We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Contemporary NZ fusion cuisine, inspired by the cuisines of Japan, Korea and China. Relaxed all day dining on Auckland's Viaduct Harbour. Open every day from 12pm.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Asian, Fusion
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (311)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
260
25
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
260
25
5
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews potstickers prawn toast soft shell crab lamb shoulder sashimi pot stickers crispy fries katsu wagyu doughnuts chilli asian fusion bar watching incredible food small dishes fun atmosphere taste sensation
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were disappointed. We only had one opportunity to dine in Auckland and I picked this. The atmosphere is very loud due to the music playing. Hard to carryon a conversation and/or hear the server. Based on the reviews we were expecting really fabulous food....I will say the potstickers were outstanding and presented well. The soft shell crab had no flavor. The Korean BBQ Chicken was okay. The pork noodles although a lot of them lacked flavor. We were told we had to place our entire order upfront to allow for preparation. Okay. However only one of the 4 dishes came out a little warmer. The rest were basically room temp or less. Me bad that I didn't catch the We will bring out sparkling water. Should have caught on when it was served in a bottle. I was not pleased to learn at check out that the water cost $14. The person who checked us out didn't feel at all bad about the confusion. At $136 I felt we received no real value. Very disappointed. There were a lot of people eating lunch there. I guess I missed what is so great about this place.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food here is a bit different so we didn't know what to expect but both dishes were delicious with great flavours. Service could not be faulted ant the young waitress from the Wirral was a delight.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2024

Wow did we love the food and vibe at this restaurant. The restaurant had open awnings to the outside so there was a delightful breeze. We ordered so much food and loved everything. Highlights were the heirloom tomatoes, the sashimi selection (super fresh and tasty),...the mushroom dumplings, and the best item- the twisted donut dessert. I would definitely recommend.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2024

THE best food we found during our 5 days in Auckland. All dishes were extraordinary. Great location too. I want to try more dishes…

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Fabulous food, fabulous ambience and fabulous staff. The flavours exploded in our mouths. Omg you have to try the grilled nectarine dessert 😋simply delicious

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

Went twice on consecutive days. First night as a walk-in. Second as a booking to have the set menu. Outstanding food, service and value

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

It is a great Asian fusion experience - but more sophisticated than most of the restaurants of this style. You need to try as many dishes as you can, so go with a group so you can share. Very friendly and competent service and despite...being full, their service was competent and very friendly. Open 7 days as well. You definitely need to book!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2024

A fantastic experience!! I hosted a group of European clients for dinner - the food, the service, the ambience - everything was perfect. The staff were super helpful with recommendations and we arrived late so they assisted us to order before the kitchen closed. The...food was delicious - so good that we re-ordered a couple of dishes. Highly recommended and I would repeat tomorrow if I could.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

Excellent place to eat and food is superb. Asked for diary free fish of the day which was snapper and happily the chef catered for this . Lovely staff and really great lunch . Ask for table in shade.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2024

What a lovely special spot to have a shared snack and drinks or a full meal with dessert. I saw several couples there and thought it'd be a great date spot also. We had to wait for our table but that was no issue. We...sat at a nearby restaurant and enjoyed a cocktail. When we got the text that our table was ready we were ready to order, having looked at the menu online. My mom ordered the Burrata and the kokonuttsu drink while I had the crispy fried cauliflower and corn ribs. And we shared of course! Every bite was delicious with the burrata being the star and the cauliflower coming in a close second. The vibe was relaxed and we never felt rushed to leave. My mom asked for a special drink and the waiter was happy to ask on her behalf - she loves coffee with kahlua and cream. We both got everything we wanted from the experience. If we lived nearby we'd probably be there for every special meal.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2024

Fantastic food- very eclectic. Great customer service . Loved every thing we had- fish dish and Lamb. Great wine selection

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Rogan, Owner at Hello Beasty, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Thank you for your review and feedback ! We’re glad you enjoyed the wine selection too, we try to find lots to pique the interest. Take care !

Reviewed 10 February 2024

Unfortunately I believed all the 5 star reviews saying how great the food was here, we ordered the scallop dumplings 6 per serve for $26 they are similar to the ones you would buy in the supermarket, 2 brisket bao buns the size of my...thumb, with a little bit of brisket and a little slice of carrot inside a little bit of cucumber or something would of made a big difference all for $18, a chicken katsu sando for $18 pretty much the size of two old-school club sandwiches lol and some really dry fried chicken probably the worst I have tasted no nice sauce to wash it down with pretty average food but I guess being in the viaduct they have to charge a lot but I have no problem paying for good quality food this just wasn't what I got......sadly.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Rogan, Owner at Hello Beasty, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Kia ora Tiamiree ! Thank you for your review and feedback. Of course we wish you had enjoyed it all more — but the old adage is so true isn't it? Don't believe the hype ! We hope you had a lovely time in the...More

Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

A delicious meal and delightful service. We had the edamame, pork dumplings & lamb shoulder curry with rice. Fabulous! In particular the lamb was so tender, it literally fell apart as I used chopsticks to eat it. My beloved had a local IPA, which he...also loved. We had no trouble getting a reservation on Saturday afternoon. The place was hopping even though it was a bit late for lunch. The vibe was casual. Service was attentive without being annoying.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2024 via mobile

One of the best meals we’ve had in New Zealand lovely staff wonderful atmosphere food was excellent Always seemed to be booked so we took a chance and walked in on the off chance at 17.30 On both occasions they obliged wonderful hospitality

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Rogan, Owner at Hello Beasty, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

Thank you so much, and thank you for stopping by and taking a chance with us. We’re glad you enjoyed — go well on your travels !

Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

What an absolute joy! This place is fantastic and we were blown away by the food. The amount of flavor in the different dishes was amazing and we couldn’t stop eating. We can’t wait to go back, that’s for sure!

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma Rogan, Owner at Hello Beasty, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2024

David YOU are an absolute joy !! Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We hope to see you again !

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1,592 reviews
.06 km away
Ohtel Auckland
88 reviews
.09 km away
M Social Auckland
962 reviews
.19 km away
The Chancellor on Hobson
1,148 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Giraffe Restaurant
937 reviews
.06 km away
Soul Bar and Bistro
2,351 reviews
.07 km away
Oyster & Chop
1,396 reviews
.03 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
New Zealand Maritime Museum
1,226 reviews
.23 km away
Coast-to-Coast Walkway
163 reviews
.15 km away
Tamaki Makaurau Auckland isite
35 reviews
.25 km away
Siri Thai Spa and Beauty
12 reviews
.02 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hello Beasty staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HELLO BEASTY, Auckland Central - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Hello Beasty

Yes, Hello Beasty is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Hello Beasty is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5