We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

About
Our quirky seaside restaurant is open for business from September 10th! Our hours are currently 11am - 4pm - however we will be extending our hours over summer. Please check our website and Facebook for updates on our opening hours, We hope to see you then, The Craypot Team
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $85
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch
CUISINES
Seafood, New Zealand
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Table Service
Reviews (312)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
175
69
25
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
175
69
25
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews catfish fish and chips salad local seafood chowder jacksons bay blue cod unique setting beautiful scenery scenic drive south island place to eat new zealand sit outside down the road franz josef repellent
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had heard about The Craypot in Jackson’s Bay and it didn’t disappoint. The blue cod and chips were amazing. We missed out on the Crayfish as March the Crayfish is not available, bugger! The scenery is spectacular with amazing food! Well worth the drive!

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

1st class service ,A must do on your bucket list.We had Seafood Chowder omg so filling and delicious.Right next to the wharf

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024 via mobile

Took the scenic drive up here after a jet boat river safari. The fish and chips did not disappoint. We went for the blue cod. Batter was crispy, the fish tender and mild. Hubby had his fish grilled due to gluten sensitivity, and enjoyed it....The chips were crispy outside and fluffy inside. Everything was served piping hot. Friendly service and small number of seats inside. When the beach side table across from us opened up, the waitress offered to let us move to the better table. Totally unexpected but very kind of her.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2024

Arrived after a 30 minute drive on a very wet and windy day. Was told rather brusquely to 'wait outside (in the rain..) for a space'. Fortunately a table became available 10 mins later. Clearly the location is the major saving factor here but the...inside seating and decor was tired and in need of a major tidy up. There was one remaining 'fish of the day' at 12.15hrs described as "I think its white with an orange top" so we went for the blue cod. It wasn't explained that the salad was not included and was an extra 10 dollars each . Major gripe was the complete lack of any attention from the staff. After serving the meal they completely ignored us - no interest in how we were getting on, if the food was OK or if we would like anything more. One assumes the lack of any competition in Jackson Bay may underlie the awful service here but why bother running a restaurant if you can't be bothered to offer customers at least a basic level of courtesy and service? Having waited overlong just to ask for our bill we had to get up to find someone and then - on trying to pay - had to wait 20 minutes for the payment system to work. Surprise surprise - No apology was offered for this delay or the inconvenience....More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2024 via mobile

Late lunch. Had already sold out of crayfish, with just fish & chips & whitebait fritters left. Ate inside as outside had hungry seagulls, sandflies & angry bees. Overpriced, but a stunning location.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024

Ended a bike ride at this picturesque spot! Probably the best fish and chips that I've ever had. The setting on the bay makes for the perfect lunch spot! It's worth the trip and the scenery is beautiful!

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

I don’t eat fish so there was not much for me at The Craypot. But having driven all the way to Jackson Bay, I wanted to try out this unique eatery - the only one there. It was a very pleasant experience. First, the staff...confirmed they fry vegetarian items such as fries separately from the fish items. This was most unexpected and pleasing to hear. We had a small portion of fries. They were hot and nice, and the best portion one can get for $5! The service was even better. We were not dining in and were having our own lunch on a bench at the DOC shelter across the road. “We will bring it over for you”, they said. The restaurant was absolutely full and there was a 30 minute wait. To offer to bring over the food when they were so busy was so unexpected but delightful. Full marks to the team at The Craypot. Well done and best wishes.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024

Beautiful location next to a functional fishing wharf. Delicious and filling fresh food, catch of the day fish & chips being the cheapest option that filled our stomachs full! Coffee was good quality, too. Staff clearly love what they do and are a supportive &...fun team with each other.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2023

While the fish and chips is really fresh and really good, you have to have the crayfish salad...so delicious. And they didn't name the restaurant 'fish and chips' did they?

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2023

I travelled 48 kilometres with about 15 others in vans to get and eat here on the assurance it was open. It was closed so you cannot trust it’s website.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicole Buchanan, Owner at The Craypot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Hi Fletcher I am very sorry, we had a bad electrical storm which blew the power down our end of town, I had the sign in town changed to closed and updated our social media, we can’t do anything ehen this happens, we don’t even...More

Reviewed 11 November 2023

Absolutely stunning, great staff, great food, great weather to sit by the sea. We enjoyed the fish and chips and an ice cold beer. Was 200% worth the drive down to Jackson’s bay!

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2023 via mobile

Excellent food, super friendly staff and a nice view. Fish and Chips are fresh made. You can sit inside or outside (depending on weather).

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2023 via mobile

After paying restaurant prices for a crayfish salad and whitebait fritter salad, we expected a lot more. Particularly since the venue provides nothing more than park bench seating under an umbrella barely protecting customers from the rain. They don’t allow seating inside the shack, the...only toilets are DOC facilities nearby, and of course it is teaming with sand flies. If the meals had been worth the discomfort I would have still given a good review, but the whitebait fritter barely contained any fish and the amount of crayfish in the salad was mean. We both left feeling hungry after spending $97 (which included two beers). The location on the beach at Jackson Bay is beautiful, but this business is living on its former reputation. Unfortunately, they have got greedy. Overpriced and disappointing.More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nicole Buchanan, Owner at The Craypot, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2023

Hi there. As for seating we were closed for one day due to maintenance. And as for your meal sorry you’re left disappointed, as you can see in our current reviews people usually love both those meals. If you look back a few years since...More

Reviewed 28 February 2023

Excellent food, served in a beautiful location, three hours drive from the nearest town of any size. OK, its not cheap but I don't know how the owners deliver this quality at the prices they do in such a location. We combined a visit with...a trip on the Haast River Safari for a truly memorable day.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2023

What a venue and the view - such a special place in Jackson Bay, with a fascinating history, plus The Cray Pot for a delicious fish & chips lunch! Whatever the weather, the team there are super friendly & accommodating - with the food matching...the genuine nature of the West Coast. Highly recommended, as many of the reviews here say - you won't be disappointed with the scenic drive there, and the rewarding food on destination!More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Heritage Park Lodge
81 reviews
35.85 km away
Aspiring Court Motel
155 reviews
35.97 km away
Heartland Hotel Haast
459 reviews
36.71 km away
Wilderness Lodge Lake Moeraki
351 reviews
59.75 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hard Antler Bar & Restaurant
526 reviews
35.94 km away
Crepe&snow
21 reviews
35.87 km away
Curly Tree Whitebait
87 reviews
45.45 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Waiatoto River Safari
252 reviews
19.74 km away
Wilkin River Jets
155 reviews
58.35 km away
Monro Beach
45 reviews
59.80 km away
Haast Visitor Centre
117 reviews
36.84 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kilgs
7 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from thecraypot2016 | Property representative |
Yes I can do gluten free. There is always a grilled fish option offered on the menu. I try to have one vat for chips only but I do not guarantee this. I cook with top grade riceola or canola oil.. My salads are outstanding... More
2
Votes
Heather D
8 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from lyn C | Reviewed this property |
Head for Haast then drive south for 50 minutes arriving at Jackson Bay. The drive is mainly coastal and we stopped off at the sea for a while. Haast is a little township did not see an information centre but the locals are... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE CRAYPOT, Haast - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Craypot

Yes, The Craypot offers takeaway services.

The Craypot is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4

<