We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


$$ - $$$, European,
69 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
+64 9-402 6220
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good24%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
Bar, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
69 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Went for a couple of drinks after a relaxing day at Russell and thought we’d use the free WiFi - told it wasn’t working today. Spoke to some other travellers and it hadn’t been working for a few days!. Beers were cold if a bit...More

Thank Ross H
Reviewed 4 days ago

Should have listened to my tour guide and avoided this place like the plague! Service.........??? What service! I am amazed they are still trading. Arrived early evening a table of 4-6 eating. Stood waiting for atable as the sign states. Eventually a young man came...More

Thank Theresa S
35DegreesSouth, Owner at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Kia ora Theresa, I am sorry to hear about the lack of customer service you experienced at our establishment. If you could email me with some more details, I would be happy to follow up with the team at my end. You can contact me...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

A lovely place to have a few beers or cocktails overlooking the Paihia bay. Unrushed and very relaxing in big sofas.

Thank Mike F
35DegreesSouth, Owner at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

That's exactly the feeling we are aiming to achieve with our guests who dine here. I am glad you experienced that and enjoyed yourself in our hospitality. We would love to have you back again when you are next in the area. Take care, Sarah

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Called here for a glass of wine . 4 staff behind bar and no one serving Had to ask to be served. Asked if they had Pinot Gris to be told of course, a number of different ones. The one I asked for not available...More

Thank Tykes0nTour
35DegreesSouth, Owner at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for letting me know about your experience. I appreciate your comments and we are always open to receiving constructive criticism to further improve our services. Regards, Sarah

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here for breakfast on an absolutely stunning day. Unfortunatley it was not the best experience. The staff were playing loud hip hop music which did not suit the setting and the time of 8.30am. When we requested more mellow music, we felt we...More

Thank legg2018
35DegreesSouth, Owner at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I apologise for your service, without further detail I can't really rectify this situation or prevent it from happening again. If you are able to email me with a few more details, I would love to follow up with my team. You can email me...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We called in for brekky on Saturday morning and left feeling full and happy. The coffee was so good, I got a take away also. Decided to head back again today for dinner and we were not disappointed. We walked in and immediately the young...More

Thank Sunlily6336
35DegreesSouth, Owner at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Brilliant! I'm overjoyed to hear that you really enjoyed yourself. We managed to get through the storm intact and I hope you did too! Thanks again for your comments - every positive comment really helps! Safe travels, Sarah

Reviewed 1 week ago

Not sure why the kitchen was still open when the fish and chicken meals were not available. When the food did arrive the chips were cold and my burger pattie was dry and tasteless. One of our party had to leave abruptly due to her...More

Thank NevaBug
35DegreesSouth, Owner at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm sorry to hear about your experience - I hope you brought your views to the attention of our manager that day who would have rectified it straight away. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts, I appreciate it. Regards, Sarah

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived on a Thursday night at about seven and was given a menu. When it was time to order we were told that they had no fish menu items available, so was left to the rest. Then order off there menu only to find that...More

Thank ForgoneConclusion
35DegreesSouth, Owner at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Based on your comments I am a little confused. You were advised that there was no fish available but you were able to order the Ika Mata - our fish tacos? If that is the dish you ordered, the only...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great spot right by the water. Food was ok. Service was great. We went to celebrate our anniversary. Would have probably preferred to go for dinner before dinner and dinner elsewhere as were looking for something a little more quality and with a bit more...More

Thank samhX7612TG
35DegreesSouth, Owner at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It's a shame that you didn't receive a quality overall experience, I am sorry to hear that. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us with feedback that we can work from. Regards, Sarah

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointed to find much of menu unavailable. Cost 50 dollars for a 50 ml carafe of house on tap Pinot noir. Is this correct?

Thank David B
Nearby HotelsSee all 43 hotels in Paihia
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
450 reviews
.11 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
542 reviews
.17 km away
The Bishop Selwyn
11 reviews
.19 km away
Bayview Motel
123 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Letz Cafe
113 reviews
.08 km away
850 reviews
.06 km away
Charlotte's Kitchen
744 reviews
.09 km away
Cellini's Ice Cream and Espresso
178 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Paihia Harbour
1,021 reviews
.14 km away
St Paul's Anglican Church
8 reviews
.14 km away
Sea Shuttle Bay of Islands
126 reviews
.13 km away
Bay of Islands Parasail
146 reviews
.08 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
9 March 2017|
Response from overnightcruiser | Property representative |
Hi JTscarb, Thanks for your question. I think to amend reviews you have to get in contact with TripAdvisor. We can request changes if the review has been made on the wrong place but it would still need to be confirmed by the... More
9 March 2017|
Response from Tony C | Reviewed this property |
One for Trip Advisor or write another one and cross reference I would suggest
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$9 - US$18
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 69 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Northland Region  >  Bay of Islands  >  Paihia
  • Phone Number: +64 9-402 6220
  • E-mail
Alongside is an exciting social space situated over the water in the stunning bay of islands. There is no place quite like it in Northland and we are proud to be different! While there is an overall laid back, casual feel to the huge decked area, its style and touch of class makes it the perfect place to get together with friends and family for a relaxed bite to eat and a drink to cool down in the beautiful winterless North. Take in the breath taking views, relax on some of our comfy loungers and soak in the great community feel that Paihia has on offer. We offer all day casual dining . Our menu is designed for sharing - small plates and boards boasting local seafood and fresh produce. Choose a drink to match from our extensive drinks list boasting a wide range of exciting wines to speciality rums and mouth-watering cocktails.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Save your favourites!
Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now