We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Barn Pub and Restaurant

Mount Pleasant Road | 1 Lonsdale Gardens, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1NU, England
+44 1892 510424
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (32 reviews)
“fish platter” (6 reviews)
“mixed grill” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mount Pleasant Road | 1 Lonsdale Gardens, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1NU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So I'm not even sure where to begin leaving this review. From start to finish Phillipe, Janet and all the team were absolutely incredible. They couldn't have been more accommodating to us and our some what out there ideas! Nothing was too big or too...More

Thank Daniel S
PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

We’re not sure we could possibly be the ‘world’s best wedding venue’ Paige and Dan, but as you know, we are Kent Wedding Venue Finalists again this year and the results will be announced next Thursday. Keep your fingers crossed for us! Thank you so...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Trie the chateaubriand and you won’t be disappointed. Also great for gluten free. My mother almost cried when she had sticky toffee pudding (GF) for first time in years.More

Thank Edward S
PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review and for awarding us 5 stars. I am delighted that you enjoyed our chateaubriand which we have only recently introduced to our menu and which is proving to be very popular. I was also very pleased that your mother enjoyed...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been here several times and every time ensures I go back! I must say though if you want attentive staff then this isn’t the place for you, but when I just want a quiet meal and a catch up with my girl friends it’s...More

Thank Trip R
PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your review and for your lovely compliments regarding how much you enjoy The Barn I am sorry that you feel that our staff could be more attentive but in general we tend to not want to be intrusive when customers are dining...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an excellent birthday meal last week - very good steak, fajitas, pasta and wine - highly recommended

Thank Steve Y
PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and awarding us 5 stars and for highlighting the good quality food and wine which you enjoyed. We look forward to seeing you again on many occasions Philippe General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for lunch last Friday and it was faultless! The Whitstable Blonde beer was still excellent!! The steak tender and perfectly cooked, chicken mixed grill plentiful and the trio of desserts pretty much finished us before we could finish them!! Service was outstanding, the...More

Thank Paul R
PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for awarding us 5 stars following your return visit – we too are delighted that you have given us a second chance to show you what we can do. It was good of you to highlight the food which you enjoyed and the...More

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

I came here for a solo lunch on a Saturday, the menu outside looked very appetising & exterior was nice. Bought a drink at the bar and wandered upstairs for some food; staff were friendly enough, clean place & nice interior. For a Saturday lunch...More

Thank Mintyissofresh
PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thank you for your review and for compliments regarding the quality of the lunch which you enjoyed at The Barn I am sorry that you found the salad accompanying your steak not to your liking and this has prompted me to look at reviewing the...More

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

I’m glad I found this place. Excellent food at reasonable prices. Good variety on the menu friendly and efficient service and everything cooked fresh to order. Certainly worth a visit.More

Thank 646adam
PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Thank you for your review and awarding us 5 stars. I am delighted that you not only enjoyed the quality of food and service and also felt that what we offer is at reasonable prices. Thank you for recommending us to others and we look...More

Reviewed 31 August 2018

Three course dinner with very generous portions - The antipasti would have easily fed two! All perfectly cooked, great service and our table was in a great location by the window - No complaints at all and a bargain with the loyalty card offerMore

Thank ACJC1966
PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for your review and for awarding us 5 stars. I am grateful to you for your kind comments regarding the food and service. I am very pleased that you are taking advantage of our loyalty card and we look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

It’s not fine dining but it is great service and great food at a very reasonable price. We went in for pre theatre dining and it was perfect - just what was needed. Would highly recommend and we will certainly return. Nice friendly and very...More

1  Thank Mark E
PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Many thanks for your review and awarding us 5 stars. It was good of you to describe both our food and service as being “great” and to be good value. Many thanks for recommending us to others and delighted to note that you will be...More

Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We have just had an excellent two course lunch at the Barn for an excellent £10.75pp. The food was fresh, plentiful and very tasty, particularly the minute steak with special barn sauce.More

Thank salbi246
PatronHandR, General Manager at The Barn Pub and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Many thanks for your review and awarding us 5 stars following your recent visit. I am delighted that you not only enjoyed our fixed price two course lunch and that you found it to be excellent value We look forward to seeing you in the...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
1,027 reviews
.15 km away
Russell Hotel
208 reviews
.31 km away
Smart and Simple Hotel
232 reviews
.32 km away
The Royal Wells Hotel
323 reviews
.43 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kai's Kitchen
564 reviews
.20 km away
Cote Brasserie - Tunbridge Wells
888 reviews
.08 km away
The Opera House
308 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Calverley Grounds
111 reviews
.24 km away
Trinity Theatre
63 reviews
.11 km away
Assembly Hall Theatre
124 reviews
.11 km away
Royal Victoria Place
68 reviews
.44 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
SusieBarnstaple
7 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Jerenemas | Reviewed this property |
I think you should phone the Barn to ask this question. We are mere visitors who were there once
0
Votes
Google Translation
Tracy M
23 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Crescam | Reviewed this property |
One Warwick park and Hotel du vin are both near and I can vouch for the former, having stayed there.
0
Votes
Colette C
15 October 2017|
Answer
Response from CeruleanSun | Reviewed this property |
No, there are no lifts of any sorts. Unless for a special occassion, most of the seating happens downstairs and I actually think the upper bit of the restaurant has to be specially booked out upon request. I hope this helps!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mount Pleasant Road | 1 Lonsdale Gardens, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN1 1NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Royal Tunbridge Wells
  • Phone Number: +44 1892 510424
  • E-mail
Description
A character pub restaurant centrally located. Privately owned and operated since 1992.In addition to the excellent food and drink at great value prices, we are proud of our very friendly staff, which combined with the ‘barn’ character setting and decor makes us a special place for a meal in our lovely air conditioned Grill restaurant, or a drink and snack in our air conditioned bar and conservatory.Enjoy a drink or snack in our delightful garden, sunny during the day, heated for those cooler days and beautifully illuminated by night.Our philosophy is "to serve freshly prepared food, using high quality raw materials at unbeatable prices."The restaurant menu has evolved over recent years, taking account of fashion changes and is based on grills and Mediterranean specialities. We have a great reputation for steaks, using only prime 28 day matured British beef.We cater for weddings and have a civil ceremony licence, and private parties.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing