50 a head.qMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maureen G, Operations Manager at Chapman's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Hi JoF1695 Chapmans buffet offers a selection of seafoods, salads, hot dishes and desserts including many familiar favourites. I'm sorry that the selection on the night you dined was not to your liking. We have experienced cost increases through the last 12 months which have...More

Reviewed 11 December 2020

with covid around we think they could have kept up with the cleaning and changed all the utensils a bit more often. The place was busy and we got got good service and the food was average for the price. We all went to a...more upmarket steak restaurant in town had more food and better food for less money. The main thing for us was the cleaning or lack ofMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Maureen G, Operations Manager at Chapman's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2020

Hi Steve619 I would like to assure you that we do take hygiene seriously and that we change the buffet cutlery during service. We also have sanitiser available at the entrance to Chapmans and on the buffets for guests to use. I'm sorry that your...More

Reviewed 23 October 2020 via mobile

My husband and I have 5 kids, and we went out last night WITHOUT them to enjoy a meal for his birthday. We were really excited to go to a buffet as it's something we rarely do. Upon approaching the seafood buffet, we noticed the...oysters were dry on top and the prawns were a very light orange, some white. We still chose to give it a go, and some of the prawns you could taste were going yuck. The oysters were dry on the top, but full of water with no taste. The penne pasta had absolutely no taste, and it tastes like way to much flour or something in the sauce. The battered fish was the square prefrozen fish which was extremely disappointing and had been there for so long, they had all stuck together. You could definitely taste it was frozen fish, and both my husband and I couldn't eat it. We actually noticed the two couples by us also left there's on their plates to be taken away. The pork roast was nice, but the chef went away for a while so we stood and waited for some more to be carved off, but noone came, so we gave up. The only thing we really liked was the beef stew. There is a great selection of desserts, and some of it was ok, but the chocolate mousse tasted like packet mousse from the supermarket and it wasn't chocolatey. When we ordered cokes to start off our meal, the guy snatched away the drinks menu, almost grumpy we didn't buy alcohol, and not giving us the option to buy some later. Also, there were 4x couples only in the building, and they sat us all so close together our chairs had to be pushed right in to get past, and you could barely have a convo with out the other people hearing. Honestly, overall it was no way near worth $102 for both of us. We actually said we would've preferred to go to KFC and get two big buckets to feed us and the kids. It was a real let down and to be fair, we won't ever being going back (we are locals). Novotel and skyline are miles ahead in quality of a buffet.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MaureenG1170, Marketing at Chapman's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2020

Hi Kelly I'm sorry that you were disappointed by your recent experience at Chapmans Restaurant. We operate 7 days a week averaging 150 happy customers a night, I'm sorry this wasn't the case for you. Regards Maureen

Reviewed 4 October 2020

Reading some reviews I was feeling a bit hesitant to go here however it was a lovely experience. Delicious food it was $51 pp but for the quality of food you were getting it was worth it. Will be coming here again in the future.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
MaureenG1170, Operations Manager at Chapman's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2020

Hi Leish N Thanks for your review, Chapmans Restaurant has been offering a buffet dinner to Hotel guests and Rotorua locals since opening in the 1960s. I'm pleased you enjoy our offering. Regards Maureen

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Rydges Rotorua
1,264 reviews
.05 km away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
198 reviews
.06 km away
Alpin Motel and Conference Centre
354 reviews
.19 km away
Greenview Motel
118 reviews
.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ciabatta Cafe and Bakery
844 reviews
1.19 km away
Urbano Bistro
1,179 reviews
1.40 km away
Matai Restaurant
26 reviews
.50 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Te Puia
5,696 reviews
.65 km away
Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village
2,699 reviews
.12 km away
New Zealand Maori Arts and Crafts Institute
168 reviews
.69 km away
Redwoods i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
60 reviews
1.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
KellyAlbrecht
31 August 2019|
Answer
Response from MaureenG1170 | Property representative |
Hi Kelly For Chapmans dinner buffet children 5 to 12 are charged twice their age. If you are staying with us they will dine free. Conditions apply.
-2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chapman's Restaurant

Chapman's Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4