We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Third Place Cafe

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitized menus
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Read more
Updated 20/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Third Place Cafe
Updated 20/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Third Place Cafe has great views of Lake Rotorua, Mokoia Island, Ohinemutu Geothermal Maori Village and Saint Faiths Historic Church from the indoor and outdoor tables. Full breakfast and Lunch menus, Morning and Afternoon tea. Great Coffee and fresh daily baking. Range of salads, paninis, savouries and sweets. Large selection of cabinet food. Kids play area and baby change table in toilet. Free parking in large carpark next to the cafe. Take away food and beverages. Table service available. Winners 'Best Cafe Award' Rotorua Hospitality Awards 2017, 2018 & 2019.
PRICE RANGE
US$2 - US$14
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
251
143
37
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
251
143
37
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch custard slice salad poached eggs fish and chips french toast salmon lake rotorua view of the lake cabinet food all day breakfast big breakfast nice coffee great lunch lovely food jumble fiona
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here with my wife to try out the all day breakfast. I was really disappointed because the food is not that good compared to other cafes in Rotorua. My wife had the cabinet food which tasted a lot better than the hot food cooked....Coffee is average. Ambience outside is nice but inside it is poorly designed. Staff are not smiling and looked like they are tired of their jobs. Sorry but I am not coming back again.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Fiona W, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sad to hear that you did not enjoy our cafe looking over Lake Rotorua. Please let us know how you think we could improve the layout inside the cafe. With booth tables, comfy leather couches, outdoor seating and cafe tables, all with lake views, I...More

Reviewed 9 February 2021

Large choice of food. I would say for us the coffee was OK. We like it strong and hot. Mine was somewhat flat and my husband said his was adequate. Food choice was wide and varied.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Fiona W, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Due & Mark for your feedback. I train the staff to check if you require a single shot or double shot of coffee when taking the order. Perhaps this has been missed in your case and we apologise for that. We are pleased that...More

Reviewed 13 January 2021 via mobile

Came in just after the kitchen had closed and couldn’t get any food. Their response was to give me two free coffee vouchers! Returned for an amazing flat white snd again for brekkie. Great food, amazing service. Everything you want from a cafe.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Fiona W, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Ryan for your fabulous 5 star review of our cafe. We really appreciate it, especially in these difficult times. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Fiona & the team.

Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

Visiting Rotorua and not needing to fight our way through the 'eating quarter', we opted for this cafe with its view of the lake. Despite being quite late for lunch we were greeted warmly, and our orders were delivered swiftly. Excellent food and coffee.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Thanks Kate, we really appreciate your great feedback regarding our cafe. We hope you had a great time in Rotorua over the long weekend and we hope to see you again next time. Kind regards Fiona and the team.

Reviewed 27 September 2020

My husband, sister and I were all extremely impressed with the delicious lunch we enjoyed yesterday. The quality and size of our servings were just right for a light lunch, and we were all very pleased with our soup, and our other choices were very...light and flaky, and just as tasty. The coffee was also very enjoyable and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We would certainly recommend Third Place Cafe!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2020

Thanks so much for your great feedback on our special cafe. We love that you enjoyed the great food and friendly service. We hope to see you back at the cafe again very soon. Thanks again, Fiona & the team.

Reviewed 17 September 2020 via mobile

Second time we've visited this place. We had a voucher for 2 free teas or coffees. Tea was good but the cappuccino was not. It was very thin (no froth) ended up ordering food to take away. We got a BLT and eggs bene. Was...very nice but I had the eggs bene and we were driving so I soon realized I had no knife. I nearly cried lol other than that it was beautifulMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2020

Hi Genna Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding our cafe. I am disappointed that the coffee was not up to our usual standard and that our staff did not offer cutlery with your takeaway meals. Please accept our apologies. We hope...More

Reviewed 25 August 2020

I attended as part of a Chamber of Commerce event. It was well run, the food was delicious, the coffee perfect that the service was great. Fiona runs a great establishment, can highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2020

Thank you for your fabulous feedback regarding our Chamber of Commerce Business Networking Breakfast. We are so pleased you enjoyed the experience. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Fiona and the team.

Reviewed 9 August 2020

We had a large family brunch at 3rd Place and really enjoyed it. The menu catered to all ages and the meals were of a high standard. It did seem to be the place that most of the locals enjoy going to so it must...be pretty good! Our meals were all very tasty and service was not a long wait even though they were very busy. If you're there on a nice day the views of the lake and surrounding areas were outstanding! There is a parking area beside the cafe so you don't need to park on the bust road outside. They have a great range of cabinet food so I don;t think you'd be disappointed!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2020

We are so happy that you enjoyed your family brunch at our cafe. We really appreciate you taking the time to give such great feedback. We hope to see you all again very soon. Kind regards Fiona & the team.

Reviewed 28 July 2020

Stumbled upon Third Place recently with a work crew. We were in a hurry and a little concerned with how busy the place was when we only had limited time. Very impressed with quality of food and coffee, plus speedy & efficient service (given how...busy the place was). Well done!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2020

That's great news mama bear. Glad you enjoyed your experience at our special cafe.

Reviewed 14 July 2020

I ate here a few years back and it was excellent so I stopped in for breakfast while waiting on a car service. The staff are friendly, the service quick and the view is nice. The counter food looked great but unfortunately I chose the...creamy mushrooms. I got a generous plate of cooked button mushrooms but they were in a very thick white sauce, so not what I was expecting, although I could taste the wine. The two vine tomatoes were a nice touch but unfortunately they were unripe (pale orange) and undercooked. My long black was bitter. The counter food looked a better option and there was plenty of choice.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
fionawithers, Owner at Third Place Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2020

Thank you Fiona for taking the time to post feedback. We are sad that you were disappointed with the creamy mushrooms on toast and the coffee. We hope your next visit will be more positive. Kind regards Fiona and the team.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Lakehouse Hotel
3 reviews
.26 km away
Lake Lodge Motel
67 reviews
.42 km away
Ibis Rotorua Hotel
1,389 reviews
.44 km away
Bella Vista Motel Rotorua
303 reviews
.47 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Atticus Finch
1,554 reviews
.64 km away
Indian Star Restaurant
1,786 reviews
.66 km away
Picnic Cafe
704 reviews
.57 km away
Mamma Rosa
440 reviews
.66 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Fancy Meow Cat Cafe
484 reviews
.72 km away
St. Faith's Anglican Church
292 reviews
.16 km away
Kuirau Park
1,151 reviews
.17 km away
Ohinemutu
203 reviews
.27 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Third Place Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Third Place Cafe

  • Yes, Third Place Cafe offers takeaway services.

  • Yes, Third Place Cafe offers delivery services.

  • Yes, Third Place Cafe is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

  • Third Place Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4