We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nostra Restaurant

Laugavegi 59 | 2nd Floor, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 519 3535
Website
All photos (234)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good7%
  • Average3%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Closed today
Hours
CUISINES
European, Scandinavian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Laugavegi 59 | 2nd Floor, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Nostra Restaurant
1. Amazing service and great food
"Dining here was a highlight of our time in Reykjavik!"
Alissa F
See reviews that mention Superb Dining
2. Excellent food and impeccable
"All the courses were outstanding, both in taste and presentation."
Einarsim
See reviews that mention Excellent food and impeccable
3. Unforgettable experience!
"cannot recommend the wine pairing enough - it's the best one I've had"
Árni Þór Á
See reviews that mention Unforgettable experience!
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 252 reviews

Reviewed today

Starting from a very nice cocktails, over deliciously fixed menu, We choose 6 courses and the wine pairing and it was a perfect meal. Well trained staff and the service was great. We enjoyed the evening. Thank you Nostra

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Inga S
Kierstyn E, Guest Relations Manager at Nostra Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hello Inga S, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the Nostra experience as well as cocktails from Artson. We hope to have you back in the future.

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Our group full of dietary restrictions had an excellent relaxing dinner experience and went on a recommendation from an Icelandic friend as the new "spot" for fine dining in Reykjavik. The place was full of trendy locals. Many herbs are grown on site and we...More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Justin Y
Kierstyn E, Guest Relations Manager at Nostra Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Hello Justin Y, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are happy we were able to accommodate for your entire group! We hope to see you again!

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Best taste of Iceland there is right in the center of Reykjavík👌 The Cod was really good and the service was too.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank svanhildur_2018
Kierstyn E, Guest Relations Manager at Nostra Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hello Svanhildur_2018 Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and service. We hope to have you back in the future.

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Everything was delicious, if you are in Iceland don’t miss it. The lamb is out of this world and the coctails are so good.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Elisabethall
Kierstyn E, Guest Relations Manager at Nostra Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hello Elisabethall, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the lamb and cocktails. We hope to have you back in the future!

Reviewed 3 days ago

We were booked at Nostra for our New Years eve dinner, every aspect of our meal was disappointing, from the appetizers to the main course, taste less, foul smelling and truly inedible, had to send back my salmon entree twice, each time it cam back...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ALDC403
Kierstyn E, Guest Relations Manager at Nostra Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello ALDC403 I am sorry to hear about your experience at Nostra. We had a special event menu during New Years Eve, and we are sad to hear that your expectation was not met. We would appreciate the opportunity to invite you back, please contact...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the New Year’s Eve tasting menu and wine pairing. It was probably the worst meal we’ve had in 8 years. We sat at the table without so much as a person passing by for 45 minutes after we were seated. No menu, despite...More

Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank rose1979
Kierstyn E, Guest Relations Manager at Nostra Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear rose1979 Thank you for taking time to write this review. I‘m saddened that your experience with us was not up to your expectations. We have reviewed the footage from our security system to confirm the times you provided in your review as well as...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There can’t be any person that has eaten at Nostra twice. I suspect it survives solely off tourists and gives a cut to the hotels. Its claim to some sort of gastronomic experience seems to come from the multiple small expensive courses. They are is...More

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank 35byronr
Kierstyn E, Guest Relations Manager at Nostra Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear 35byronr I‘m sorry for hearing about your experience at Nostra. We appreciate you taking time to write us feedback and respect your opinion, we will take them into consideration. We are happy that your wife enjoyed our take on the Moscow Mule, it is...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ordered the 8 meal course option. One out of the eight dishes was excellent (cod), rest were at best medium and lacking the "extra". Three of the eight dishes were made out of cheap ingredients that were not lifted by the cooking (potatoes, chicken...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank BRANKBTH
Kierstyn E, Guest Relations Manager at Nostra Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Brankbth, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the Nostra experience. We do our best to eliminate waste product and use an ingredient to its full potential. We hope you will give us another chance in the future. If you would...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I got vegetarian menu, and the food portions were very small, not much to eat. So after 4 course menu, I felt little pit hungry. Decor is quite club-like and staff is quite friendly. Desert was very good!

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank 42sarahralph
Kierstyn E, Guest Relations Manager at Nostra Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello 42sarahralph, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do our best to serve adequate portions with each set menu, I am sorry that did not translate in your experience. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the dessert!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I just had the best experience in an Icelandic restaurant ever, believe me I've tried them all. Icelandic materials mixed with wonderful wines. The waiter was even better than all the wonderful courses we had.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank orvardadim
Kierstyn E, Guest Relations Manager at Nostra Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello orvardadim, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am happy you enjoyed the overall experience of Nostra. We hope to serve you again!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 57 hotels in Reykjavik
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
1,498 reviews
.09 km away
Sandhotel
194 reviews
.15 km away
41 - A Townhouse Hotel
236 reviews
.17 km away
Fosshotel Baron
2,019 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Old Iceland Restaurant
2,156 reviews
.13 km away
Svarta Kaffid
2,842 reviews
.02 km away
Reykjavik Chips
967 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Laugavegur
2,389 reviews
.21 km away
Art Gallery 101
9 reviews
.11 km away
Arctic Photo
7 reviews
.06 km away
Artson Cocktail Bar
5 reviews
.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ireallywanttogothere
25 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Hordur5193535 | Property representative |
Yes we do cater to for allergies and we do appreciate if you can notify us in advance so that we can be well prepared for your arrival. Kind regards, Hörður E.
0
Votes
AMA I
8 August 2018|
Answer
Response from Debbie_and_family | Reviewed this property |
Not really. It’s a single open space. But with 16 people you’d probably be the biggest group in the room
0
Votes
Myca S
22 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Hordur5193535 | Property representative |
Yes we welcome all, whether they come alone or with company :)
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$120
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Laugavegi 59 | 2nd Floor, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
  • Location: Europe  >  Iceland  >  Capital Region  >  Reykjavik
  • Phone Number: +354 519 3535
  • E-mail
Description
*BEST NEWCOMER RESTAURANT 2018 - The Reykjavik Grapevine *BEST MAIN COURSE 2018 - Food & Fun Nostra is an Icelandic fine dining restaurant with an emphasis on Icelandic seasonal tasting menus. We provide our guests with a unique culinary experience, where fresh local produce and ingredients are prepared and served with care and passion. We offer full vegetarian and vegan menus. Latest dinner reservations at 21:30 During the Holidays 2018, we are closed from December 23rd and open again on December 26th, also we are closed January 1st 2019.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing