We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
The Glass House is the spectacular home of Brick Bay Wines and gateway to the Brick Bay Sculpture Trail. Cantilevered over a shimmering lake, The Glass House Kitchen offers relaxed all-day dining showcasing the freshest seasonal produce. Our passionate chefs create contemporary New Zealand cuisine, inspired by our farm produce, our orchards, gardens and other locally sourced ingredients. The tempting menu encompasses brunch, lunch, platters and small bites, while locally roasted coffee and irresistible sweets make the perfect morning or afternoon tea. From the magnificent transparency of The Glass House or our tranquil outdoor dining spaces, you can view the vineyard at close-hand, witnessing
PRICE RANGE
US$9 - US$24
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
European, New Zealand
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Playgrounds, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
359
142
26
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
359
142
26
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch lamb burger salad bread sculpture trail wine tasting pinot gris lily pond great setting kids menu great wine water lilies lovely food glasshouse restaurant new zealand sculptures platter
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

We called in her for a cold drink before starting the Sculpture trail. After the trail we called in again for a light lunch. Lovely space to sit in with the fabulous views. Food was beautiful. Well worth the visit for sure.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Brick Bay, Marketing at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks so much for the great review - we really appreciate it!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped in for lunch having been around the Brick Bay Sculpture trail. The trail is amazing and the food at the Glass House was great.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Brick Bay, Marketing at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks so much 😊

Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

We were so happy we booked a brunch here for 8 on Easter Sunday. The setting was beautiful and the food was flavoursome, interesting and delicious. Many thanks x

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Brick Bay, Marketing at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a great review - we really appreciate it! 🙏

Reviewed 8 February 2021

we went for a 90 th birthday treat and wished we hadn't despit booking they were not expecting us and had to wait' food was very poor

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Brick Bay, Marketing at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2021

Thanks for your feedback, we'd like to find out more about your visit so that we can make improvements. Please can you email us with more information and contact information to glasshouse@brickbay.co.nz Many thanks

Reviewed 7 January 2021

Staff were friendly and helpful . The waterlilies on the pond out in flower what a view .Our third visit here this time we got one of the best tables I was very happy with the food and also the fact they never made us...feel we had to hurry I did notice the ones that had not booked were able to have a place to sit overlooking the awesome view in the hopes that one of the booked tables would finish and they could be fitted in . We had a lovely time in a beautiful setting to enjoy the food and chat .More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Brick Bay, Marketing at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

So glad you enjoyed your third visit to Brick Bay! Thanks so much for the great review.

Reviewed 6 January 2021

The Glasshouse is an amazing venue, set in a beautiful area. We ordered a platter because we could only get a booking at 4pm. The platter was arranged very attractively and had a variety of different foods.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?2  
Brick Bay, Marketing at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Thanks for the great review!

Reviewed 28 October 2020

What a stunning location! We came for afteroon tea - five ladies - we had one of their platters - it was sumptious and delicious with lots of different bits to choose from. Great wine, great location, good food and good service - highly recommend....There is also a trail you can do (costs a few dollars) and see a variety of sculptures (about 2 hour walk). They also do wine tasting here.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
BrickBay, Marketing at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thanks for the great review - so glad you loved your experience!

Reviewed 9 October 2020

fully booked and we could only eat on the worn couches in the waiting area. We had made a reservation weeks prior. We were hesitant but since driving all the way we accepted. For 15-20mins no other parties turned up. An elderly white couple eventually...arrived stating they had no booking however were immediately seated. After complaining, the host returned saying they had a "cancelation" and could move us to a table at the furtherest side of the restaurant. We were at the restaurant for an hour. NO TABLES FILLED UP. Despite level 2 guidelines, stating a table should have only 1 server......we had 5! Interesting. It was my first experience thinking I had been racially profiled considering lighter skinned races were offered a table over my family. No bookings needed for them (but in these times it is not a surprise). Those who do manage to get a table are pushed to the very outskirts of the restaurants, again, with many empty tables in between being "fully booked". I would definitely not recommend this restaurant. After reading previous comments this seems standard practice at Brick Bay Wines. Always "busy" with reservations of 250+ people "turning up". This is not the case. This restaurant is empty with tables given to those who only they deem appropriate to "dine in". Those who aren't are cast outside to eat in their feeding troughs. We had such a lovely trip to Matakana, ruined by the repugnant experience offered at Brick Bay Wines.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
BrickBay, General Manager at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2020

If this is an authentic review of a genuine visit to Brick Bay, then we apologize that your experience was not a positive one. We would like to make some clarifications: 1) All of our reservations are seated at tables in the restaurant or in...More

Reviewed 25 September 2020 via mobile

The food was amazing and the view over the pond and vineyard was very peaceful. The young waitress however needed further training on how to look after customers. We ordered a lovely platter to share but had to ask for plates. We were sitting having...a chat before deciding on deserts and the young waitress was clearing our table, dropped a dirty knife against me and grabbed the part empty bottle of sparkling water - which she placed back on the table when challenged.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
BrickBay, Marketing at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2020

Thanks for your review and feedback, we will pass this onto our team whose training is ongoing.

Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

Divine food,gorgeous surroundings and we enjoyed one of their own Pino Gris, it was lovely! Nice staff served delicious food, beef cheek were perfect! Salmon was delicious and cauliflower dish, just right! Compliments to the chefs, it was a Monday and very busy, but we...were lucky enough to get two couches, very relaxing late lunch, highly recommend :)More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
BrickBay, Marketing at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Thanks so much for the great review - come back again!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Snells Beach Motel
188 reviews
1.50 km away
Warkworth Lodge
150 reviews
5.65 km away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
109 reviews
5.75 km away
Matakana Motel
189 reviews
6.04 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Chairs Cafe
69 reviews
1.42 km away
The Salty Dog Pub
107 reviews
1.26 km away
Skillet & Fillet Takeaways
14 reviews
1.51 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Brick Bay Sculpture Trail
367 reviews
.01 km away
Of Hand & Heart
159 reviews
5.35 km away
Ascension Wine Estate Matakana Auckland
65 reviews
5.37 km away
Matakana Estate
7 reviews
4.79 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen

  • Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 4.5