We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Khan

31 Northcote Road | Hillcrest, Auckland, Northcote, Auckland 0627, New Zealand
+64 9-480 2999
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good30%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible25%
Travellers talk about
“soup” (2 reviews)
“used plates” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Fusion, Barbecue, Asian, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
31 Northcote Road | Hillcrest, Auckland, Northcote, Auckland 0627, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2018

This used to be a family favourite when it was Gengys and we haven't been for a while. While the decor has been spruced up the food has definately gone downhill and we will never be going again. The variety in both meat and vegetables...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Louise S
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Food was Yummy and even tho there was a large groop booking there we had our food within minutes. Great night and will certainly be back.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank alanimal32
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Formerly Gengy's, now The Khan. Redecorated and a fresh look about the whole place. Service quick and pleasant. variety very good - soup, entree, main, dessert. All good quality, well presented. I would recommend this place especially to families.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank 637grahamu
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Visited in November 2017 with 3 others. Name changed and new decor and otherwise spruced up. This is a Mongolian BBQ. Everything about it was an improvement from previous occupants. Help yourself to a large number of options - with soup, entree, main, dessert all...More

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank 637grahamu
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Went as a family - 4 adults and one child. Were greeted at door and shown to a table - had the system explained. We all chose our meats and veg and sauces and took to the grill. The cooks were polite and friendly and...More

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Grant N
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We make a booking on 2nd September 2017 for 13 pax and was told it was a buffet with no time limit.When we arrived in the evening on the same day,we were told to have only one hour of meal time given. We felt CHEATED...More

Date of visit: September 2017
3  Thank kokyek_68
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The removal of used plates was nearly non existent, no water refills, long waiting times, lack of selection, lack of side items (fries etc kept running out). Generally I was not impressed and not an ideal place if you want to eat together and have...More

Date of visit: August 2017
3  Thank banditNewZealand
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

we used to enjoy coming here but not anymore. We paid nearly $30 each for food that was cold- spring rolls, chips everything was cold and there was hardly anything left extremely disappointing I would warn against going here. The cooked food was ok but...More

Date of visit: June 2017
3  Thank Laurrie17
Jonathan-TheKhan, Manager at The Khan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Hi Laurrie, I sincerely apologize for the experience you had at our restaurant. it's not so often we get such criticism about our food. Our hot food stall had malfunctioned earlier that day, and needed some to get it fixed. We tried our best to...More

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Went for a birthday dinner with my family. Notice the interior decorations have changed, very nice. Food was excellent too. Like the new menu where you can have either Steamboat or grill. One bad thing was the mushroom soup was cold. Overall: nice foods and...More

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank yukjln
Jonathan-TheKhan, Manager at The Khan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you had a good experience. Unfortunately we were having some electrical issues on that day and our stalls weren't working to their optimum potential. The soup stand is a tricky one with the temperature fluctuating every now...More

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Family and friends dine out, celebrating Father's Day. Been here so many times before, but this is our first visit under new management and new name, The Khan. New addition noticeable is the steam boat at no extra charge, a little change in layout going...More

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank 776almas
Jonathan-TheKhan, Manager at The Khan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

We are glad to hear our steamboat section grabbed the attention of your pallet. It has always been our goal to provide our customers with the best dining experience. If there are any particular flavors of ice cream that you would prefer please feel free...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Poenamo Hotel
139 reviews
.06 km away
Ocean Inn Motel
44 reviews
.69 km away
Takapuna Motor Lodge
135 reviews
1.03 km away
Takapuna International Motor Lodge
24 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bushmans Grill
167 reviews
.04 km away
The Glasshouse Cafe
15 reviews
.26 km away
Gold Star Bakery
6 reviews
.37 km away
Divino Pizzeria
17 reviews
1.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Smiths Bush Reserve
10 reviews
.69 km away
Takapuna Markets
85 reviews
1.59 km away
Auckland Food Tours
14 reviews
.84 km away
Wild Footprints Day Tours
8 reviews
1.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Khan staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$27 - US$34
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 31 Northcote Road | Hillcrest, Auckland, Northcote, Auckland 0627, New Zealand (Formerly Gengy's)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  North Shore  >  Northcote
  • Phone Number: +64 9-480 2999
  • E-mail
Description
The Khan is an Asian-fusion buffet restaurant highlighting the essence of Korean cuisine with a twist. It brings together Asian cooking styles that blends with the kiwi culture. The Mongolian style grill sits in the heart of the restaurant with new additions like steamboat. Our meats and seafood range varies beyond other buffets and that's what makes us stand apart. Give your pallets a taste of our freshly cooked food, created by yourself and we guarantee you'll be coming around for seconds.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing