We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$9 - US$20
CUISINES
Bar, International, European, New Zealand, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,573)
Filter reviews
1,498 results
Traveller rating
805
491
123
41
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
805
491
123
41
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips lamb calamari bread masonic hotel art deco small plates fish of the day nz bay
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Coeliac and can’t digest red meat. Can eat fish or chicken or veggie dishes with any sauce that doesn’t have gluten. It’s not hard if a chef is available. Usually I can have any meal adapted but it does depend on the aptitude of the...chef. Bouillabaisse on the menu with other accoutrements. I could pay the same price for panfried fish with “a sauce”/ same price! Fish n chips- I could have panfried fish without the chips and maybe a salad -same price! I could not have sechzwan chicken as the sauce wasnt gf. Could the chef make up a sauce?”no”. So the menu was Inflexible- the chef was inflexible. I had a gf pizza. I would never return. The others had pizza and pie.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We met friends for drinks at the awesome bar in Napier, and we're enjoying the occasion so much that we stayed on for something to eat. What a great decision it was because we had vege dumplings, jalapenos and fish bites that we're all brilliant,...the dumplings we shared were exceptional in a delicious broth. The range of drinks was first class, the service was nice and friendly, and we even had a DJ quietly arranging background music the fitted in superbly. I would recommend anyway to try this bar. We always have had good experiences here, but now it's got even better😊❤️!!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Napier Hotels, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Stone60, Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a fabulous time with us. We look forward to welcoming you soon ! Kind Regards, Emporium Eatery and Bar

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to Emporium on Saturday with some family and friends for my wife's birthday. Drinks and some nibbles. The staff there were outstanding, from Stefan (who I arranged everything with) to Deepak and his crew on the actual night. Super hospitable and accommodating. Emporium...is one of my favourite couple of bars in Napier. Location is central and the atmosphere and ambience is perfect. We had a few pizzas over the night, which were very tasty. Overall a great experience, a great night, and I would highly recommend Emporium. We will definitely be back!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Napier Hotels, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Bosco2012, Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a great evening with us. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Kind Regards, Emporium Eatery and Bar

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A 50 minute wait to get an overcooked steak full of gristle. Meal returned to kitchen after a few mouthfuls. I was still expected to pay full price as they told me I had eaten 80% of the meal. Disappointed with staffs bad attitude. NOT...RECOMMENDED!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Napier Hotels, Manager at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Marianne_Henderson, Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are extremely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your steak and service . As part of our investigation after receiving this feedback, we found out that your meal was delivered in...More

Reviewed 23 July 2021

Worst dinner ever, very limited menu over seasoned food, poor service, cocktails terrible small over priced and poorly presented, garlic bread was inedible and sent it back. Would not recommend.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 21 June 2021

The Emporium at one time was a real treat. At one time, great effort went into the menu, the food presentation and the cocktail list. The wait staff used to seem knowledgeable, enthusiastic and well trained. Something has definitely changed and not for the better....The menus (both food and drink) have been shortened and lack any sort of description, let alone any attempt at making them appealing. Home made warm crusty bread served with smoked butter, has been replaced with....bread roll (microwaved) and butter. The real kicker was the price: x4 mains, x4 bread rolls(microwaved), 6 drinks and olives.....$230..... Hate to say this Emporium, but you guys need to up your game. Times are tough, likely to get tougher and the bar in Napier is being raised by new eateries opening all the time. We will give you guys another shot, mainly for sentimental reasons, but we won't pay that kind of money for anything less than a great experience....More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 20 May 2021

Great beverage selection, good food. Don’t let the bland interior prevent you stopping. Limited vegetarian options.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Napier Hotels, Owner at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Thank you for taking the to review your experience. We have just included some new pizza items to the menu. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 15 May 2021 via mobile

Seriously I've never had a meal this small, I left there hungry, food taste ok but having to stop for a burger on the way home is not good.. I'd skip this place and go to the next..

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Napier Hotels, Owner at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the flavours but sorry to hear you left the restaurant hungry. We have a new slow cooked lamb dish designed for sharing on our new menu starting early June. We hope you take the opportunity to try it.

Reviewed 13 April 2021

I was part of a large group (13) that booked for dinner on Saturday night. We were informed that we would have to have a set Menu as the restaurant can't cope with large groups. We were also told there would be several options. Actually...there were only two options on the Menu neither of which I could eat. I told the (very unaccommodating) waiter that I couldn't eat either of the options so I would have to go without tonight. He moved onto the next person without batting an eyelid. No other options were offered. Had we not already ordered drinks our whole table would have up and left. Our group was from Auckland and trying to do our bit for the tourism and hospitality sector. Don't think we will bother with Napier again. The service staff working on Saturday in this Restaurant and in the activity we chose to do while in town have obviously not been affected by Covid. They were certainly not welcoming or hospitable. Avoid this restaurant if your are in a group. They don't cope.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Napier Hotels, Owner at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear Blondeslapper Thank you for your review. We have discussed how we could improve service to groups of the size you were a part of and have implemented improvements. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again if you choose to return to...More

Reviewed 12 April 2021

Looked an amazing place so booked for 13 in advance on Saturday night. Was told for that number we could only have set meal. Choices were very poor - only fish and steak that could only be served medium rare as when 2 of our...party asked for their steak well done seemed to be a problem with server and he was quite rude. Were then told the whole party had to have the same - being Entree/Main or Main/Desert as would be too confusing for chefs!! One of the party could not eat the two options and was not offered an alternative. Unfortunately we had been served our drinks otherwise we would have left. Serving staff not friendly at all. Had we split our table to smaller groups we may have had a better experience. Other restaurants we dined at during our stay seemed to be able to cope amazingly. Sadly would never come back or recommendMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?2  
Napier Hotels, Owner at Emporium Eatery & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear Travellingbill Thank you for your review. Please see response to your companion (Blondeslapper) in the following review.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
1,422 reviews
.02 km away
The County Hotel
1,481 reviews
.12 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
1,166 reviews
.27 km away
Expressotel
303 reviews
.44 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rasoi Cuisine of India
384 reviews
.13 km away
Faith Hope Love Malaysian Eatery
170 reviews
.10 km away
Bistronomy
801 reviews
.07 km away
Hunger Monger
455 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Napier i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
396 reviews
.12 km away
MTG Hawke's Bay
307 reviews
.06 km away
Pania of the Reef Statue
131 reviews
.17 km away
Napier Library and Museum
20 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Emporium Eatery & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Emporium Eatery & Bar

Emporium Eatery & Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5