We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fox

85-87 Customs Street West | Viaduct Basin, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-358 2767
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good37%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (7 reviews)
“mussels” (11 reviews)
“burger” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Brew Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
85-87 Customs Street West | Viaduct Basin, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

A really awesome bar for watching sports. Cosy sofa groups and good food. The staff is very friendly and helpful, great service. This is the place to go!

Thank Andreas H
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Always such an awesome atmosphere. Wonderful beers on tap, wonderful staff, wonderful service! I am never disappointed when I visit this establishment. The new managers definitely know what they’re doing! Highly recommend to all!! Thanks Fox!

Thank hollyg39
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After much decision making as we walked around the harbor looking at dinner options we chose this nice and quiet restaurant. For some reason people it was not too busy, which is a shame for those that missed coming in, but good for us. I...More

Thank Michael T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at The Hotel Sebel in Auckland in early January 2018. Coming out of the back door, there's a whole row of restaurants there, down both sides. Now, there's several fancier places, and Dr. Rudi's has a bit of a dress code after a...More

Thank jared1per
TheFox_Viaduct, Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review. Hope to see you again soon. Management The Fox

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Visited here with my other half for a bite to eat on a rainy night during our trip to Auckland. Approached the staff as we sat down to ask if we should place an order for food at the bar. Immediately this rude staff member...More

Thank Ferguson W
TheFox_Viaduct, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry for the late response. We are also sorry that you had a bad experience. Please do come back and have a chat with us, we would really like your feedback and also details of the staff so that we can talk to...More

Reviewed 6 February 2018

I had the Fox Breakfast dish and my wife had the French Toast. My wife’s meal was good (and hot) but we noticed it was advertised at one price but we were charged a dollar more. Not really acceptable but after my food I was...More

1  Thank BagmanNZ
TheFox_Viaduct, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I am sorry that you had a bad experience at The Fox. We must admit that we did have some temporary staff during that time of your visit.We would like to make it up to you. You and your wife will be welcome to a...More

Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

This is a nice bar for a drink and to watch some sports but unfortunately the food and the service of it are average. Waited over an hour for our food, which I believe they forgot but omitted to tell us, then when the food...More

Thank Korena2016
Reviewed 2 February 2018

The charred marinated vegetables were tasty, while the best of what we ate, were not outstanding. The peppered squid was a very small portion of squid on a large pile of fries, with a forgettable tarter sauce. The fires were better than the squid.

Thank brwydave02
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Not that easy to find, as it’s on a side road and the address is the main road. Not that great for viewing your sport of choice. 3 very large screens and a few large screens, but the layout and seating are not great (pool...More

Thank Paul S
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We had our office party at this place and the venue was big enough to accommodate all of us. We had requested that each set of the platters (ordered) would be served at one time to ensure that no staff missed out on anything. The...More

TheFox_Viaduct, General Manager at The Fox, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Very happy that you guys enjoyed your time at The Fox. Thanks for the review.

Nearby HotelsSee all 66 hotels in Auckland Central
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1,220 reviews
.01 km away
M Social Auckland
134 reviews
.14 km away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
797 reviews
.21 km away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
626 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Soul Bar and Bistro
1,712 reviews
.02 km away
Monsoon Poon
641 reviews
.06 km away
Oyster & Chop
540 reviews
.05 km away
The Foodstore
312 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
New Zealand Maritime Museum
951 reviews
.21 km away
Coast-to-Coast Walkway
131 reviews
.14 km away
Auckland i-SITE Visitor Information Centre - Princes Wharf
38 reviews
.24 km away
T Galleria by DFS, Auckland
14 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
31 October 2015|
Response from rsti025 | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Yes we show all the different sporta
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$9 - US$36
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Brew Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
9:00 AM - 12:00 AM
9:00 AM - 1:00 AM
9:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 85-87 Customs Street West | Viaduct Basin, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Auckland Central
  • Phone Number: +64 9-358 2767
  • E-mail
At The Fox Sporting bar and Restaurant we provide all things you love in a good bar and sports bar. Friendly people, warm atmosphere, great music, delicious NZ wines, hearty healthy food, cold beer on tap - and all the latest in sports LIVE. Whats more we have our own microbrewery and have Fox Gold, our very own beer! We have beautiful fresh NZ fresh fish daily and many other iconic Kiwi meals. We have a full range of burgers, steaks, salads and lighter meals. Also talk to our staff about getting a meal to takeaway. And to top it off you can enjoy some of the best views of the Harbour that Auckland has to offer right from the comfort of our front courtyard, while we wait on you! Most importantly we're here to have fun and make your visit a great time every time! So when it's good old fashioned hospitality you're looking for, or a sports bar to watch the game with fantastic atmosphere and like minded people that appreciate the same things as you in life... Then make your way to The Fox. Enjoy breakfast, lunch or a craft beer and bask in the sunshine, or savour al fresco dining by night and the great ambience our sports bar offers you on the waterfront. The Fox is crazy about watching, talking and playing Sport, we're all Sports mad! That's what we do and why we ARE the Home of Sport! Any day of the week or any time of the day if you're looking for a pub that's OPEN and showing the game, look no further than The Fox - we've got all the big games on Live and Loud on our 10 big screens. Yes, we're the sports bar that has it all, and right on Auckland's waterfront. 10 Big screens - All the Big Games played Live & Loud! The Fox strives to be your local pub. So come on in and get comfortable! The Fox is in the heart of the city. You can wander in and chat to your favourite bar tender about the latest in sports, meet up with your mates after work for a Fox Gold from our very own microbrewery and a few games of pool or just kick back and watch the match in style and comfort at the friendliest sports bar in Auckland! Pop in for a hearty and healthy pub meal or you can order from the comfort of your room if you are staying at the Sebel!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing