We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beehive Thorner

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Reserve a table
2
Sun, 26/09
20:00
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

#50 of 217 Bar in Leeds
#213 of 1,194 Restaurants in Leeds
Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$34
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
62
6
4
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
62
6
4
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews truffle chips sardines tempura parfait chocolate cake beef halibut sunday roast salad cooked to perfection fine dining food was served quickly presented beautifully amazing cocktails wonderful evening great lunch lunch menu
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Spur of the moment decision in the morning to go out for dinner. Most places booked up but had a choice of times at the Beehive. Back to being a pub that does food. Plenty of locals enjoying a few drinks as well as diners....Menu was short but good choice. Will need to rotate to keep people coming back. Shared the beef croquettes and mushroom risotto to start both excellent. Mains were fish and chips which were really fresh and a vegetarian potato truffle dish which was outstanding even for a non veggie. Drinks reasonable, good wine list and Landlord on draught. Decor probably due a refresh in places but it's the food we were after which was very competent restaurant standard. Service was excellent.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed yesterday

We came over to the beehive for dinner, we had a lovely welcome from the staff. The food was absolutely delicious. I’m vegan and all my needs were met perfectly, the chef even gave us a complimentary starter. I cannot fault the beehive in anyway....I would 10/10 recommend to anyone. I will most definitely be coming back!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Rebecca, General Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again! Thanks, Becca & The Beehive Team 🐝

Reviewed 6 days ago

The Sunday Lunch at the Beehive is so good, that we have been twice in the past three weeks, and the quality is consistently high. The beef is unbelievably tender and flavoursome, the yorkshire puddings are perfect and it has to be a ten out...of ten for the cauliflower cheese and beautiful roast potatoes. To top it all, the dessert of blackberries, milk tuile and homemade yoghurt is the perfect light and delicious end to an excellent meal.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Rebecca, General Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us here at the The Beehive and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks, Becca & The Beehive Team 🐝

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food, unbelievable flavour combinations that could not of worked better and I will be back !! Hats of to the chef also tjat espresso martini was to die for ...

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Rebecca, General Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we're so glad to hear you enjoyed your evening here at The Beehive! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks, Becca & The Beehive Team 🐝

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the 2nd time we have been for Sunday lunch. The meal was the same very good. Overcharged on 2 glasses of Malbec - charged 24 pounds - menu quotes 6.10. a glass - when questioned they gave a more expensive Malbec. Not happy...will not go back.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Rebecca, General Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear that you were not happy with your visit on this occasion. If you wouldn't mind, please could you send us an email to info@beehivethorner.co.uk with the details of your visit so that we can discuss this...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well we arrived early and were ushered to our table with three other couples already seated and this never increased! We were given a raft of excuses about no steak, people on holiday etc etc. We asked for the unconventional menu to be explained -...someone else had to be called - oh dear. The food itself was enjoyed by only one of our party - plaice as fish & chips, no not a success at all and still lying heavy after 12 hrs and two quick visits to the loo. My sweet - a dairy product, seemed to be okay initially but then the pieces of ice in it became evident - oh dear again. As I write my wife is downstairs sleeping, trying to catch up on a disturbed night, her meal also lying heavy. Not everything chosen was criticised but another in the party's summery was "I don't think I will be rushing back here again" Well, what to make of it all and recommend? - I am afraid not. In short by now this restaurant should have an established following of foodies to add to its atmosphere and appeal but they just weren't there. Food is a matter of choice and appeal combined with an enjoyable ambiance but to me if some radical business decisions are not made quickly, once again this restaurant will be closed - it must already be hemorrhaging now.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Rebecca, General Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Please could you send us an email to info@beehivethorner.co.uk with the details of your visit so that we can discuss this further as we would love the opportunity to change your mind and welcome you back. Thanks, The Beehive Team...More

Reviewed 17 August 2021

Came for Sunday dinner food was quality and waitresses couldn’t do enough for us!special mention to the chef who was called Brett

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Rebecca, General Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks, Becca & The Beehive Team 🐝

Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

What a GEM. I would definitely say get booked-in before it gets too busy to do so! Alex (the new chef) has introduced the most incredible menu and although the ‘sharing-plate’ concept is seen in a lot of places we’ve often found it doesn’t quite...work…. Not so the case here and we both loved sharing the same tastes at the same time! Myself and my husband chose 4 of the main ‘sharing’ plates with a side of chips and this was absolutely more than enough for two hungry foodies (we did sneak in a desert to share too!). The stand-out plate was the Wild Pea Rosini, closely followed by the Beef Shin Croquettes - mouthwatering! I would say my only slight criticism is it wasn’t quite busy enough…. So get booked-in and let’s change that so we can all enjoy this fabulous food for many years to come!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Rebecca, General Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Thank you for your lovely review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Beehive, our wild pea risoni and beef shin croquettes are definitely popular choices so I'm happy to hear you were impressed! Thank you again...More

Reviewed 25 July 2021

Absolutely brilliant to have such top quality food on our doorstep. Having previously being disappointed, I can say that now being under new management with a new chef we were anything but. With the current small plates menu we ordered most of the dishes between...us and don’t have a bad word to say - the sea bass was a stand out dish and hoping it makes it onto the new menu! This place is brilliant for an occasion or if you’re wanting to treat yourself - I would be rushing to book tables now before word gets out and it becomes somewhere that is solidly booked up (deservedly so)! We will undoubtedly be returning to try out the new menu, and it is certainly our new go to restaurant!More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Rebecca, General Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Hi Charlotte, Thank you for your kind review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us and we will look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks, Becca & The Beehive Team 🐝

Reviewed 24 July 2021 via mobile

Disappointing - high hopes not fulfilled. The menu was mainly an odd mixture of small “sharing” plates but of things that you wouldn’t really share as you might a la tapas. “Artisan” bread wasn’t really that. - just chunks of ordinary white and brown loaves....Burgers were overdone and chips were tooth cracking rocks - literally. Cappuccinos we’re luke warm . We won’t be going back.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Rebecca, General Manager at The Beehive Thorner, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2021

Thank you for your recent review, please could you send us an email to info@beehivethorner.co.uk with the details of your visit to discuss this further as we would love the opportunity to change your mind and welcome you back again soon. Thanks, The Beehive Team...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Britannia Leeds Hotel
1,214 reviews
4.00 km away
Beechwood B&b
79 reviews
5.05 km away
Premier Inn Leeds East hotel
910 reviews
6.44 km away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
1,534 reviews
6.77 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Milk Churn
58 reviews
1.73 km away
Fox and Grapes
40 reviews
2.53 km away
The Red Lion at Shadwell
112 reviews
3.56 km away
The Inn at Scarcroft
246 reviews
2.16 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Bramham Park
35 reviews
5.93 km away
Bramham International Horse Trials
10 reviews
3.72 km away
Leeds Festival
82 reviews
3.36 km away
Tropical World
2,339 reviews
5.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
DLMinskip
10 March 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dale W | Property representative |
Hi Nomad, I wanted a fresh start as I acquired as to give it the best chance of succeeding, below is the actual situation. I will not deny that there were problems, but I hoping to do my best to take it forward. I hope to... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Beehive Thorner

Yes, The Beehive Thorner is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Beehive Thorner is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4