We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sushi Waka

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: This restaurant is only available for takeaway or delivery at this time.
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
About
Sushiwaka serves authentic Japanese cuisine in a casual environment with Japanese inspired drinks menu serving Sake, Cocktails and world renowned Japanese whiskeys. Our picture perfect food is always served fresh to order and will give you the taste of Tokyo.
PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$34
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Fusion, Healthy, Hokkaido cuisine
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Table Service, Television, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
59
38
18
16
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
59
38
18
16
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sashimi ramen salmon donburi rice prawns japanese lunch grand theatre the food is great texture mouth
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very rude people and very slow service. I was really annoyed. The environment is quite shabby. The food is ok but I would not come back

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 July 2021

The restaurant looks a little scruffy from the outside, but this is well made up for by the delicious food! It's pretty cheap for the amount and quality of the food. The inside doesn't look as nice as some other sushi restaurants in Leeds, but...I imagine that's one of the ways that costs are kept down.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 June 2021

Just ordered a delivery from this restaurant, due to arrive 9.15pm and hadn't arrived by 9.30. Called the restaurant, and spoke to a lady who said the driver had just been sent out. I explained that wasn't good enough as it was supposed to have...been with me by now and was then put on to a gentleman with a very poor attitude. Apparently traffic had caused the delay due to the England game! Not sure how when people will have been watching it! Things like this do happen, but was appalled at the lack of sincerity and the fact the guy couldn't care less if he lost a customer, which he has. Save your money and don't bother with here as they really are not bothered about their customers!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 May 2021

The worst serve I have ever experienced. after ordering from them- my door bell went and within 30 secs I was at the door. the driver had already gone! after calling the restaurant the employee was rude, disrespectful and sarcastic as he told me they...called 10 times and waited 15 mins for me. it hadn't even been 15 mins since he was supposedly at my door that I made the call!!! he then went on to tell me that he was keeping my money and my food! DO NOT ORDER FROM HERE!!!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 May 2021 via mobile

AMAZING veggie ramen!!! The best I’ve ever had!! Took a while to arrive but was well worth the rate. I even text my sister about it who is also a huge ramen fan - she ordered the same day and was v impressed

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

I had a horrible experience with this restaurant. The taste of sushi was amazing but in the middle of the night i found myself running for the bathroom and... I’ll leave the rest to your imagination.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 20 April 2021

Really enjoy the food from here, Hot, Tastes good and really big portions! I have ordered from here a few times now and the quality has always been great.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 9 January 2021

After waiting an hour for food, I tried to call the restaurant to chase my order and couldn't get through. My apartment buzzer went off, however when I went to the main gate (30 seconds later), no one was there. When I rang the restaurant...I was told they have tried to ring me multiple times (I had no miss calls) and the driver was outside for 15 minutes and left (absolute lie). The man on the phone was not at all interested and took no blame. So rude and if you actually want some food...DO NOT ORDER FROM HERE!More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Connor, General Manager at Sushi Waka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2021

Thank you for your feedback. However we think this review is actually very unfair firstly the reason being that you didn’t put your full address down (one of the reasons he couldn’t ring your buzzer as you just put your postcode down - please email...More

Reviewed 9 January 2021

We ordered food and waited an hour before we heard the flat buzzer. Went downstairs, no one was there. We called the restaurant, where a rude man told us that the delivery driver had been waiting 15 minutes for us and had called us multiple...times. This is a lie - we were constantly checking our phones and no one had called. The man on the phone was incredibly dismissive and offered no apology. After reading other reviews, I realise this is a common unacceptable problem which regularly occurs. Utterly disappointed - will never be ordering from here again.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Connor, Other at Sushi Waka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2021

Thank you for your feedback. However we think this review is actually very unfair firstly the reason being that you didn’t put your full address down (one of the reasons he couldn’t ring your buzzer as you just put your postcode down - please email...More

Reviewed 6 January 2021

Ordered a sushi platter via Deliveroo. The image used to advertise the sushi platter was incorrect, didn't come with as many items as advertised. The image used portrayed the platter as including several more expensive pieces of sushi, but was instead filled to the brim...with Salmon Avacado Rolls. Surprise surprise they had replaced the more premium items with cheaper ones. Rang the restaurant who defended this by stating that since the items in the platter were listed below the picture, it was perfectly okay to lie. The person also said "A lot of places do this". Glad to know it's okay to misrepresent your product to customers as long as lots of places do it! I can't even begin to imagine the mental gymnastics it takes to respond to "I don't think it's cool to misrepresent your product" by saying "I think you're just being petty" to a customer. The person at the restaurant was not only not helpful, but was incredibly rude, obnoxious and hung up on me. I'd be surprised but judging by their reviews on Google this isn't out character. Refused to offer a partial refund or deliver the missing items, so I went to Deliveroo and got a complete refund. Funny how a little customer service would have cost them a few pounds, if that, but instead they now take a complete loss on the order. Karma.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
Connor, General Manager at Sushi Waka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2021

Thank you for your feedback Daniel and for raising our concerns regarding this matter. In regards to all images on Deliveroo we do state that these are for just illustration only and below each item we list what it is included for example in the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Leeds Central Vicar Lane Hotel
141 reviews
.12 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds City Centre
2,667 reviews
.35 km away
Hampton by Hilton Leeds City Centre
132 reviews
.39 km away
Leeds Marriott Hotel
2,610 reviews
.46 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ox Club
387 reviews
.09 km away
Just Grand! Vintage Tearoom
928 reviews
.10 km away
Manahatta
604 reviews
.10 km away
San Co co
183 reviews
.05 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
City Varieties Music Hall
383 reviews
.11 km away
Leeds Grand Theatre
1,026 reviews
.05 km away
St John's Church
26 reviews
.07 km away
North Bar
23 reviews
.01 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Cudukeythefoodey
2 February 2017|
Answer
Response from FoodiemonkeyUK | Reviewed this property |
Yes but ensure you emphasise coeliac not just gf. Else just soy sauce replaced, as you order keep asking if C friendly.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sushi Waka

Yes, Sushi Waka offers takeaway services.

Yes, Sushi Waka offers delivery services.

Sushi Waka is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4