We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fish Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Princes Wharf Quay Street | Hilton Auckland Hotel, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly White Restaurant)
+64 9-978 2020
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Thu 12:00 - 23:00
Fri - Wed 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 476: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Located in the Hilton Hotel, Fish has excellent food and service at reasonable prices for a top quality restaurant. The oysters were superb and the fish as fresh as the restaurant's name implies.

Helpful?
Thank KJS882
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Like others, I use the Hilton chain a lot, but usually venture further than the hotel to eat. After disappointing meals elsewhere, we dined in at Fish and I am so glad we did. My oysters were sublime, and as my partner is not a fish lover, his lamb choice was equally delicious. This place was so good that we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiFliesNZ
Oliver W, Manager at Fish, responded to this review

Dear KiwiFliesNZ, Thank you for your loyalty as Hilton costumer and for the time taken to review us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments on the service, food and view. I'm glad we were able to meet your expectations not only once but a few times. Also very happy to hear we were able to consistently deliver great service and... More 

Parua Bay, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I were staying the night so decided to stay in for dinner. We had had breakfast here before and it was lovely. The menu tonight read ok but as a fussy eater I could not see anything on the mains that appealed. What I got was nice but not fantastic - I expected more

Helpful?
Thank TraceyA1966
Oliver W, Manager at Fish, responded to this review

Dear TraceyA1966, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your comments about the service, I am pleased to hear we were able to meet your expectation on this matter. I do apologize our food didn't quite match your taste buds on this occasion, unfortunately if nothing in the mains menu appeals to your taste... More 

South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the worst food experience I've had for a long time. The menu was very pretentious and obviously targeted at foodies and not at your average punter who uses Hilton hotels. We would have been much better eating in the bat which we did on other occasions during our stay. Prices were ridiculous and the head waiter was as... More 

Helpful?
Thank IAN M
Oliver W, Manager at Fish, responded to this review

Dear Ian M, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I sincerely apologize if we came across pretentious/condescending. I would like to advise our restaurant is specifically designed to provide refined food and service, this creates a different feel across the Hotel, whereas Bellini Bar serves fun/snack food and in room dinning has a larger range.... More 

Montana, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are staying at the Hilton in which Fish is located and we would not usually have dinner at a hotel restaurant. But after kind of an exhausting day, we only had enough energy to take the elevator to dinner rather than go out and I am glad we did! The menu was varied and interesting. The service was great.... More 

Helpful?
Thank GulchFamily
Elsdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Fish with a friend who lives in Auckland whilst we were touring in NZ. Lovely setting, very attentive staff, food presented beautifully, however my fish was raw in the middle. I didn't complain because our friend had booked the restaurant and i didn't want him to feel uncomfortable with his choice of restaurant. Had the circumstances been different... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sunsetprincess
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had bought a Grab One voucher recently and were delighted we had. This had to be the best meal we have had in New Zealand this year. Had to pay extra for the Taupo beef but it was outstanding, beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked. Totally recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Bill S
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Fish and we were not disappointed. Being a birthday celebration we wanted it to be special and we got all of that and more! The staff were efficient and so friendly. The food was amazing and presentation fabulous.The final touch was the beautifully decorated ''Happy Birthday'' plate with 5 delicous chocolates. Truly a wonderful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
Oliver W, Manager at Fish, responded to this review

Dear Margaret M, Thank you very much for taking the time to visit FISH on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you have chosen FISH Restaurant for your birthday celebration and proud we have not disappointed. We take pride in offering professional but courteous and relaxed service in the restaurant. I believe this truly allows guests to enjoy their dining experience, going... More 

Lake Geneva, WI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have to disagree with many of the reviewers on your site. We were a party of 4 in a restaurant that was at least 60% empty. Service was terrible and the food bland and served barely warm. We waited more than 40 minutes between courses and the manager, when we described our experience while settling the bill, disagreed with... More 

Helpful?
Thank augiemom
Oliver W, Manager at Fish, responded to this review

Dear Augiemom, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Your comments will be taken on board and help us to improve our process of delivering higher standards of service to our Guests. I appreciate you mentioning we have failed to empathize with your comments on the night, this will be carefully looked into. I will ensure... More 

Camberley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived late and had not booked because our plane had been delayed. We were greeted by a very cheerful waitress who immediately seated us in a quiet area away from some children. Service was prompt, the fish dish was delicious and hot and a cold bottle of sauvignon blanc helped revive us from the journey

Helpful?
Thank BethVCamberley

Travellers who viewed Fish also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$22 - US$60
Cuisine
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Valet Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, View, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Princes Wharf Quay Street | Hilton Auckland Hotel, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly White Restaurant)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-978 2020
Description
Located on the first floor of the Hilton Auckland, FISH brings to life a new partnership between the world renowned Hilton brand and the expertise of the Nourish Group of restaurants headed in the kitchen by Gareth Stewart.Restaurant Head Chef Fraser Shenton and Restaurant Manager Arthur Sylos lead the team of FISH with the knowledge and experience gathered working in international and national top eateries. FISH is about bringing the best New Zealand produce to the table in the best location right on the waterfront.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fish and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fish staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?