We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Danny Doolans Restaurant

#114 of 1,772 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-358 2554
Website
Today
10:00 - 01:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 10:00 - 01:00
Fri - Sun 10:00 - 03:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Essex
Level Contributor
133 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice Irish pub near the harbour. Lovely pub grub and you can sit outside. We had roast dinner and fish and chips. Very good value as well. We chose from the lunch time menu. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank BadgerEssexboy
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this review

Hey BadgerEssexboy We appreciate you sending us a great review, we are glad that you enjoy our little Irish pub as much as we do, hopefully you will get the chance to pop in again Thank you More 

Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After walking around the waterfront, we stopped here for lunch. The fish and chips and the lamb salad were very good. Friendly service and good prices.

Helpful?
Thank Victoria_BCTravelbug
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this review

Hey Victoria_BCTravelbug Thank you for sending us this feedback, we appreciate customer comments and glad you enjoyed our little Irish pub Thank you More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Nine years after first visiting Doolans, great to see it still going. The menu has not changed much from memory, but good quality food at affordable prices is what is still on offer. Impressive range of drinks covering all tastes.

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this review

Hey Paul P We appreciate you sending us a great review, glad you got the chance to visit & enjoy Dannys again Thank you More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful Irish Pub located right at the harbor. Also right next to stop #9 on the hop on/hop off bus. We shared a plate of bangers and mash that was glorious. We also had traditional Irish Ale (Irish Red) and Whiskey (Red Breast). Not too expensive for a city pub. Staff were super friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank philyfanstukinmi
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this review

Hey philyfanstukinmi We appreciate you leaving us such a great review, glad we were included in your great trip of NZ Thank you More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good place but maybe it is time to replace some of the furniture. Beverages were up to standard though with good choices.

Helpful?
Thank TelNin
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this review

Hey TelNin We appreciate you giving us this feedback, we have used it to push the powers-that-be into giving us a furniture budget to do some upgrades!! Thank you for your help More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great bar. Extensive range of beers, lively scene on a Friday night and very friendly service. Didn't eat much but what we did was good.

Helpful?
Thank GIDAYE
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this review

Hey GIDAYE We appreciate you sending our good review, hopefully you will get the chance to pop in again for a great night Thank you More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

We had an over night in Auckland and to be fair a big thank you from some of the crew that they were one of just a handful of places open late. Others just weren't interested. However next day we came back for lunch and the special offer fish and chips were nicly cooked but the Irish breakfast was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane E
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this review

Hey Jane E, we appreciate you taking the time to send us this feedback As you can imagine we are quite surprised & disappointed that you did not enjoy our full Irish. Our all day breakfast is called a full Irish as it includes all components that would normally be on our plate in Ireland, however most of the ingredients... More 

Canandaigua, United States
Level Contributor
646 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

This review is based on drinks only. We stopped here while wandering the harbor. This is a typical Irish Pub. It has a relatively small outdoor seating area compared to most other harbor restaurants. The service and drinks were fine but there were no umbrellas and the direct sun was hot. Better place nearby for a drink.

Helpful?
Thank William S
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this review

Hey William S, we appreciate you taking the time to send us this feedback This NZ sun can be quite strong so you'll be pleased to know we do have some umbrellas on order Hopefully you will get the chance to pop in again and try our menu Thank you More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2017

Since we were with a large group we got to sample many dishes. Danny Doolan's offers Fish and Chips, Shepherd's Pie, Steaks, Burgers, Lamb, Chicken, Salad and a Roast of the Day. I tried the Roast, mainly because I was craving vegetables. I wasn't disappointed as the meal came with mashed potatoes, peas and carrots and another roasted veggie similar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindi W
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this review

Hey Cindi W Thank you for sending our review, we do love our delicious menu and glad you got to sample a few of the dishes. The roasted vegetable you had on your roast was Kumara, very popular in NZ Thank you More 

Detroit
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2017

Brought here by local friends. We were a group of 8, ages 19-58. Everyone found something good to eat, and all of us heard tunes we loved from the band. Good time had by all.

Helpful?
Thank pauljanh
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this review

Hey pauljanh, we appreciate you taking the time to send us this review We are glad you enjoyed your evening in Danny Doolans, we have Live Music 7nights of the week so hopefully you'll get the chance to pop in again Thank you More 

Travellers who viewed Danny Doolans also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Danny Doolans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 03:00
Monday
10:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 01:00
Thursday
10:00 - 01:00
Friday
10:00 - 03:00
Saturday
10:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-358 2554

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Danny Doolans staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?