The Porch Kitchen & Bar

The Porch Kitchen & Bar

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+64 7-863 1330+ Add website
Hours
Sun
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Mon
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tue
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Wed
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Thu
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
Fri
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Sat
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$8.00 – $33.00
CUISINES
Cafe, International, New Zealand
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
features
Can a vegetarian person get a good meal at this restaurant?
About
The Porch Kitchen and Bar is in the heart of The Village at Waihi Beach. A great place to hang out with friends and family during the daytime, enjoying the happy vibes of the town. Quite renowned for it's continental style food. We serve some of the best organic coffees at Waihi Beach, and are fully licensed. Live music from local artists over the weekend evenings. Contact us for function and event bookings.
PRICE RANGE
$8.00 – $33.00
CUISINES
Cafe, International, New Zealand
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Live Music
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles256 reviews
Excellent
104
Very good
65
Average
26
Poor
26
Terrible
35
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Go65798054266
5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 friends
So disappointing that since our last visit it has not improved. The food is still not great and the choice from the cabinet was very limited for savory options. Coffee was not hot either. Such a shame. Great building and fabulous artwork.
Written 18 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Nick D
London27 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
Visited a few times. Good menu but the food is inconsistent; sometimes nice, others less so. Coffee is good. Staff friendly and quick service. Expensive given the quality of the food.
Written 2 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Spency83
Tauranga65 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 none
The number of empty tables should perhaps have been a omen - but we were hungry and once the little one is out of the car it's easier just to make a choice. So we chose here for a weekend lunch. The biggest alarm bell should have been the menu. There were literally dozens of spelling mistakes and errors throughout. Totally unprofessional. Anyway, we ordered our lunch, and then after ordering got told there was at least a 30 min wait (tell us this before our order). Looking around to the 3 or so tables occupied, would hate to think how long food takes when busy. Positives - the wine pours were very generous. The food was ok - and the toasties were good value for money. To sum it all up, the menu was a bit of a joke laughing at all the wrong things. The service was non-existent (no one came over and asked if we would like another drink), and the food average. Sorry to say, we won't rush back
Written 20 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

nicola_anne_11
Cambridge7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
The place was full of flies, we should have left then but with a baby needing feeding and a hungry toddler we took the risk. I ordered cabinet food and hubby ordered a salad off the menu. There was only a couple of other tables with diners so definitely not busy (Again another warning sign). After waiting about 30 mins my slice came out which we wrapped up before the flies ate it. Then about 10 mins later husbands salad came out which was just bagged supermarket salad and seafood which wasn’t cooked great and for $25 I’d expect more. We Then waited another 5 minutes for my sandwich. No apologies from the staff about the time the meals took. I’m not sure by they took so long given they were not at all busy. Hubby said the only good thing about the place was the beer. Would definitely not recommend or return.
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dleed
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 couples
My partners meal arrived and he was able to eat the entire thing before mine finally arrived. When it did, i noticed the gluten free toast was mouldy! When i asked for a refund, they only gave me half of my entire meal, i ordered a drink and a slice too and wouldnt refund for these. Was put off and questioned quality of my entire meal. I felt sick for the rest of the day.
Written 23 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
manjeeta2018
Hi, sorry to hear about the experience you had at The Porch with the timing of the food. Feedback passed on to the kitchen. Regarding the mould on your bread, as per the Chef, it was the balsamic reduction ontop of the toast. Please feel free to share a pic of so called mouldy toast if you can. We take the quality of our food we serve to the customers very seriously. Thanks
Written 26 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brad
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 family
family of 6 tried to go out for breakfast before heading to the fair, two meals came out for two of the four kids after an hour wait, half an hour later two more meals came out for the last two kids, half an hour later we questioned staff as to what was happening with our last two meals to be told it’s coming out (more than once) a lot people arrived after us and we’re served and left before us that was the last straw we up and left with a refund. Service is crap and food average and overpriced, not worth the wait. I can recommend highly the surf shack, flat white and the secret garden if it’s still around.
Written 4 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kristelle
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 family
Very disappointing- excellent food but extremely poor service. Thursday 1st April. We were 3 families that wanted to have a nice lunch. Arrived at 2:15pm they took our drink orders and then within 5min told us to place our food orders as the kitchen is closing at 2:30. We quickly place our food orders. Food arrived and looked amazing. 4 min into eating the rudest waitress comes over and tells us to finish up as they want to close... I think the best thing would have been to tell us when we arrived that they were closing, instead they decided to take our money and they treated us like we were an inconvenience. - sooo sad would never recommend.
Written 3 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kevin C
Hamilton67 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Tried to go to the Porch for breakfast as just across the road from where we were staying. Place was not that clean. Asked about breakfast menu with virtually no vegetarian options. Serving staff disinterested. Not many people in the place, around 6-8. Told that there would be a 40 minute wait. Left the place and went to the Flat White Cafe. 100 people plus there food came within 15-20 mins. Same prices but probably far better quality and a much nicer atmosphere.
Written 20 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Cathielee byron
Waihi1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 family
Have been to many places, but 'build your own' breakfast is amazing and the creativity of the chef put on the plate was amazing. We were sitting outside with our dog, the owner came and offered fresh and cold water for our buddy. What a nice gesture and food. Would recommend to everyone.
Written 1 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Denise
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2020 none
Supposed to be served gourmet burger - very ordinary but more importantly the meat pattie was ‘off’ so could not eat it. Not impressed with service and there were supposed to be level 2 Covid 19 conditions in place but ...nothing resembling anything like government indicators for hospitality service operations.
Written 16 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

1Anna2014
Morrinsville8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 solo
Had a beautiful morning at the beach today. Decided to go here for lunch as sister had been here awhile ago and said it was really good. Totally disappointed with the seafood basket for one. No exaggerating the shrimp was cooked to a sinder. I think it was calamari, don't actually know what it was as rock hard and way over cooked, the two crab sticks were rubbery as hell. TarTare sauce wasn't tartare sauce, was horrible. Only possible acceptable thing on plate was the wedges. Was asked how was meal and I said very disappointed just got glared at by lady in charge. Person cooking out back came out and I politely explained that the meal wasn't good and majority of it was uneatable. She just nodded her head and walked away. Was never offered any money back or anything else from menu. Absolute horrible meal. Such a shame as this place used to be really good. Advising heaps of people never to go here. I wouldn't even rate this place but I have to select one circle for rating to be submitted.
Written 14 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sharon M
Hamilton7 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 none
To be fair the pizza and chips when they finally came were YUM. However we had to ask for one of our drinks - it wasn't served with the rest. When our 7 year old started eating her pancakes she complained about how hard they were. Eventually she challenged us to eat one. I couldn't cut it! It was as tough as leather. It was as if they were packet pancakes that had been over microwaved. When we complained, nothing happened. On the second complaint we were told "The chef said that is how we cook them" We were subsequently offered $5 refund. In the meantime a 7year old went hungry. This could have been an easy fix.
Written 21 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

shona2016
Queenstown2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020 none
Went here with my sister for Birthday Lunch. Both had fish burgers and chips. So disappointing - lettuce was wilted, bruised and very sad. But the fish was worse. Fish smelt old, was overcooked and dry. Only nice part of meal was chips. Cost $25 each - overpriced for what we had. Had long wait, finished our drinks before food arrived. Would not go back.
Written 8 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Stephen Boyce
Auckland239 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 couples
I love this place. The food is outstanding, the staff are welcoming and the attention to detail is worth 6 Stars. You can eat at other places around Waihi and spend perhaps 25% less and get garbage. Drive up the hill, spend a little extra and get better than your money’s worth. Trust me.
Written 21 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MILMAX12
86 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 none
Very average which is such a shame given this is located right and town and should be really popular. Curry was very hot but tasteless pizza was ok. Never got told about specials and no follow up for drinks or dessert. Plenty of staff and nice people but little experience. Also flies in restaurant. Would be such a great rival for over priced and grumpy Flat White. Fingers crossed someone saves it.
Written 17 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 251
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Surf Shack Eatery
$$ - $$$ · Fusion, Street Food, New Zealand
Flatwhite
$$ - $$$ · New Zealand
Gunners View Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Bar, International, European, New Zealand
Waihi Beach Hotel
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Bar, Pizza, Pub
Lucca Italian Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Italian
Crazy Tandoor
$$ - $$$ · Indian
Waihi Beach Memorial Rsa
$$ - $$$ · New Zealand
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE PORCH KITCHEN & BAR, Waihi Beach - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Things to DoFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire