We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mokoia Restaurant

$$$$European, ,
77 Robinson Avenue | Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, Holden's Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
+64 7-343 5100
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good13%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“roulade” (5 reviews)
“purple yam” (4 reviews)
Open Now
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
77 Robinson Avenue | Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, Holden's Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

We have been eating here since 2010 and it never disappoints, last nights meal and service was exceptional, the presentation, taste and balance of flavours deserves a big high five to the chefs, Binod's service was excellent, attentive, courteous and polite. Thank you all for...More

2  Thank terry2006777
WaiOra_Manager, General Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Kaiora Terry, Thank you for an awesome 5-star rating and a generous feedback in regards to your dining experience. Our team takes a huge pride in hosting you and your family/friends. You have always been a loyal guest to us and we would like to...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Another fantastic visit to this great place. Only downside is every time I come to stay I end up eating here every night and never try anywhere else. Fantastic foodMore

2  Thank Gary R
WaiOra_Manager, General Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Gary R, Thank you for your kind and generous words. A comment like yours surely brings an abundance of smile, motivations, and pride amongst our team members. We are hugely delighted to hear regarding your dining experience. We eagerly look forward to your return...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are locals and chose Mokoia for our belated anniversary dinner and we were sooo glad we did! We chose the shared platters which were perfect- delicious, unique and good value! We will be back to spoil ourselves more oftenMore

2  Thank Localfamof6
WaiOra_Manager, General Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Localfamof6, First of all, Happy belated anniversary. Thank you for an excellent 5-star rated feedback. I am very pleased to hear regarding your overall dining experience. Your comment has been shared with the team and they are delighted. We pride our shared dining experience...More

Reviewed 29 April 2018

Each dish incorporates some local herbs, spices or other ingredients, and this is done very, very well. It added a new twist to familiar local ingredients such as beef and lamb, and the textures were a lovely mix. We thought this rated very well alongside...More

2  Thank Sue B
WaiOra_Manager, General Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Kiaora Sue, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with an excellent 5-star review. I am very delighted to hear regarding your overall dining experience here at the restaurant. We take pride in incorporating indigenous herbs and spices to our food...More

Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

The food was amazing. Absolutely gorgeous steak. No complaints at all. But the service was woeful. We were told that 7.30 was the latest they could accommodate us, but no one arrived after us. We waited 45 minutes for any food at all, then another...More

Thank Keithrow
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Keithrow, Thank you very much for taking the time to providing us with a review. First of all, I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience occurred. It is very disappointing to hear regarding the delay of the food, service and the incorrect...More

Reviewed 18 April 2018

We were celebrating my wife's birthday and this was a great choice. We chose " A Romantic Dinner For Two". It was very special, They even presented my wife with a beautiful birthday card to mark the occasion. The service at the start was a...More

1  Thank gincledon
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear gincledon, Thank you for an awesome 5-star rated feedback. First of all, Happy belated Birthday to your wife. Please accept my sincere apologies for the slow service at the start. Our team is very delighted to hear regarding your overall dining experience. I am...More

Reviewed 17 April 2018

We booked that day and could only get a 6pm reservation, which was ok as we had our 2 girls aged 9 and 11. However it did mean that the restaurant was rather quiet at the start, and lacking atmosphere. However there was nothing lacking...More

1  Thank Amanda_fifeFife
WaiOra_Manager, General Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Amanda, Thank you for an awesome 5-star review. IT is always delighting to hear when our guests enjoy their evening with us. We are very happy to hear regarding your experience. We look forward to your return. Thank you once again. Warm Regards, Aayush...More

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Quite an underwhelming experience. Not a huge fan of the menu. Food was decent but not anything to get excited about. Service was attentive. Not great value (Pricey).More

Thank Dana A
WaiOra_Manager, General Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Dana A, Thank you for taking the time to providing us with a feedback. I would sincerely like to apologize as your experience did not meet your expectation. We pride our menu and service. Rest assured, your comment has been taken on board and...More

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We came here because of the good reviews. Because we already had plans for dinner so we came for lunch. So glad we did! $39 for seafood shared platter and $69 for shared Mokoia Experience. A total of $108, 3 of us were so well...More

2  Thank Janet R
WaiOra_Manager, General Manager at Mokoia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Janet R, Thank you for such an amazing review. We are absolutely delighted to hear regarding your lunch experience. Please accept my sincere apologies in regards to the slow service. I have personally looked into the matter. Rest assured, appropriate steps have been taken...More

Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Nice food but overpriced and pretentious. Salad had a lot of dressing on it and left my lips burning afterwards. The seafood chowder left me feeling a bit queasy. I swapped my chair over because it was a bit creaky, and the waiter inspected it...More

Thank Hayley J
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 91 hotels in Rotorua
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
495 reviews
.01 km away
Cedarwood Lakeside
333 reviews
.25 km away
Santa Maria Motel
65 reviews
4.13 km away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
171 reviews
4.42 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Great Spice Indian Takeaway
54 reviews
1.25 km away
Sequoia Eatery Rotorua
150 reviews
3.95 km away
Lime Caffeteria
516 reviews
4.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Redwoods, Whakarewarewa Forest
3,958 reviews
4.12 km away
Tamaki Maori Village
4,189 reviews
4.53 km away
Government Gardens
990 reviews
4.37 km away
Lake Rotorua
947 reviews
4.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jacqueline O
9 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Yvonne S | Reviewed this property |
Hi there, it would depend on what you want to spend. I think $120 would be generous, but you could google the menu and decide.
1
Vote
kooler07
7 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from goodbbboy |
The menu is with very selective items, carefully choosen and prepared in my opinion. Great day!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$55
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 77 Robinson Avenue | Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, Holden's Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Rotorua District  >  Rotorua
  • Phone Number: +64 7-343 5100
  • E-mail
Description
Mokoia Restaurant is a definitive fine dining experience featuring creative Pacific Rim cuisine using fresh and flavoursome local ingredients. The restaurant specializes in healthy gourmet cuisine using unique indigenous foods and herbs. Executive Chef Ervin Y Garde has created a menu that he feels embraces the essence of contemporary New Zealand culture. Join us for breakfast, high teas, lunch and dinner, enjoy freshly squeezed beverages from our fresh juice bar and experience first class hospitality in a positively breath-taking lakefront location.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;