We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stanley Jefferson

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Location and contact

About
The Stanley Jefferson Wetherspoon Pub - Named after Stanley Jefferson aka the famous Stan Laurel who lived in the area. Friendly pub, real ales and great food served from 8am to 11pm. Our food menu has a wide range from pub classics, curries, pasta, fish dishes, and a wide vegetarian range. All our food has a 5 star food hygiene rating, and just ask at the bar for an allergen and nutrients guide. There's a beer garden at the rear with seating at the front too during the summer. There's free short stay parking at the front, and a long stay car park at the back of the pub. We have gold award toilets on the upper floor and easy access toilet on the ground floor, with wheelchair access throughout
PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$14
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
49
53
46
24
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
49
53
46
24
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak salad wetherspoons pub stan laurel market place great choice of beers disabled toilet lovely pub added bonus pleasant atmosphere excellent meal ales castle facilities deals eatery grub
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well I ordered the triple chicken feast, although when it arrived there were only 2 of the 3 types of chicken. I began to panic as I thought my chicken had done a runner. The waitress was happy to bring me my other bit of...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank KeylBlood
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Upon entering this pub I found it to have a calming and pleasant atmosphere. I was greeted by a lovely mannered young man (Adam), whom took my order and thanked me. Table was clean and area spotless, received our vegetarian hot breakfasts by a lovely...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank 740dp
Reviewed 22 November 2018 via mobile

Poed in here because it was getting dark and cold , best one ive been in ,more like a trad pub than most .meals were good value , beer was excellent, half the price of the pubs round it , new gin bar was great...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank John_WF2130UB
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Met up with a large group of friends for a surprise birthday party. Great atmosphere and good welcome from staff. Throughout the evening the staff really made the effort to talk and show good customer care. The food was basic Wetherspoons pub grub but was...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Paul P
stan j, Manager at The Stanley Jefferson, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Glad you had great time Paul. :-)

Reviewed 4 September 2018

We ate here early on a Friday evening prior to visiting Kynren. The place was very busy, and when I ordered the food I was told there would be at least a 45 minute wait. Fair enough - better to be up front about it....More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Bagabargain
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We went for lunch with a friend . We had burgers which we really enjoyed . Our friend had a jacket potato with cheese and salad . She thoroughly enjoyed it

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 15,021,949
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

As regulars to the Stanley Jefferson I’ve got to say that’s tonight’s visit as a bit of a disaster I had suggested to my wife to give it a miss this Friday as the local show “kynryn” was showing this evening which usually meant it...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank stevemusgrove81
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Called on here for a bit food and a few drinks and we were pleasantly surprised. Food was okay and the place was nice and clean. Service could of been a touch better but for a weatherspoons it was good.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 597bertiew
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Pre theatre meals, pleasant evening although a bit on the loud side, order food at the bar. Food was delivered to our table, piping hot and as described in the Menu. Toilets although upstairs were clean and well maintained.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Roger B
Reviewed 19 May 2018

The last time I dined in the StanleybJefferson, I was less than impressed. The tables were still piled with the remains left by previous diners, and there seemed to be no interest in making room for new arrivals! I had not ventured in since, but...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Alan M
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
eric h
5 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alan M | Reviewed this property |
The standard of food does vary from one JDW house to another, but I often eat in Bishop Auckland and Spennymoor and find the standard very acceptable. I complained a few years ago about untidy tables, but this issue has been... More
0
Votes
Maureen M
16 March 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SG1509 | Property representative |
Hi Maureen, Please could you confirm the date and time of your visit on this occasion? I would like to apologise that you didn’t receive the order that you wished for. We do stop serving breakfasts after 12pm however we do... More
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing