We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Danny Doolans Restaurant

) #184 of 1,913 Restaurants in Auckland $$ - $$$ Irish, ,
204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-358 2554
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good44%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

only just come in the door and a very pleasant server came over from the bar checking we were ok asked for a dark beer and she made suitable recommendations, served with a smile and the price was acceptable as well nice atmosphere on a...More

Thank chris c
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Last friday night we were here for our company work do. it was just 30min after We've gone in, my mate got punched in the face twice by the band member. It was because my mate dropped his drink on the floor and this guy...More

Thank 那由多 馬
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hey, we appreciate you taking the time to write us this terrible feedback. Please can you email us your contact details so we can contact you and discuss this situation further - dannydoolans@thebbc.co.nz , Thank You

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was peacefully sipping beer at the bar and listening to the live music. Suddenly their security guy came to me and said that he wants to speak to me outside. I agreed. He told that i was drunk and had to leave. I had...More

Thank tourist11333
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hey, we appreciate you taking the time to write us this terrible feedback. Please can you email us your contact details so we can contact you and discuss this situation further - dannydoolans@thebbc.co.nz , Thank You

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's a good kind of pub! Even for a drink even for meet people and dance. There is live music. I recommend.

Thank Alessander S
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey Alessander S Thank you for writing our good review, hopefully you will get the chance to pop into Dannys again Thank you

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Impromptu dinner tonight. Great service. Quick service. Awesome garlic bread to start followed by roast lamb for me andfishnchups for hubby. A really well priced and yummy meal in great surroundings.

Thank Deb C
dannydoolans, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey Deb C We appreciate you writing our great review, hopefully you get the chance to pop in for dinner again soon Thank you

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a typical wet and windy Auckland late afternoon. Doolans is situated on the waterfront so the wind came straight off the sea. Inside it was another world warm and snug. In the middle was a large fire place with four large arm chairs...More

Thank Robinjyates
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey Robinjyates We appreciate you taking the time to write this review, our blazing fire is very cosy in the Auckland winters, hopefully you will get the chance to pop in again Thank you

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Booked here through bookme. When we arrived our table had some people sitting there. They were asked to move and we sat down. However they just stood next to us looking at us. Very award. Food was very nice though.More

Thank naths1
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey naths1 We appreciate you sending us this feedback. We have never heard of this site 'bookme', so apologies we did not have your booking through it. If that site did have Danny Doolans on it we would be grateful if you could send us...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Nothing was bad about my experience but nothing was great. The girl that served us was lovely. Went with a group of 8 for lunch. Food was good. Ordered Burger, Shanks, Club Sandwich, Wedges. Unfortunately went after a game and they were out of most...More

Thank Melissa B
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey Melissa B We appreciate you sending us this feedback, apologies for running out of cider Hopefully you will get the chance to pop in again for lunch Thank you

Reviewed 22 June 2017

Afew Friends and I came in last week to grab some food and drink, the beer was great, the food was delicious and the bar staff were very friendly. As it was one of my friend’s birthdays we asked the bar tender, Alan about desserts...More

Thank Dan-4876
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hey Dan_Buriakov We appreciate you taking the time to write us this review, we do pride ourselves on our awesome team and will show them your feedback Thank you

Reviewed 16 June 2017

Went to this bar in March, terrible service, dirty toilets and generally average. Location ok but no view at all.More

Thank jts212
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Hey jts212, we appreciate you taking the time to write us this feedback! We are quite disappointed you did not enjoy your experience in our little Irish pub. Unfortunately we do not have the best view of the water but being sandwiched inbetween 2 other...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Soul Bar and Bistro
1,490 reviews
.06 km away
Oyster & Chop
364 reviews
.10 km away
Pride & Joy Ice Cream
111 reviews
.06 km away
White & Wong's
225 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
New Zealand Maritime Museum
876 reviews
.14 km away
Coast-to-Coast Walkway
120 reviews
.08 km away
Auckland i-SITE Visitor Information Centre - Princes Wharf
33 reviews
.16 km away
T Galleria by DFS, Auckland
11 reviews
.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Danny Doolans staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 03:00
Monday
10:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 01:00
Thursday
10:00 - 01:00
Friday
10:00 - 03:00
Saturday
10:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-358 2554
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing