We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar

Aranui Road | Shed 3, The Wharf, Mapua 7005, New Zealand
+64 3-540 3381
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good33%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (30 reviews)
“zeppole” (7 reviews)
“seafood” (17 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Seafood, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Aranui Road | Shed 3, The Wharf, Mapua 7005, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Location and outlook are superb, especially on a calm sunny day! However, found menu and service very limited.

Thank dearingsa2016
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We came for lunch on Father’s Day. The premise was packed but we were attended to quickly and offered seating options. Taking the orders and serving were also very timely => A+ for the service. The meals (both daily specials) were good but could improve...More

1  Thank GwaiLoh07
Reviewed 6 days ago

Weekend brunch at the Apple Shed was a real pleasure. Sited on the waterfront at Mapua with some tables right over the water, this is a charming venue. On a chilly, if sunny, Nelson morning, a glowing woodburner made the space cosy and welcoming. The...More

Thank Angela217
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Some friends and I visited The Apple Shed after being recommended. We were all very happy with the atmosphere and setting. The food was great - I especially enjoyed the pork belly! Service was knowledgable and friendly - would definitely recommend to others.

Thank Stuart H
Gemma I, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you Stuart H for your positive review. The pork belly is proving to be a crowd favourite for winter, so we are pleased you also enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you and your friends back at The Apple Shed soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to the Apple shed recently for lunch and was wowed by the service, the lovely scenic view and above all the food. I had the market fish which was cooked to perfection and the flavours were divine. My friend had the beef burger and...More

Thank Louise H
Gemma I, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you Louise H for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Your positive feedback will be appreciated by the team. We look forward to having you back at The Apple Shed soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

After visiting an old favourite of mine in Mapua, i was highly disappointed with my visit this time round. Aside from small, complicated meals and high prices, staff didn't seem to be coping well on a not so busy day at this cafe. Nobody greeted...More

1  Thank Aarroonn42
Gemma I, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

HI Aarroonn42, sorry to hear you were not happy with your experience at The Apple Shed. We will definitely take onboard your feedback and use it to further improve the service we are offering. We would encourage you in future to inform management of your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was by far the best meal we had in Mapua, particularly compared to the disappointing meal we had next door.

2  Thank Batman4175
Gemma I, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Batman4175. We are pleased you had a great meal with us. We hope to tempt you back to Mapua in the future!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An impromptu visit to check out the new menu under new owners. Pleasantly surprised, good service, interesting new menu, superb cooking and well presented dishes. My wife had market fish and I had ribeye steak, both dishes ticked all our boxes; I would go as...More

1  Thank Neil B
Gemma I, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your positive review Neil B. We are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us at The Apple Shed. We look forward to seeing you when you return!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lunch is suppose to be light, but c'mon apple shed! We didnt order the croquettes as were told by waitress it was only 3 units, and not a full meal, other dishes would be more suitable. Gnochi was served in a tiny shallow ramekin portion,...More

1  Thank lmontnz
Gemma I, Owner at The Apple Shed Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Imontnz. We are sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations on Sunday. Please bear with us, we took over the business 5 days prior and Sunday was our second day of service. The dishes are still being refined according to the reception of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We're local people and we have been to Apple Shed for many years. It's one of our favourite restaurants. It was our anniversary this weekend. We picked to go to Apple Shed as we love this place. I booked a table via Apple Shed Facebook...More

1  Thank ASV77
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Mapua Hotels
Parkside Motel
72 reviews
11.18 km away
Oxford Court Motel
165 reviews
11.19 km away
Gladstone Motel
49 reviews
11.19 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
169 reviews
11.24 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Jellyfish Restaurant & Bar
596 reviews
.04 km away
Hamish's Ice Cream's & Cafe
32 reviews
.06 km away
The Smokehouse
245 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rimu Grove Winery
37 reviews
2.54 km away
Seifried Estate Winery & Vineyard
16 reviews
4.30 km away
Mahana Estates
128 reviews
4.82 km away
Animal Farm
53 reviews
4.69 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lauren C
12 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PatMacnz64 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Aranui Road | Shed 3, The Wharf, Mapua 7005, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Mapua
  • Phone Number: +64 3-540 3381
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;