We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Italian, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
120
51
13
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
120
51
13
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gnocchi garlic bread prawns italian food chef marco new zealand cabonara mains nz servings
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 8 February 2022 via mobile

We ordered via Uber Eats and the food was delivered very fast and hot. We got salmon gnocchi, fettuccini and tortelli. Wow, probably the best Italian we’ve had in New Zealand. Gorgeous hand made pasta, perfectly cooked and seasoned. The salmon gnocchi was light as...a cloud and very tasty, with the other dishes perfect. Not cheap, but excellent value. Around $25 per main, and they’re not huge servings. But its very filling and was ample for three of us. I would probably add a side or an extra dish if you’re big eaters. We will defiantly visiting the restaurant soon, I can only presume the food will be even better. Can’t wait.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 October 2021

I liked the atmosphere but the food left me a little disappointed. I love authentic hand made pasta. The ragu here is put on spaghetti which made me a little cautious so I didn't try it. Cream sauces also put me off other dishes. Others...with me, not so fussy about pasta, enjoyed their dishes. The service was excellent with food being delivered quickly. I think most people would enjoy their experience but if you have experienced good Italian food maybe you would leave a little disappointedMore

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

Great authentic food in a relaxed atmosphere. I’d certainly return. There were some gluten free options too and the waiter was happy to organise a bit of mixing things up from the menu. Fabulous night out.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 May 2021

Food was horrible, garlic bread was dry and stale, mains were undercooked and lacking in meat. Wouldn’t recommended to anyone

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 April 2021

I had been advised to this was a good place to eat. The menu was excellent but not as good as the Prawn & pesto Fettuccini. What made the meal was the unobtrusive but attentive table service provided by young Shakur and Briar. An all...round top eating experience!More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 February 2021

Chef Marco created a truly Italian atmosphere. We found friendly people and seriously good food! The best Italian pizza in NZ and outstanding homemade Tiramisu. Thank you!

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 22 January 2021

My partner and I moved to Hamilton from Sydney four years ago and this is our favourite restaurant here. It's authentic Italian food (looking at you people who don't know how cabonara is meant to be served - it's not supposed to have a cream...sauce!) and they make their own deliciously silky pasta. When we have overseas visitors, this is the restaurant we take them to because it's unpretentious, honest, generous, and the food is just plain yummy. If you haven't been, you're missing out.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 January 2021 via mobile

Just had an overpriced underwhelming experience at Caffe Centrale. The carbonara sauce was scrambled - patently obvious just by looking at it - and the dish so dry it was inedible. At $26 totally overpriced. The gnocchi all’s bolognese claimed to have a ragu sauce...but was basically mince and tinned tomatoes and at $28 was outrageously overpriced. Really disappointing after all the good reviews on here. To add insult to injury when we expressed our disappointment the chef made some ridiculous justifications - they don’t use cream in their carbonara sauce so maybe the egg yolks weren’t big enough. They were scrambled mate! And bolognese sauce is made with meat and tomatoes and no one else had complained about it. At $28 I was expecting a nice rich ragu with a bit of red wine in there - hell I make a mean ragu myself - but this was just mince and tinned tomatoes. Just because people don’t complain doesn’t mean your food is good. People will vote with their feet and won’t come back. Yeah you might have an Italian cooking in the kitchen - doesn’t mean he can cook. If you want to try real authentic Italian food without having to go to Italy ( and I have eaten in Italy many times) don’t come here!More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
FarAway09940183824, General Manager at Caffe Centrale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2021

I really don't like doing this, but sorry I can't accept this sort of complaint. To me it sounds very disrespectful for all our customers, for the staff and all the work that exists behind that $26. I didn't say that nobody complains so we...More

Reviewed 5 November 2020 via mobile

Absolutely delicious, the gnocchi is unbeatable! Generous portions and good service, will definitely be back again, best Italian in town

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 5 September 2020 via mobile

We tried this based on the reviews and were not disappointed. The service was excellent and we enjoyed the atmosphere inside. The mussels were an excellent starter and the mains were very good. Reasonably priced. The limited menu was the only drawback and as a...result the. Italian one door up has the edge in my view.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel
1,516 reviews
.03 km away
Quest on Ward
192 reviews
.17 km away
Ramada by Wyndham Hamilton City Center
209 reviews
.21 km away
VR Hamilton Hotel
544 reviews
.28 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Palate
544 reviews
.07 km away
Adriana's Restaurant
392 reviews
.01 km away
Indian Star Restaurant & Bar
217 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Waikato Museum
364 reviews
.52 km away
Hamilton i-Site Visitor Information Centre
57 reviews
.40 km away
ArtsPost Galleries & Shop
73 reviews
.49 km away
Parana Park
43 reviews
.44 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fedagent28
2 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PeterB11369 | Reviewed this property |
Would think it would be, probably til around 10, contact them for clarification
0
Votes
SokramA1
24 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Chefnz65 |
Ciao,No I m so sorry.
1
Vote
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Caffe Centrale

Yes, Caffe Centrale offers takeaway services.

Caffe Centrale is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4