We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Italian, Pizza
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
739 results
Traveller rating
372
171
95
51
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
372
171
95
51
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza garlic bread pasta dishes pudding sovereign harbour italian food family meal large portions lovely meal gigi
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Delicious food, wonderful staff & incredible atmosphere! Also, don’t miss their music nights they are a riot, best fun I’ve ever had in a restaurant! It’s the only place to eat on the harbour, pasta & pizza are the best! You’re made so welcome &...nothing’s too much trouble. I never tire of going there & the view over the water is brilliant! Also, if you sit outside you get the last of the day’s sun making the most of your day! It’s definitely the best place to eat on the harbour!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Marc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dearest discover Thanks so much for your kind words and we truli value your support! Im so glad u enjoi how we do hospitaliti from service to our food! Its not for everyone as we dont tri and please everyone its impossible! But we offer...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not the best around, Pablo's is far better. The menu here is very limited, only one choice of Lager and very expensive at that. They use frozen chips and peas and poor quality chicken. The male staff are very poorly dressed and scruffy but they...are polite. No wonder Pablo's was fully booked and Simply Italian wasn't. Won't go again.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?2  
Marc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dearest hampo Everyone is entitled to their opinion. Im goin to ask you one question did u sai anitin to my family team at all? No i doubt it veri much!! This was your intention from the beginnin not to enjoi yr visit with us!...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not somewhere i would go again. Edible but not that nice. Chips not quite cooked Pizza overloaded and just needed a couple more mins to melt the mozzarella Service ok Wine and beer nicely cold Good decorMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Marc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dearest karen Im Sorri yr visit to us was dissapointing. Im truli sorri. I use a great pizza flour same recipi i have done for 20 years. Great fior di latte mozzarella and great divella plum tomatoes. So we make our dough fresh with at...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have eaten there many times in the past. It was always ok. But since it has been remodelled it is not the same. Overcrowded, food poor, and it was incredibly noisy in the evening. Screaming babies. Not an experience to be repeated. How disappointing!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Marc, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear emikes Im truly sorry to read your review following your recent review but have noticed thst after you have been to us many times saying it was ok but you never bothered to write a review! This bein ur first review!! Look im not...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Following a long walk from Eastbourne to the Waterfront Eastbourne Marina, we decided to stop for a Coffee and Cake at the Simply Italian. As frequent holiday visitors to the area it was our first visit to this restaurant and chose it as the café...next door was very busy. We also liked the displayed enticing advert of a coffee and strudel/Danish for £3.95. However when we asked for this offer, we were told by the waitress that the strudel had sold out and offered us a croissant instead. We asked what else there was instead. She offered us a vanilla Cheesecake as an alternative. I asked if this would be at the same price. She told us that it was. The coffee and a small slice of cheesecake were good and we talked about returning again. However when we came to pay, the same waitress told us that the charge was £11, saying that the cheesecake costs more. I then reminded her that she had told me previously that the price would be the same as the advertised offer. I told her that I was sorry if there had been a misunderstanding. She then took my money without comment, and charged us the advertised rate. This was sadly a disappointing experience, and we can only hope that it was a misunderstanding and not a case of deception.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Marc V, Owner at Simply Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

A dissapointing human Dearest david we have 2 offers coffee and danish for 3.95 (we had run out ) we offered u croissant u didnt want that we suggested cake and coffee offer ( very clear a board saying 5.50) ive asked my team and...More

Reviewed 24 September 2021

I had not been here for a few years but was disappointed with the food and service. We came here with friends from Brighton as we hadn't seen them in a while. My Cannelloni(!) was simply two small pancakes wrapped around some cream cheese with...some tepid sauce, salad was extra so as a main course this was very expensive for so little food! The 'home made' tiramisu (my favourite dessert) was tasteless and the coffee was cold. The service was not good (they were busy) but no-one came and asked if we wanted more drinks. This was very expensive for so little service and food. Will not return.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 12 September 2021

Lovely setting on the harbour to have lunch. Unfortunately the service is poor, the young blonde Italian waitress let the side down today. She was miserable, no happy greeting and no customer service skills. Food was nice, will try again and hopefully we will have...a better experienceMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 4 September 2021 via mobile

Such a lovely place to sit, overlooking the boats. We came here 2 years ago, when last in Eastbourne. So impressed we had to return. My seabass was fantastic, full of flavour. It was lovely to be served by a young lady with an Italian...accent. A def visit when next in Sovereign Harbour, EastbourneMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 30 August 2021

Been going to this restaurant for years. Lately, the quality of the food has deteriorated - particularly the Pizza and Pasta dishes. Have been unable to visit in the last couple of weeks as a sign on the door simply states that they are closed...- no explanation or date of re-opening. Very strange!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 11 August 2021

Went on a Saturday night - the place was full and the service and food was exceptional- will definitely go again

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Eastbourne hotel
773 reviews
2.34 km away
Langham Hotel
1,557 reviews
3.05 km away
OYO The Strand Hotel
987 reviews
3.13 km away
Majestic Hotel Eastbourne
769 reviews
3.18 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Thai Marina
688 reviews
.02 km away
Pablo's Restaurant
761 reviews
.01 km away
Di Lieto's Coffee Lounge
244 reviews
.01 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bay view Golf Course
9 reviews
1.11 km away
Sovereign Harbour Marina
1,446 reviews
.56 km away
Mile High Paragliding
7 reviews
.14 km away
Sovereign Centre
85 reviews
1.60 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
amylX6966NW
7 July 2021|
Answer
Response from Simplymarc | Property representative |
Eastbourne yes Rie not currentli Thank you for yr interest and question
0
Votes
Freedom01353809968
13 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Simplymarc | Property representative |
We can cater for vegans on an individual basis! We are trying out a vegan cheese and our food and ingredients do lend themselves to creating many dishes for you! So please call the restaraunt on 01323 470911 to discuss yr... More
0
Votes
impiejan
29 August 2016|
Answer
Response from FrankSpeak | Reviewed this property |
Yes I think so sorry about late answer
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Simply Italian

Yes, Simply Italian offers takeaway services.

Simply Italian is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4