We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pickerel Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Pickerel Inn
Updated 31/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
121
93
35
12
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
121
93
35
12
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips french fries mushroom rice pie burger the pub magdalene college the river selection of beers friendly service great beer pint students
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

We decided to stop for lunch, and found the Pickerel Inn just over the bridge in Cambridge. What a quaint and lovely pub. We had the chicken share platter and it was delicious , and we couldn't resist the Sticky Toffee Pudding for dessert. The...staff were so welcoming and polite, it was quiet for lunchtime but that was fine, they welcomed our dog, who is well behaved . You must read the plaque on the wall in the courtyard which gives you the history of the pub. which is the oldest pub in Cambridge. we will certainly be visiting it again next time we go.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I came to The Pickerel the other day with a good friend and regretted not getting a photo with their utterly amazing plaque saying that C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien used to drink here. Thankfully the lovely bar man, Karl, put things...right and explained to me at length the fascinating development of this historic drinking hole. What a pub!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I came to Cambridge for the first time and happened upon The Pickerel. We only stopped in for a quick drink but stayed all night. Can’t wait to come back again. If you’re visiting Cambridge you won’t find a more welcoming and...authentic pub.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Pickerel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Morning! Thanks for the wonderful review. It was great to meet and chat with you both on Saturday night. Really nice to come out from a busy kitchen shift and see my team doing such a good job that guests are staying for 8 hours...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for a drink, whilst the beer was very good the service was poor. Went to the bar and waited to be served whilst two member's of staff appeared to have a chat, admittedly it appeared to be about work but when I was...served I was told that the pub was not accepting cash and I had to pay by card! Firstly that is illegal and secondly a notice would have been nice Place was very busyMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Pickerel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Teresa, Sorry that your experience wasn’t as great as you’d have hoped. Im glad the beer was enjoyable! I can’t understand why they’d have told you we weren’t accepting cash unless because it was so busy they had temporarily ran out of some change....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here for a drink only with a friend, while exploring Cambridge. It was a lovely afternoon so we sat outside. As others have said, inside was quite dark, though being an old pub it was expected. Service was good and we liked the...selection of lagers on offers! We would certainly come back - and I like it even more now that I have read the reviews and the managers very thorough responses, especially to negative reviews. Knowing how important customer satisfaction is, is very important. Thank you.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Karl H, General Manager at The Pickerel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey Amanda! Sorry I didn’t respond sooner, login trouble! Thank you so much for your kind review :) so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope if you’re in Cambridge again you’ll come see us a second time! The main point I’d...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a table in advance as we were meeting friends in Cambridge. The entrance to the pub is dark and dingy and not welcoming at all. Going further in showed that this is a drinking hole and not a real place to eat. Staff at...the bar were completely disinterested. Offered 1 menu for 7 people and said help yourself to a seat! Eventually were directed out to the yard, which subsequently proved to be the smokers area. Despite some misgivings about the general state of the place and the fug of cigarette smoke hanging over everything, we chose some food, went up to the bar to order to be told that the kitchen had just closed?? On the way out walked by plastic bowls containing dirty water, odds and ends of dirty cutlery and impossible to identify floating objects. Eat in this pub at your own peril. Left and got a very nice meal down the road.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Karl H, General Manager at The Pickerel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, I am so sorry for the experience you had, or ultimately didn’t have, with us on Wednesday. I have been following up by email with another member of your party that I had booking information for to understand exactly what happened and why. I...More

Reviewed 4 September 2021

I was traveling back to Cambridge to see some family for a while and after my long journey from Sheffield I thought I we could meet in a traditional British pub for a Sunday roast before doing some punting ( which is conveniently next to...the pickerel inn ). We decided we would meet here after seeing such positive reviews online and I found out why. Overall I found the staff to be the asset of this pub, really knowing their drinks well and accommodating to all of our needs while we had a wonderful Sunday roast, making my long journey a thing of the past and starting off my short holiday perfectly. I would recommend this pub to anyone wanting a warm welcome, great service and great grub !More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Pickerel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2021

Thank you for giving us a 5 star rating! We're so glad that our friendly team made you feel welcome and that they were able to assist throughout your visit. We're pleased to hear that we provided the perfect rest stop after your long journey...More

Reviewed 1 September 2021

Unbelievable service, good prices, very good staff, Dan and Carl & Lucy were unbelievably nice and very respective

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Karl H, General Manager at The Pickerel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thankyou so much for your review henasm! We really appreciate you taking your time, and love that members of our team stood out to you, I’ll let them know you’ve mentioned them :) Hopefully see you in the pub again soon! Kind regards Karl

Reviewed 29 August 2021

We had a great time at this pub. Staff were very friendly and were more than accommodating. Would recommend

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at The Pickerel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2021

Hey Karena! We’re so happy you had a good day with us yesterday! :) Hopefully you can come back and see us again :) Thanks for the 5 stars :)) Kind regards Karl GM

Reviewed 25 August 2021

Lovely friendly pub with good real beer and helpful bar staff. Went there on the recommendation of the let’s go punting companyMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Greene_K1ng, Manager at The Pickerel Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2021

Hey Maggie! Really glad you had a great time with us! Let's go Punting are close friends of ours along the river, we'd have recommended them to you too if you spent your day the other way round! Hopefully see you again soon :) Kind...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
3,586 reviews
.12 km away
Arundel House Hotel
982 reviews
.42 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1,148 reviews
.80 km away
Ashley Hotel
244 reviews
.98 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Las Iguanas
1,794 reviews
.08 km away
River Bar Steakhouse & Grill
1,626 reviews
.12 km away
Bould Brothers Coffee
204 reviews
.20 km away
La Margherita
494 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The River Cam
2,424 reviews
.12 km away
Kettle's Yard
350 reviews
.19 km away
Bridge of Sighs
356 reviews
.18 km away
The Round Church Visitor Centre
302 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
maureensB1153XL
12 September 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from valtojosCambridgeUk | Reviewed this property |
The Pickerel is situated in Bridge street Cambridge, the city centre, so parking is at a premium. Park street car park is your nearest choice.
0
Votes
johnwicksonwhite
27 February 2018|
Answer
Response from kristina118 | Property representative |
Yes we are indeed :)) will be happy to welcome you and you dog :))
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pickerel Inn

Yes, The Pickerel Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Pickerel Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4