Kumara General Store & Cafe

Kumara General Store & Cafe

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+64 3-736 9717+ Add website
Hours
Sun
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Mon
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tue
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wed
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thu
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Fri
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Sat
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
2.0
2.0 of 5 bubbles

There aren't enough food, service, value or atmosphere ratings for Kumara General Store & Cafe yet. Be one of the first to write a review!
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
CUISINES
Cafe, European, Diner, New Zealand
Is this a place where you pay before receiving your order?
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
2.0
2.0 of 5 bubbles2 reviews
Excellent
0
Very good
0
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
1
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Scarlett
Groningen1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 couples
DO NOT GO HERE, I WILL WARN EVERYONE NOW!!! I bought 3 doughnuts (truly wonderful) and large cappuccino. On our way back to our friend with emergency petrol, the bottom fell out of the paper cup and it went all over me. I was pretty soaked. We had to go back that way anyway so I said we should stop and ask for a new one. When we got there the guy told me he didn’t believe me, in spite of me bringing the faulty cup. He also said it was too long ago (took 30 minutes each way plus time to give our friend petrol so was about an hour). I told him the reason for the time delay and that it also went all over me and he sighed and said he’d make a new one. So apart from being soaked by hot coffee i now also felt insulted. Oh yeah and he gave me a hot chocolate not a coffee. EDIT: Having read that the other bad reviews are not taken always well, I would like to say that I did find the service wonderful the first time round so please take this as constructive criticism. The food and coffee was also incredibly good. It’s just when someone comes with a complaint they should be believed and apologised to immediately before your start questioning them. EDIT TO OWNERS CRITICAL RESPONSE: What a small man you must be, I was being friendly when I came in because we had such a good first interaction. I cannot believe you think I would break a cup just to ask for a new one. I quite happily would pay for another coffee because they were very good. It was very hot and may have been a faulty paper cup, that happens. Not everyone that has criticism of your customer service is trying to destroy your business. If you can't take it then remove it off google maps so you don't have to read negative reviews, because you clearly cannot take them.
Written 10 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Tuckley
Hi Scarlett, What a liar you are! how sad and pathetic you are and I have reported your false allegation to google and NZ POLICE trying to defame us is a crime, you demanded a replacement when clearly you broke the cup! I am sorry but you did not tell the truth about the cup failing they are certified to NZ standards and T.U.V. Austria standards for hot beverages so do not fail as you suggest, we can see you pushed it from the inside with your fingers and you we're smiling profusely as caught on CCTV when you told us of this, we are not stupid, and for you to give us a defamatory review is pretty rude as we actually replaced the Chocolate even though you committed fraud and we could of called NZ Police. Shame on you your behavior in conning innocent small businesses is disgusting you got a FREE beverage if you wanted 2 drinks to go with your 3 x doughnuts you should of paid for the second one and not ripped us off!!, we question how many times you have committed this heinous act on other unsuspecting businesses. We see your pattern of bad reviews that you have given in the past, I feel sorry for the businesses you have defamed as probably they have been conned as you did with us, today you committed a crime namely fraud against us.
Written 12 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mumma&Co
Timaru6212 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 couples
Pretty much pies or home made donuts to choose from (or usual dairy shelf food). Enjoyed our refreshment stop whilst biking but nothing to rave about.
Written 9 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-2 of 2
Best nearby
We rank these hotels, restaurants, and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

KUMARA GENERAL STORE & CAFE - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos