We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Danny Doolans

Is this your business?
$$ - $$$Irish, ,
204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-358 2554
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good43%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went on Friday night, there was an awesome band playing. Had the best customer service by Jaz or Jax...couldn’t hear him very well as it was loud but he made our night! It was so warm and cozy in there, very welcoming. We will def...More

Thank Hellz-bellz-in-gc
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hey Hellz-bellz-in-gc Thank you for taking the time to write our great review, Jax appreciates you mentioning him in person Thank you for your feedback

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

what a sensational place for lunch and a couple of quiet drinks , meals absolutely sensational our waitress was gorgeous a young shortish Irish girl with red hair sorry forgot your name , you have family on the Gold Coast , we had such a...More

Thank Robert D
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hey Robert D We really appreciate you writing our awesome review, we will pass all your feedback on to Danielle Thank you

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came off the supporters boat and stopped here for a few wine/beers before heading to our hotel, both our phones were flat after being on the ocean all day. The staff were amazing and charged our phones for us with no hesitation, in a...More

Thank Vixsta S
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey Vixsta S We really appreciate you taking the time to write our great review Thank you

Reviewed 19 March 2018

My husband and I stopped in to Danny Doolans on several occasions during our 4-day trip in Auckland. We went for lunch, and had the most delicious fish and chips. The service was prompt and the food was excellent. We stopped by again in the...More

Thank Kelly B
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey KellyB We really appreciate you taking the time to write our great review, hopefully you will get the chance to pop in again Thank you

Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent band with a fun atmosphere - but that changed quickly around 10 pm when the young and drunk were allowed in. We witnessed the bouncers arrogance towards certain groups - who were well behaved and trouble free - and their blind eye towards the...More

1  Thank KT C
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey KT C We appreciate you sending us this feedback, as you can understand we are quite disappointed that you had such a terrible visit to our little Irish pub! We will discuss all your feedback with the team Thank you for your help

Reviewed 15 March 2018

We ha a reasonably priced lunch here this week and found it to be pleasant. The bar is rather gloomy at lunchtime and there weren't many people around but service was good and my fish and chips were above average in quality.

Thank Sus1952
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey Sus1952 We appreciate you writing our review and glad you enjoyed your lunch, hopefully you will get the chance to pop in again Thank you

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Place seems to favour the young and drunk, guys with beer spilled down their t-shirts got let in whilst we saw the obnoxious bouncer turn away much more sober patrons. The music was great but we didnt stay long - there’s fun and merry (which...More

1  Thank kiwi_travels_10
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey kiwi_travels_10 We appreciate you sending us this feedback, we will discuss it with the team to ensure no one else has such a disappointing experience in our little Irish pub Thank you for your help

Reviewed 27 February 2018

Did not eat here but it was a great late night scene and a ton of fun! Great DJ one night and better live music on a Saturday night! Outrageously fun!

1  Thank Montgomery H
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey Montgomery H We really appreciate you taking the time to write our great review, hopefully you get the chance to pop in again Thank you

Reviewed 18 February 2018

A bar and restaurant that is centrally located in viaduct harbour area. During the day is a pretty relaxed place but Friday and Saturday night's it moves up a gear. There is usually live music and then after midnight it turns into a giant loud...More

Thank Robert C
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey Robert C We appreciate you taking the time to write our good review Thank you

Reviewed 16 February 2018

We went here for a early meal when visiting Auckland this week as I remembered going there years ago and how great the food was. Well we weren't disappointed! The food was fabulous! I had a yummy roast and my partner had nachos. Great value...More

Thank KiwiTraveller710
DannyDoolansNZ, Manager at Danny Doolans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey KiwiTraveller710 We really appreciate you writing us this awesome review, hopefully you will get the chance to pop in again Thank you

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 66 hotels in Auckland Central
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1,228 reviews
.09 km away
M Social Auckland
172 reviews
.10 km away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
632 reviews
.27 km away
Grand Chancellor Auckland Hotel
810 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Pride & Joy Ice Cream
114 reviews
.06 km away
Soul Bar and Bistro
1,752 reviews
.06 km away
White & Wong's
373 reviews
.05 km away
Dr Rudi's Rooftop Brewing Co.
209 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
New Zealand Maritime Museum
968 reviews
.12 km away
Ferry Building
345 reviews
.30 km away
Coast-to-Coast Walkway
133 reviews
.08 km away
Auckland i-SITE Visitor Information Centre - Princes Wharf
38 reviews
.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Danny Doolans staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Pub, New Zealand
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Monday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 3:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 204 Quay Street | Viaduct Harbour, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Auckland Central
  • Phone Number: +64 9-358 2554
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;