We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$4 - $27
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (94)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
49
32
2
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
49
32
2
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

I was recommended by a friend about this place and it didn't disappoint me at all ! The ladies that served us were welcoming and friendly but most of all , loved there chicken salad , the best i have ever had !.. 100% highly...recommend A A A A A + + + + + plusMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2024

Brilliant food and atmosphere. Friendly staff..... We stayed as freedom camper the night. Nice and quiet. Than had breakfast before continuing our journey

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2023 via mobile

Free wifi and great coffee. Ladies loo could do with a mirror but it was warm and friendly. Good for a pit stop on the wilderness trail

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2023 via mobile

On entering we said hello twice to the female customer service representative, to no response. We selected 2 wrapped sandwiches from the front of the cold counter and the female said it was not self service and didn't want people mauling the food about. I...said I was sorry, but as the door to the counter faced customers, it wasn't obvious. No signge. She then said it was still not allowed as their wMore

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2023

called in on our journey for a coffee and a bite to eat, delicious food , friendly staff. coffee lovely.

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2022

stopped in to give this place another go after being v v disappointed on my last visit. Shouldn't have bothered....the croissant hubby bought was stale and the staff were more interested in chatting with a friend that had come in rather than service....the coffee was...good but overall not worth the stopMore

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2022 via mobile

As a local it’s great to have a nice place to go for good quality food and coffee. There’s a great menu with lots of choices, the prices are very reasonable (compared with a lot of small towns these days in NZ), and the food...was well cooked, nicely presented and good sized portions. Whilst we were there one of the staff had to deal with some of the rudest customers we have ever encountered, who were treating the staff like medieval servants. Awful behaviour. The staff member handled the situation very well; such shame people think it’s ok to be so rude. We’ll be back for sure - and will recommend to others!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 May 2021

Called in to grab a coffee and something to eat to go. My eyes were immediately drawn to the freshly baked muffins on the counter. Oh my gosh - did not disappoint, they were delicious, fresh, fluffy and absolutely delicious! Hubby said his coffee was...great too - one of the best he'd had in a while. Staff were lovely too - lady behind the country and gentleman making the coffee. A breath of fresh air. We'll be back for lunch sometime to check out the other offerings.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2021 via mobile

Should have gone to the next place. Called in our our way through back to Canterbury, needed a bite for lunch. Options were limited, not their fault as it was after lunch on a busy weekend. That being the case, what we did get was...poor. Both the pie and the quiche were below average, the quiche being heated in a microwave before us, still cold on the inside, warm in other parts. Pie had been in the warmer all day, and the coffee was terrible.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2021 via mobile

Food and coffee were great I noticed they were understaffed and struggling to get to everyone so the boss should hire more staff. Also just a heads up there was hair in two of our meals but the staff were busy so I couldnt mention...it and I seen the chef only had her hair tied up and no hair net or chef hat.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

Just popped in for a coffee at lunch time, it wasn’t busy we waited 20 mins for 3 coffee’s. The barista didn’t know which coffee’s was which “I think this is your triple shot and this is your flat white”, they were incorrect. She was...also running the coffee’s to the table slowing down the process. We then found out the first coffee was another patrons order when we received a 4th coffee. The other patron who ordered first was not amused. Wasn’t worth the wait the coffee’s were all watery and not great. The food looked good and the tables and chairs where comfy while we waitedMore

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

Under new management since Saturday 2/01/2021 Great new menu and fabulous coffee. Best coffee since arriving in South Island four weeks ago. Well worth a stop. You’ll love the clean, bright surroundings and friendly staff.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2020

Came here early December for business and stopped in giving it a second chance as it appeared to have changed hands, l was pleased I did was great amazing service food was great cafe had a super busy vibe and there was lots to look...at. Was excited to come back on my return! Well came in on Monday at 7.30...... closed??? Then on my next passing it was open. I’m not sure if it has changed hands again but totally different experience than last time food looked average (I just got a takeaway coffee) place was dead, cafe looked dirty and the service pretty lack lustre appeared the lady serving wanted to be elsewhere. What a shameMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
803leahg, General Manager at Honey Cafe & Honey Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2020

Thanks for your review, sorry you were displeased. Yes, something has happened.. Covid-19... We have had to reduce staff and opening hours to justify opening, especially as winter months bring less customers anyway, not taking in the effects of Covid 19. Our main focus at...More

Reviewed 4 June 2020

We were impressed by how the staff presented their best effort even when things weren't ideal - the eftpos was down. They had a big sign outside explaining and saying 'cash only' and and even more welcoming smile inside. The coffee and the cheesy scones...were perfect. We understand that being a long way from anywhere, and on a holiday weekend, they don't have the resources of the big cities. However they had a cheery welcome and we will stop there again.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2020

Huge, open, comfortable place with amazing food and a live bee show with free honey tasting. Great place to stop and refuel after days of hiking. Eggs benny served on a potato gratin which was an amazing touch and hollandaise not too rich - excellent!!...Friendly staff and lovely sense of community with honey selling and great natural sandfly repellent! Thanks guys!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Awatuna Homestead
99 reviews
7.63 km away
Paroa Hotel
245 reviews
8.73 km away
Charles Court Motel
156 reviews
10.64 km away
Greymouth KIWI Holiday Park & Motels
154 reviews
10.93 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Buccleugh's on High
658 reviews
15.02 km away
Sevenpenny
157 reviews
16.57 km away
Robert Harris Cafe
213 reviews
16.56 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Shantytown Heritage Park
692 reviews
7.05 km away
West Coast Wilderness Trail
244 reviews
16.23 km away
Woods Creek Track
78 reviews
18.04 km away
Greymouth Breakwater
78 reviews
16.81 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Honey Cafe & Honey Center staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HONEY CAFE & HONEY CENTER, Kumara - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Honey Cafe & Honey Center

Yes, Honey Cafe & Honey Center offers takeaway services.

Yes, Honey Cafe & Honey Center is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Honey Cafe & Honey Center is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5