We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mussel Inn Restaurant

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Onekaka $$ - $$$ , Seafood,
1259 Takaka-Collingwood Highway | Onekaka, Onekaka 7182, New Zealand
+64 3-525 9241
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (93 reviews)
“garlic bread” (22 reviews)
“nachos” (16 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups, New Zealand, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1259 Takaka-Collingwood Highway | Onekaka, Onekaka 7182, New Zealand
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 389 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Does what it says in the name. Great mussels and other Kiwi classics. The beer is outstanding if you are a microbrewery kind of person. and I am. Can't fault it.

Thank 68Wildcat
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This place is not that easy to see in the road so you need to pay attention to the signs. Such a unique tavern. All made of wood. A fire place inside. Cozzy atmosphere. Beers and food were super tasty. Cool staff.

Thank Margonzales
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

A great little pub & micro brewery to visit. We had the steamed mussels, chowder (of which the accompanying garlic bread was some of the best we've had) and two pies. Great value for money. The bar staff were super, exactly who you want working...More

Thank skidwardo
Reviewed 1 week ago

We are Aussies travelling around the South Island, I had found The Mussel Inn on Trip Advisor so knew what I was looking for but you could easily drive past without realizing. So pleased we listened to the recommendations, the place is quirky and unique;...More

Thank Ingrid J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great service, great food and awesome atmosphere. The place was really busy but the meals still came out really quickly. Would highly recommend.

Thank Wendy H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the few restaurants open till later in the evening - or open at all in the Collingwood area. Lovely old world charm and good food. Would recommend the seafood over the steaks though.

Thank LightandMotionPhoto
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited for lunch after finding nowhere else in collingwood open for lunch on a Monday in winter and thank goodness no one else was! We both had the most amazing meal of a beef and black beer pie and the nachoes...More

Thank Mandurahfoodi
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A grey gloomy day warmed considerably by the roaring fire and the large bowl of mussel soup. The two generous slabs of garlic bread were also delicious. The Mussel Inn's own label ginger beer is great. Wonderful food, great atmosphere, great service. We will be...More

Thank WLnz
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Took shelter here on several rainy days while in the Nelson/Takaka region. Lovely open fire, local vibe... feels like you're in someone's cozy house. Great beer brewed in-house. Enjoyed the soups with garlic bread. Would go back! :)

Thank Sarah B
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Food was quite awful. Fish "burger" smothered in tartar sauce. Soup nearly inedible. Beer selection looked good but we were driving.

Thank DANI24
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Courthouse Cafe
186 reviews
9.21 km away
Dangerous Kitchen
331 reviews
14.15 km away
Plan B Cafe & Bar
140 reviews
17.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Golden Bay Air
178 reviews
8.99 km away
Farewell Spit Eco Tours
194 reviews
9.28 km away
Aroha Health Spa and Sanctuary
13 reviews
17.33 km away
Heaphy Track
68 reviews
23.85 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
tmv2015
do you allow dogs outside
6 February 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Musselinn | Property representative |
We don't mind if you bring a dog in, if you keep it on a leash at your outside table.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$21
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups, New Zealand, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1259 Takaka-Collingwood Highway | Onekaka, Onekaka 7182, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Golden Bay  >  Onekaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-525 9241
  • E-mail
Description
Brewery/bar/cafe/music venue
Closed late July til early September
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing