We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gothenburg

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Gothenburg serves a great selection of tapas. We focus on having a relaxed atmosphere combined with excellent service. We have a beautiful riverside view of the Waikato River from our dining room and outdoor terrace, and are located just a minutes walk from the main street of Hamilton.
PRICE RANGE
US$13 - US$55
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
European, Fusion, New Zealand
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (1,569)
Filter reviews
1,537 results
Traveller rating
1,147
281
70
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
1,147
281
70
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas pork belly chef's selection calamari dumplings the river food was amazing birthday dinner dishes swedish range nz palate
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

Fantastic food. Good value, Wonderful service and good atmosphere. Extremely hard to fault. A must visit if you are in Hamilton.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Attended a presentation in Gothenburg”s function room. great space for a small meeting and very nice scones. only down side is having to go downstairs to the toilet.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago

A great tapas restaurant with a tantalizing choice of dishes to choose from. I went with a friend to celebrate her birthday . She is is gluten intolerant and mostly vegetarian. We had a great choice of dishes and the staff were very helpful. We...enjoyed the variety of flavours and the food was so tasty. The views from the restaurant are stunning. Another great experience.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago

Our third visit to the Gothenburg, well worth the trip down from Auckland. We were slightly disappointed that the crayfish dish was off the menu, so we tried the replacement seafood pasta dish which was a bit of a disappointment (please bring back the crayfish...dish!). Then we had the two different beef dishes, both stunning as ever, followed by a yummy chocolate desert. As always, some really good beers too and good service. We'll return again, hopefully with the crayfish dish back!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great to catch-up for lunch with friends. Service was friendly, attentive yet not intrusive and tapas were awesome as always - thanks Gothenberg team! You never disappoint!

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took our daughter to Gothenburg for a belated Christmas lunch and enjoyed a fantastic lunch. Every aspect of the kuch was excellent from the reasonable priced bottle of wine to the five delicious tapas plates we had. The beef tataki and the salmon sashimi...were absolutely superb. The service from the Italian wait person was delightful and frankly there was absolutely nothing that deserved even a mild adverse critique. Lovely in this day and age to have the level of service and cuisine at such a high standardMore

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sushimi Salmon dish the best dish ever! Great service from friendly staff. A superb night for two! Thanks Gothenburg team!

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great service the lady that waited our table was lovely very friendly and the food was out quickly! She was happy to hand me a seperate gluten free menu. The food was amazing!!!!! I had very average service and food last time 2 years ago...but am happy that this time that had all changed!😀More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

really disappointed that we couldn’t be catered or looked after here. Plenty of tables were available but was told there were to many dockets to process in the kitchen. i’m sure that if I was the owners i’d be disappointed turning away customers ?More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Carlgothenburg, Owner at Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Gerald, Sorry to disappoint you and it is never our intention to turn away customers but at the moment we are dealing with lots of staff absences due to covid and while it may look like there is space we can’t actually give everyone...More

Reviewed 1 April 2022 via mobile

Quick service. Food is yummy. Their Pork belly never fails. 😋😋 Location is in central Hamilton and near the river. Ambiance is bliss. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
VR Hamilton Hotel
541 reviews
.37 km away
Ramada by Wyndham Hamilton City Center
204 reviews
.44 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
477 reviews
.48 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel
1,512 reviews
.60 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chim-choo-ree
448 reviews
.25 km away
Furnace Steakhouse
492 reviews
.19 km away
Madam Woo
685 reviews
.19 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Waikato Museum
364 reviews
.11 km away
Hamilton i-Site Visitor Information Centre
56 reviews
.94 km away
ArtsPost Galleries & Shop
72 reviews
.15 km away
Parana Park
43 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DeepakV581
28 June 2019|
Answer
Response from genleta2022 | Reviewed this property |
Not yet. Should have it though.
0
Votes
NorthStar346714
5 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Carlgothenburg | Property representative |
Hello, please call us at the restaurant and we can talk about some options. 07-8343562
0
Votes
Richard C
3 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from thenzfoodies | Reviewed this property |
I thought their response was witty and well thought out. They provided evidence dismissing your wife's claims that the chilli burnt her mouth. I myself have eaten the dish as well as many of my friends and we not once have... More
3
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Gothenburg

Yes, Gothenburg is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Gothenburg is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5