We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

About
Join us for a wonderful experience over the water in either "The Aquarium" or on "The Dock". Inside we serve up-market dishes situated in a cozy dining area with great views. Outside we have a big lounge area for you to relax and enjoy your day - completely casual and informal. All our locations can be booked for events as well and we try to cater for every wish that might arise.
PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$27
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
CUISINES
Fast food, Mediterranean, Contemporary, New Zealand, Seafood
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
53
22
17
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
53
22
17
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews creamy mushrooms tagliatelle steak frites oysters chicken outside seating amazing location great view of the bay order at the bar food was lovely hit the spot last night new zealand greys trio views deck
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 30 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered a campari spritz and my husband commented when the waitress did not put any prosecco in she rudely said it doesnt have prosecco. (not yhe case as on the menu we had to point out). Such a beautiful view it is such a shame....More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Michelle I
Michaela-ZaneGreys, General Manager at Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Michelle, thanks for letting me know - I will follow up on this! I'm sincerely sorry that you had to experience this!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This has one of the best locations on the seafront and has so much potential but there is so much lacking. The staff are so disinterested. The Cobb Salad I was served was so disappointing, the person who threw it on the plate needs to...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 644rong
Michaela-ZaneGreys, General Manager at Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ron, thanks for your time leaving a review. I will address this with the team and the head chef. Your comment helps us improve and I'm sure you will have a better experience if you were to visit Paihia again and giving us another...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really can't say enough about the experience we had there. We were waiting for a fishing chart trip in the Zane Grey boat and the bar manger was just so friendly and helpful, way beyond what you'd expect from a busy tourist place.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Flash2004
Michaela-ZaneGreys, General Manager at Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Amazing! Thanks so much! Hope you can come back again :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The waiters were very terrible and so the food. I ordered a bottle of wine. When she served, she just put the wine cooler on the floor. WTF. And they simply didn't know how to do their job. I had to get up twice to...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank TeerachaiC1
Michaela-ZaneGreys, General Manager at Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback - I really apologize for the two reactions that you got. You help me here identifying opportunities to improve the team and future guest experiences. We have already contacted the supplier as they chuck the oysters for us. I hope...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed the views . Putting cold beer in a hot glass is not on. When mentioned was told I'm not in Australia now . Rude . Meals filling . Sauce spilt over me on clean up . Apologies given but a free drink would have...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank gazza_n_123
Michaela-ZaneGreys, General Manager at Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback - I really apologize for the two reactions that you got. You help me here identifying opportunities to improve the team and future guest experiences. I hope you come back and try again and you have an impeccable stay then!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had breakfast with friends , we had creamy mushrooms and egg Benedict with ham which were amazing. Beautiful view. Will definitely come back.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Xpress2018
Michaela-ZaneGreys, General Manager at Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much! We love to seeing you coming back! Cheers

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The menu at Zane Grey's restaurant was not as extensive as I expected, but it was good. Unfortunately the kids menu was very limited in choice and dessert there was only one. But what the adults had was very good and tasty. Service was a...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Finz2010
Michaela-ZaneGreys, General Manager at Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Finz, thank you for taking your time to review us and giving us some constructive feedback - I really appreciate this! We are looking at improving our menu constantly!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed a pre dinner drink & languished in the afternoon sun & absorbing the superb views of the Bay. Stunning

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Mary H
Michaela-ZaneGreys, General Manager at Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Mary! We love it, too!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This restaurant has a brilliant location looking out over the Harbour area, the night we visited (Christmas Eve) there was a live band playing which was great but not intrusive. I had the best Fish & Chips ever in this restaurant, my husband had the...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jussy2013
Michaela-ZaneGreys, General Manager at Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So happy to hear you had a fantastic Christmas time here in Paihia! Cheers!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Maybe it's a New Zealand thing, but what's with drowning waffles in syrup, with overcooked bananas and greasy bacon? Also, heaven help anyone NOT interested in eggs for breakfast. And why so loud music (ok, classic rock, but still...) so early in the morning.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank melsays
Michaela-ZaneGreys, General Manager at Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning Mel, We're sorry that you did not enjoy your waffles dish. We usually get many compliments for this one and as the menu states, the banana is caramelized. For the music we have a standard setting that everyone on the deck enjoy a...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 41 nearby hotels
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
477 reviews
.12 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
603 reviews
.19 km away
The Bishop Selwyn
15 reviews
.20 km away
Bayview Motel
134 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 68 nearby restaurants
Letz Cafe
163 reviews
.09 km away
GREENS Paihia
971 reviews
.08 km away
Charlotte’s Kitchen
940 reviews
.07 km away
Cellini's Ice Cream and Espresso
192 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 78 nearby attractions
Paihia Harbour
1,101 reviews
.12 km away
Zig Zag Charters
71 reviews
.05 km away
Flying Kiwi Parasail
261 reviews
.05 km away
The Rock Adventure Cruise
740 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zane Grey's Aquarium and Dock Restaurants and Bars staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing