We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$4 - $32
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (213)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
138
49
7
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
138
49
7
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie ice cream car park road trip stopped for lunch great coffee petting zoo amazing place break camping cafe toys journey buses families
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Will never go back again. I had extremely bad experience there with us two families. Our 7 years old wanted to eat fast food and we wanted to sit a good cafe and eat what they had to offer. So we decided to buy two...children with fast food their choice. We went to Flat Hill cafe to eat. We sat down and were planning to order and this lady came up to us to say that if we were going to order? We said yes and were deciding. Then she goes about how we were just using their tables to eat but not order food. We said that we weren't doing it as we normally come here for their coffee and pies but kids wanted to eat outside food. (kids being kids and they don't want anything other than what they had decided to eat). The way that lady spoke to us & treated us we felt unwelcome there so we decided to leave. We went another cafe down the road where they understood the situation and laughed at how difficult kids can be. Lost customer for good. Terrible service, Terrible Management.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2024

Brilliant spot to take a good break and even stay the night. Some very charming pods with just enough space for a double bed.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2023 via mobile

Haven’t stopped in here for years, it is bloody amazing! What a great half way stop between Wellington and Taupo. The facilities are so clean; the food was top notch and there is so many things for families/kids to do while you take a break....Playground, bouncy castle (yes!), indoor play, bikes, tractors and swings and playhouse. Coffee was great and the staff were so friendly. We will definitely be making this a regular.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Henry Brown, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2023

That is soooo good to hear! Thank you... glad you enjoyed it 😊

Reviewed 28 September 2023 via mobile

Good place to stop for food. Plenty to choose from the menu or cabinet. I had the creamy mushrooms and they were delicious. Large roomy restaurant with good parking. Staff were friendly and the food arrived to our table quickly

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Henry Brown, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2023

Thanks for visiting us- great to hear you enjoyed your experience 😀

Reviewed 1 August 2023

We arrived later that we had planned and buzzed the intercom and were met by a friendly member of the staff. We were given the relevant information and door codes for bathrooms etc and we had our pick of the campervan sites. We ended up...having our dinner in the kitchen which is incredibly well stocked for cooking up a storm. Everything you need is provided...just bring your own food. Breakfast the next morning was AMAZING!!. I had the creamy mushrooms and they were simply delicious. Staff were very attentive and friendly. I have driven past this place many times. It was usually a marker point for me. 1 hour to Palmerston North if heading south, nearly at Taihape if headed North. Glad I made the stop this time. Its a great place to unwind and relax. We will def be back some day. :)More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Henry Brown, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2023

Thanks so much for coming in...so pleased you enjoyed Flat Hills! 🙂

Reviewed 6 January 2023 via mobile

Stopped here for brunch - good parking. Good range on menu and after placing our order we found a nice table outside. Service was very quick and efficient and the food and coffee very good. Staff friendly and polite. Would absolutely recommend this cafe.

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2023

Thank you- great to hear you enjoyed your visit 😀

Reviewed 15 December 2022 via mobile

I love this place and we stop here whenever we go holidaying this way and I’ve never been disappointed - place is huge, great stuff for kids to do while you’re waiting for food and has a great vibe! My eggs Benedict was excellent and...teenagers were all well happy with their burgers and shakes. We were a group of 11 and food came out quickly and all together - another smashing experience!!More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2023

Ahhhh... thank you- so lovely to hear 🙂

Reviewed 6 July 2022

Very welcoming owner . Amazing homemade delights. Great coffee .warm and comfortable surroundings clean restrooms. An absolute must stop

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

Thank you Leonie- glad you enjoyed your visit 😊

Reviewed 6 July 2022 via mobile

Amazing place for lunch coffee. Carrot cake exemplary. Service first clas A must do between Wellington and taupo very welcoming

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

Thank you- great to hear 😁

Reviewed 8 May 2022

We(Family of 4) visited this place for a weekend and I would say it was an amazing experience for us. Staffs were super friendly. We will def visit this place again and I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Oh, I forgot to mention...about the food it was amazing.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

So pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us 😊

Reviewed 24 February 2022

Stopped for lunch on our way north with our 1 year old, so glad we did! Well set up for kids and families with plenty of clean high chairs as well as toys for entertainment. The petting zoo was so cute, and a nice way...to break up the journey. Steak and cheese pie was delicious, service friendly and lots of car parking. Looking forward to stopping in next time :-)More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

Thank you Casey- so pleased you enjoyed your visit 😀

Reviewed 31 January 2022 via mobile

Absolutely excellent place to stop with kids. We took advantage of the camping and stayed the night. Kids loved it so did Mum enough things to keep the kids entertained for our stay. Food was good and fairly priced they have a evening food option...if you are staying the night which was awesome last night of our holiday so took advantage of no cooking. Breakfast was really good love that the kids meals come with a piece of fruit. It didn’t take long to come out either. Loved the animals there and the donkey made me smile.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2022

Great to hear- thanks Steph 😊

Reviewed 5 January 2022

Over the years we have regularly stopped for bathrooms, stretches and human refuelling. On Tuesday 4th we got in before the kitchen closed. We weren’t unhappy about the 2 buses in the car park because we figured that would mean a longer wait and fresher...food. It was uncomfortable with very little air movement through the building but they do supply water and glasses opposite the food cupboards. The food came out fast, really fast. My steak sandwich (fave cafe food) was made up with a fresh salad leaf and tomato and the sourdough was pretty good but that was where the goodness ended. The steak was very poor quality and I gave up chewing on the second piece. The lamb sandwich was 3 slices of deli meat, a trace of marg wiped through the centre of the bread and a couple of teaspoons of mint jelly. The meat dishes were ? accompanied by a limp coleslaw and both lots of bread needed toasting. The worst dish was the loaded curly fries. They were limp (either reheated in the microwave or just left out too long) with congealed cheese on top. Inedible. The staff were pleasant, the bathrooms clean but the food really let them down.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

I am sorry to hear you left disappointed- as you will know from all your previous visits this experience is definately not the norm and I wish you had said something at the time because then we could have fixed it rather than you go...More

Reviewed 3 January 2022 via mobile

Such a beautiful spot and great stop with a young one! They were very busy but we were served in good time with lovely service. Very clean and welcoming. Food was really nice and not overly expensive. Nice and easy location from either north or...south.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Ahhh- thank you so much for coming in. So pleased you enjoyed your visit 😊

Reviewed 9 October 2021 via mobile

We went for the kids and were not disappointed. There was so much for them to do, it was well worth the drive! Safe were friendly and all greeted us on arrival. The food being good was just a bonus to an amazing venue. The...park is really well maintained and felt really clean and safe. Can’t wait to go back.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda B, Owner at Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2021

Ahhh- thank you Holly! Just what we aim for- love keeping those kiddies entertained!! So pleased you all enjoyed Flat Hills 😀

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Taihape Motel
143 reviews
18.23 km away
Aspen Court Taihape
720 reviews
18.87 km away
Coachman Motel
78 reviews
19.04 km away
Marton Motel
73 reviews
41.56 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Duke's Roadhouse
59 reviews
4.72 km away
Apiti Tavern & Eatery
37 reviews
18.22 km away
Le Cafe Telephonique
505 reviews
18.54 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Whitecliffs Boulders
29 reviews
1.94 km away
RAFT∙KAYAK∙CAMP∙CAFE
57 reviews
6.13 km away
Alba Knives
6 reviews
18.99 km away
Cross Hills Gardens
10 reviews
20.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
NorthStar37657337333
3 August 2023|
Answer
Response from RodandJac | Reviewed this property |
Who was this to?
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

FLAT HILLS CAFE AND TOURIST PARK, Ohingaiti - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park

Yes, Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park offers takeaway services.

Flat Hills Cafe and Tourist Park is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5