We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen Restaurant

Arabella Lane, Snells Beach 0982, New Zealand
+64 9-425 4690
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good32%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (93 reviews)
“rosé” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Arabella Lane, Snells Beach 0982, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch on a gorgeous blue skies winter day. Glasshouse restaurant sitting on top of a Lilly pond was the perfect spot for great eats and good company. Staff friendly, efficient and charming . Will definitely be back since didn't have a chance...More

Thank lodger69
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here for a birthday celebration lunch. The food was fantastic, the location spectacular and the service couldn't be faulted. The short ribs were so good we got them twice! We will definitely come again.

Thank Lisa A
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We're glad you loved your Brick Bay experience (and the short ribs!) and we hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our first visit even though we spend a lot of time in the area, had heard lots of good reviews and we weren't disappointed. Food was stunning.

Thank JSNMitchell
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your Brick Bay experience!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely location, building and setting. We have been before and enjoyed our visit, however we found the level of service from the staff quite poor on this occasion. We had to ask for water to fill the glasses on our tables. We had to ask...More

Thank tbebe
BrickBay, General Manager at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your brother's birthday at Brick Bay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the food so much. Unfortunately turning up with more people than were booked for on your reservation can present a challenge to a fully booked restaurant...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited based on a desire to get out of town, so booked online and arrived to a bustling lunchtime. Food was interesting and very well considered with lots of interesting flavours prepared as much as possible from on-site garden... lamb was a treat too!...More

Thank Mark S
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your great review - we hope we see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a platter for 3 of us (girls) and the day turned it on for us we sat in the gorgeous glasshouse restaurant overlooking the mirror pond with the sun streaming in and served by the very lovely Maggie - the platter was divine and...More

Thank AnnaF59
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your great review - we hope you visit again soon!

Reviewed 14 June 2017 via mobile

Wonderful setting and the food was delicious. I had the squid and it melted in the mouth. The wine list and menu were great and the setting overlooking the lake was very tranquil.

Thank 48Heather
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your lovely review - we're so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Limited menu, not too pricey. Nice ambient especially for kids. We could only book a table in the morning for brunch and it was too cold even in the glass house. I would only go back in summer.

Thank Sanway1505
BrickBay, Marketing & Commications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback, we're sorry that it wasn't warm in the Glasshouse when you visited. With the long spell of warm Autumn weather, we hadn't get turned on our heating - but we have now and the Glasshouse is toasty and warm :)

Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Only 45 minutes from Auckland. Went 5 years ago and the food standards have not dropped 1 bit. The hour sculpture walk is a great thing to do, track is a little slippery in the wet but if you go prepared well worth it. We...More

Thank Tim E
BrickBay, Marketing & Communications at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your return visit!

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Re-visited Brick Bay after 9 years with overseas visitors. Had an enjoyable lunch, good service, well-presented and tasty food. Wine list could be enhanced with details of varieties being served,

Thank Tykedownunder
BrickBay, Marketing & Sales at Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Thanks for your review - we're so glad you enjoyed your Brick Bay experience :)

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Plume Restaurant
417 reviews
3.76 km away
Charlie's Gelato Garden
145 reviews
4.00 km away
Wharf Street Bistro
61 reviews
5.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brick Bay Sculpture Trail
212 reviews
.02 km away
Matakana Beach Outfitters
98 reviews
5.96 km away
Saltwater Eco
44 reviews
5.85 km away
The Local Food Kitchen
40 reviews
5.91 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$22
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Arabella Lane, Snells Beach 0982, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Snells Beach
  • Phone Number: +64 9-425 4690
Description
Discover a new world as you gaze down on The Glass House, hovering like a coloured jewel beside the vineyard, cantilevered over the waterlily-fringed lake. This unique building is open daily year round, where you can choose to taste our range of wines, enjoy a glass as you relax on our generous decks or simply purchase bottles to take home. We're excited to offer you our fresh new menu, showcasing local produce and seasonal ingredients. Do come and experience dishes that we love and flavours we are passionate about. Download the Menu> This is truly a building for all seasons as you watch the birdlife on the lake on a summer's afternoon, or feel the fury of winter as the rain lashes the lake and sends the overflow beneath you in a veritable waterfall. Metres away are the vines, with the building's transparency letting you possibly observe the pruning process, leaf-plucking, fruit thinning, and if the time is right, the harvest itself!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing