We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 02/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 02/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$14 - US$46
CUISINES
Steakhouse, New Zealand, Wine Bar
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
56
4
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
56
4
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters chateaubriand steak wagyu parfait octopus pork belly wine list fine dining meat locker birthday card great meat the wow factor great wine selection lovely waitress last night nice decor
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

One of our priciest meals for what was essentially just a nice steak, cooked well. Sauces and sides were all extra. We had the kokoda starter which just lacked a bit of seasoning and punch. Wine list is predominantly $100+ for a bottle and the...waitress really couldn't describe any of the wines. Bottom line: if you really want a steak and you don't mind paying for it, this is the place to go in Mount Maunganui. But if you're on a bit of a budget and want more flavour for your money, perhaps consider an alternate venue.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After looking for an opportunity for a nice dinner whilst staying in Tauranga, we settled on Fife Lane and weren’t disappointed. From the friendly, observant waiters and servers to the food itself, everything was execute well and much appreciated. The only downside was having to...forego everything else on the menu once we had decided on what we were eating! Would highly recommend anything with the prawns, as the size was great and the cooking style phenomenal. Will definitely return next time we’re inTauranga.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Suzelle Lockhart, Communication Manager at Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us and we look forward to seeing you when you are back in Tauranga!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were told these guys were the best in town, and so right. From the professional welcome in COVID times to the good bye from the bar mixologist, we had the best in town. Our wait person was a very keen wine drinker so we...had some great chats on her thoughts and ours, we even sampled a wine to confirm we had chosen another which we preferred and were right, she then made sure our next option by the glass and they have a great selection was right and she was so right. The duck liver starter was so smooth, served with warm toast and a drizzle of oil, just right. I selected the beef wellington, and the steak range is top line, was going to take a little time and we were updated on that but it was no issue as it arrived to better a Gordon Ramsey signature dish, perfect. We were impressed with the end to end experience and the rumoured $2m fit out works so a great evening, if you are coming to the Bay book here, its worth it.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Suzelle Lockhart, Guest Relations Manager at Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are so happy we lived up to what you have heard. You picked some great options and we look forward to having you visit us again to try some more!

Reviewed 3 October 2021

Our go to in the mount, highlights tonight were the oysters and obviously the steak. Also had the octopus and prawns. Unfortunately no scallops were sold out. Good service and always a good wine selection.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Suzelle Lockhart, Communications Manager at Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us and you will have to come back to try the scallops!

Reviewed 1 October 2021 via mobile

Consistently perfectly prepared steaks in a setting that would not be amiss in New York / London etc. Great service …. Hidden gem in central parade . Food is outstanding and this is a sure must for meat lovers . Setting is modern with great...ambiance …. Great wine list too ….More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Suzelle Lockhart, Communications Manager at Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your evening with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 29 September 2021

Great beer, lovely waitress. AMAZING PARFAIT!! YES IM SHOUTING!! . Parfait was luxurious, and I've had my fair share around the globe. Top notch.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
Suzelle Lockhart, Communications Manager at Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2021

Hi C H, thank you for taking the time to leave your review! We are glad you love our parfait as much as we do, feel free to shout about it! We look forward to seeing you back again!

Reviewed 14 August 2021

A return visit and well worthwhile. The food was really good - my local Duck breast main was perfectly prepared - and they have a really good wine list.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
Suzelle Lockhart, Communications Manager at Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2021

Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 29 June 2021

Awesome service, such wonderful friendly staff, a great selection of gin and amazing food. Will definitely be back next time we are in Tauranga.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Suzelle Lockhart, Communications Manager at Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to seeing you when you are in Tauranga!

Reviewed 29 June 2021

Had a fantastic dinner at Fife Lane. As a first time visitor, time and care was taken to explain the menu and make the experience memorable through fantastic item recommendations. The food was a really high standard and the drinks were great too. Plan to...return soon!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Suzelle Lockhart, Communications Manager at Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Thanks for taking the time to leave your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 26 June 2021 via mobile

We’ve eaten here several times but sadly this time were disappointed It is not a cheap restaurant so you expect very high standards…. we shared a cured prosciutto platter and then the chateaubriand and it was ‘ok’ but really nothing to rave about. It was...a special birthday dinner and although they knew about it there was nothing said or done….. how hard is it to say Happy Birthday or have a card on the table from the owners…. or even offer a glass of wine or coffee It was also extremely noisey….sure they did have a fairly large table near us but it was just loud everywhere in the restaurant. Maybe some plants or rugs or something to absorb some sound would be good Our other visits have always been good so maybe it was just an off night but that puts you off going again ….there’s a lot of competition now so you’ve got to keep your standards highMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Suzelle Lockhart, Communications Manager at Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2021

Hi PYE3, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad that on the other occasions you have visited us, you have enjoyed yourself. We are sorry you were disappointed with your experience on this occasion.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Blue Haven Motel
73 reviews
.09 km away
Aquarius Motor Inn
48 reviews
.87 km away
Blue Wave Motel
73 reviews
1.00 km away
Ocean Waves Motel
107 reviews
1.80 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tay Street Beach Cafe
434 reviews
.87 km away
Thai2go Restaurant and Takeaway
156 reviews
.01 km away
Johney's Dumpling House
109 reviews
.89 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association
38 reviews
.60 km away
Anzac War Memorial Cenotaph
11 reviews
1.55 km away
Bay Oval Cricket Ground
16 reviews
1.07 km away
House of Surf - Surf School in Mount Maunganui
11 reviews
.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar

Yes, Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Fife Lane Kitchen & Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5