We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $38
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (465)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
160
178
58
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
160
178
58
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burger mash art deco masonic hotel pint chips
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The venue is typical of an Irish bar in NZ, the ambiance was warm and the back ground music pleasant. The food and service were great. Indoor & outdoor seating, pool table and sports on the TV’s. Very good thank you.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2024

Had the shanks👌👌 meat and mash in that beautiful gravy 🤤 Staff were awesome too. Will definitely return soon as it was that bad 😅 👍 (inside joke with the staff)

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thank you for stopping by. We're delighted you enjoyed our food & had a laugh with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

Happened upon the Irish Rose Pub while visiting Napier New Zealand- easy relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff and patrons. The hidden gem of our meal was the Moroccan Lamb shank- flavorful spices, perfectly cooked to fall off the bone- so tender! And a generous portion...to boot with couscous and veggies. Chatted with the owner to let him know how delicious it was - he recommended the mashed potatoes with the dish instead of the couscous….next time….More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Chef & the team were really pleased to hear you enjoyed our food, especially the Moroccan Lamb shank. We hope to see you again sometime.

Reviewed 7 February 2024

While we initially enjoyed this venue, we realized that they do not honor the listed pricing their menus!! Even when questioned, they refused to correct their mistake. Don’t allow them to rip you off.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

This was a genuine error on our part, we apologise.

Reviewed 30 January 2024

We ordered fish and chips and the batter on the fish was thick and uncooked on the inside. We had never heard of the fish but it was awful. The manager was very good and apologised and offered another meal. We decided on the burgers...and had to wait ages for them to come. The manager came out and apologised for the delay. When they eventually arrived the burgers where raw and cold in the middle. When the meal came out the manager did not come out at any time to check that the replacement meal was acceptable. We did get a full refund for our meal but if I was running a restaurant, I would ensure that a customer who had had in inedible meal would not receive another. I will post photos as proof.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Oh dear not a good day, we can only apologise. The team have all been made aware of your experience.Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 17 December 2023

I have enjoyed fish and chips on multiple continents around the world, but the Fish and Chips we had at Rose Pub were the best I have ever had. We were looking for fish and chips for lunch and surprisingly couldn't find any so we...tried the Rose Pub. It was a bit of a wait because they were crowded, but we each received two large battered fillets with chips and a salad. The filets were fresh and melted in your mouth. The salad was also excellent.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Really pleased to hear you enjoyed our Fish 'n Chips. They're always a hit with our customers. Thanks for your patience on the day you came by we were particulary busy. We hope to see you again sometime.

Reviewed 22 November 2023 via mobile

The service was terrible - none of the staff looked like they wanted to be there ! Trying to get served at the bar was hard as no one wanted to take our orders ! Food was nice but because the staff never looked happy...it definitely made the experience uncomfortable !More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.

Reviewed 12 November 2023

We ordered ham croquettes and nachos. The croquettes were nice but not worth $20 for 4 bite size morsels. The nachos were terrible. Mostly corn chips and not much else. There was supposed to be bacon, beef, salsa and more. We complained and the kitchen...took our plates, added some beef and squirted some tomato sauce over the original meal which made it cold. We were starving so ate some of it and left. We will not be back. Ps…we are not usually complainers and have never left a bad review, but this was appalling for an Irish pubMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thank you for visiting us. We're sorry not all meals were up to scratch. We've discussed your issues, which we take seriously with our team & will be making adjustments.

Reviewed 12 November 2023

Popped over to Napier for a mission concert and decided to grab dinner at the Irish Rose. While the pub itself was nice clean and had a good vibe the food left is feeling ripped for the money. We ordered croquettes for $20 and received...4 squash ball sized croquettes speced out on a large plate. While they were tasty they were never going to be enough. We also ordered nachos with Wagyu beef, bacon peanuts and salsa. To be honest would have be at least 90% nachos 7% cheese and sour cream 2% beef 1% salsa(tomato sauce) and 0% bacon. We did complain and explain nachos is all about the beef and they topped it up but barely. $22 nachos not a bank breaker but don't expect a loaded nachos meal unless you really love an abundance of corn chips. The other meals there may have been larger and better but my advise is to steer clear of these 2 poor value meals.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

Thank you for visiting us. We're sorry not all meals were up to scratch. We've discussed your issues, which we take seriously with our team & will be making adjustments.

Reviewed 15 October 2023

went to watch Ireland/All blacks game $30 breakfast and coffee you would think if this is what you are offering this is what you would deliver. How can a hot cooked breakfast come out from the kitchen cold. Run out of baked beans so you...will get those later in a dish cold of course. meals ordered before the rugby started and the last person in our group got theirs 5 minutes before the game finished. Will NOT be back.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2024

We can only apologise for our unusually poor service on the day you visited.

Reviewed 20 September 2023 via mobile

I noted the very poor recent reviews before we went to The Rose for dinner tonight and, because we have been there many many times over the years, assumed it was a few unlucky diners. I was wrong. The beef burger looked great until a...wee way in we noted something wasn’t quite right with the bacon. On closer inspection the bacon was completely raw. Totally unacceptable and we’re hoping we don’t get sick tonight from eating raw bacon. The fish n chips had two small dark fillets with a massive portion of chips and an overdressed salad. Upon cutting into the fish it was clear that it was a tiny fillet in an extremely heavy batter, upto 5cm thick in places, and cooked in filthy oil. The lamb shank was nice but the accompanying veges were overcooked and lukewarm as was the mash. The waiter agreed with our feedback after viewing the half finished plates and said she would let chef know. I pointed out that, as per the trip advisor comments, apparently this feedback had been going to chef for at least six months to no avail. She assured me the chef was leaving soon. I assured her we wouldn’t be back again.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2023

Thank you for your feedback. What a disaster! We're so sorry you had this experience with us. There are changes underway to ensure our food service returns to the high and consistent standards we had previously. We sincerely hope you'll come and give us another...More

Reviewed 9 August 2023 via mobile

Visiting Napier with my daughter & thought The Rose looked nice, so stopped in for a late lunch / early dinner. Beef and Guinness pie was so disappointing. Flavour was nice, but the beef was so fatty I could only eat half of it and...the pastry top was cold and soggy - tasted like it was straight out of the fridge. My daughter’s burger was very average, as was my pint of Guinness and I’m originally Irish, I know a good pint.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2023

Thank you for your feedback. We can only apologise that our service & quality was not up to our usual standards. We have shared your feedback with chef so that we do not repeat the experience.

Reviewed 7 April 2023 via mobile

On walking in the warm ambiance was obvious, the staff were incredible (under pressure) the food was very good and as mentioned the ambiance welcoming and relaxed.

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Hay, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2023

Thank you Lesley we really appreciate your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed 15 March 2023 via mobile

Sadly, I think somethings changed in the kitchen here - I have to say that was the worst meal I have eaten, or tried to eat in a very, very long time. Had to scrape away the an identifiable mushroom sauce. The salad was soaked...and dressing and had black wilted. Leaves the chips not great so all that was left to try and eat was a steak. Sorry folks just don’t recommend. Also, the menu had changed drastically from others. I had seen online so I’m picking something has definitely changed.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Napier Hotels, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2023

Thank you for your review, and we apologise that our meals did not meet your standards when you dined with us. We are speaking with our chef regarding your critique. We wish you would have approached us on the evening in question as we would...More

Reviewed 4 February 2023 via mobile

My partner and I came in to have a lovely lunch together and I don't normally complain but we were very disappointed. His beef and guineas pie was more like a stew like casserole with a tiny piece of puff pastry on top, Every other...Irish pub we have gone to the pie is a pie as in full cased pastry. For the price it was really disappointing... The open steak sandwich was okay although it lacked enough steak on it and was a bit fatty. The ciders were nice though.. Don't think we will be coming back which is a shame as we both love Irish pubsMore

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Napier Hotels, Owner at The Rose Irish Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We're sorry you didn't think the food was up to scratch. We do serve our Guinness pie in a different way to a traditional pie & have had good feedback about this...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
1,492 reviews
.05 km away
The County Hotel
1,535 reviews
.14 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
1,331 reviews
.31 km away
Expressotel
314 reviews
.37 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Faith Hope Love Malaysian Eatery
210 reviews
.11 km away
Rasoi Cuisine of India
434 reviews
.15 km away
Bistronomy & Vinotech
839 reviews
.04 km away
Hunger Monger
511 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Ahuriri Napier isite Visitor Information Centre
412 reviews
.15 km away
MTG Hawke's Bay
317 reviews
.11 km away
Waiapu Anglican Cathedral, Napier, New Zealand
77 reviews
.15 km away
Napier Library and Museum
26 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
PaulBrasch
24 February 2020|
Answer
Response from Craig H | Property representative |
Hi Paul We have a great team and passionate managers since you last visited. I hope you have the chance to visit again.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE ROSE IRISH PUB, Napier - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Rose Irish Pub

The Rose Irish Pub is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5