We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Craggy Range Restaurant offers a warm and memorable experience, looking out on the spectacular backdrop of Te Mata Peak. We are fortunate to be located in the Hawke’s Bay; home to some of New Zealand’s finest produce. We collaborate closely with our suppliers and allow the seasons to guide our menu. Many of our herbs, fruits and vegetables are grown in our extensive kitchen garden. We are open for lunch and dinner 7 days a week & look forward to welcoming you.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
European, New Zealand
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (736)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
500
132
45
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
500
132
45
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu venison tartare lamb shoulder bread halloumi fries te mata peak hawkes bay new zealand food and wine special occasion beautiful setting fine dining wedding anniversary long lunch dining experience winery restaurant
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Dined there on 11 May 24, what an absolutely fantastic experience. When I made the booking I chose the "Chef's Bar" option, which means you get seated at a bar setting in front of the kitchen, so the chefs may engage with you (if they're...not too busy) and also you can ask questions while they're doing their thing - blimmin' awesome!! At one point we were asked by our excellent serveur Annalise (hope I spelt that right) if we were celebrating anything and I mentioned it was a late birthday celebration, and the previously stellar service went into overdrive. Everything about our lunch was perfect. The cocktails, the wine, the food and, most importantly, the service, was absolutely top notch. All staff were extremely courteous & professional, from the chefs in the kitchen, particularly the head chef who, although extremely busy, took the time out to speak with us & ask us how we were going. Also the young lad who was right in front of us doing the fish appetisers & our desserts was most polite and informative when we asked questions. And Annalise our serveur was unfailingly polite but also very engaging, a nice young Kiwi girl who carried herself with aplomb and who is a credit to the establishment. I've seen a few reviews where the OPs have grumbled a bit about prices, but I disagree. If you're coming here expecting a champagne breakfast on a beer budget then Craggy Range is definitely not the place for you - suck it up Buttercup and pay up, it's more than worth it. We'll be back.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jono, thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed dining at the Chef's Bar, arguably the best seat in the house! We have passed on your thanks to our lovely Annalise, you have made her day! We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We very much enjoyed our recent winter "Italian" themed 3 course lunch at Craggy Range. Superb food and beautifully presented, with very attentive staff. What a gorgeous setting while looking particularly stunning in the autumn. Will definitely be visiting again soon.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Susan, thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed our Winter Weekday lunch special. We are changing the destination fortnightly - we hope to welcome you back to Craggy Range soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you to the team at Craggy Range. The young lady who managed our table did an amazing job, manouvering food and wine amongst a table of 15. The location is spectacular, the service is slick and the food and wine is very good too....A most memorable evening and a must do for visitors to Hawkes Bay.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Gabrielle, thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked a wine tour and dinner but Air NZ put paid to our tour. We just made it in time for our dinner reservation. We had the tasting menu which was phenomenal. Chose to create our own wine tasting by choosing by the...glass from the menu and found a couple of new favourites (Malbec, pleasant surprise). We had let the tasting room know we were delayed and wouldn’t make the tour. Sean then went above and beyond to find us at dinner and tell us all the available options if we could get back for a tour. Unfortunately we were on a tight time limit so we couldn’t but his service was exemplary. This was a very memorable evening for us both.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Simon, thank you so much for your recent review. We are very pleased to read you were able to enjoy dinner with us after your flights were delayed! We have passed on your thanks to Sean, you have made his day! We hope to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It’s always been a great venue and we have enjoyed many lovely dinners here. This one wasn’t as good as previous occasions. It lacked a bit of flair. My lamb rack was two chops, not a rack, even if it started out as one! And...it was large with a thick slab of fat left on. It was passable but disappointing really, with too many accompaniments. Dessert was similarly overblown. We didn’t leave with the feeling that we had just partaken of a fantastic meal. On the plus side the service was outstanding, with amazing young staff providing competent and professional service.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2024 via mobile

We had two seats at the Chef’s table, looking into the kitchen and we were able to interact with the Chef and other staff, the meal was outstanding and could not be faulted on anything, well worth a visit if in Havelock North

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Majda Falan, General Manager at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review John. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We couldn't agree more - they are arguably the best seats in the house. We look forward to welcoming you back to Craggy Range soon.

Reviewed 9 April 2024

Very disappointed with the arrogance of the guy on the desk . When we arrived we had no booking so we just went on the chance maybe we could get a table for two. he treated us like pieces of rubbish and virtually told us...to leave immediately. He made no attempt to even try to be nice. This is not the first time this has happened, We have heard from other people that they have been treated the same way. WE WILL NOT BE BACKMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Majda Falan, General Manager at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello John, we are terribly sorry to hear that you did not feel welcome at Craggy Range. I would love to have a chance to discuss this with you further, in more detail. Can you please email me directly via majda.falan@craggyrange.com with details of your...More

Reviewed 20 March 2024

Trip Advisor rates this restaurant #1. And it's worth it. A bit pricey, but very good food and service. And of course, CR wines. Was amazed how packed this restaurant is. Mid-week no less. Obviously, we're not the only ones who are enamored with the...restaurant. Heartily recommend.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

Reviewed 13 March 2024

Loved my visit to Craggy Range. From the premium tasting to the garden to the restaurant, everything was excellent. The setting is impressive and you are encouraged to browse the menu and start with a drink outside as a result. Food and service were equally...good and I would love to return. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

We really appreciate you putting together your review, and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us!

Reviewed 12 March 2024

We specifically booked this experience for the tasting menu. It’s a lovely and decadent five course experience. We’d had a tasting menu elsewhere the day before where each item was individually plated, and I think that spoiled us a little. We do like the performance...and art of individual plating, but the presentation and food were both still very beautiful at Craggy Range (some of the courses are all served on one plate and each person takes their portion). Dietary needs were accommodated and the wine pairings were thoughtfully explained. We had a table by a window and enjoyed the sweeping views. For a splash out of an evening–this is a lovely spot.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We strive to create a welcoming and inclusive environment for all of our guests with dietary requirements. We look forward to welcoming you again in the...More

Reviewed 29 February 2024 via mobile

We started off with a wine tasting making it the 4th tasting of the day. Wine tasting was approx 39 nzd pp but definitely don't opt out of the cheese board-- pairs better! Especially loved the beet jam! We then had the shared summer menu...without wine pairing for dinner for 95 nzd pp. And let me tell you this is worth every penny. You'll be full and thoroughly satisfied. We started off with 3 starters, and 3 entrees including king fish and halloumi. Very creative dishes incorporating fruits in almost every dish. For the main, the lamb was moist while deliciously glazed with an almond/pine nuts cream. We couldn't finish the main or the dessert, so asked for a take away box. They gave us a different dessert full of salted caramel truffles. I'm still eating them!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

We truly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are incredibly proud of our teams efforts to utilize the best from our kitchen garden along with our local suppliers and producers. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 26 February 2024

Beautiful setting at the Craggy Range Winery. We had fried halloumi (cheese) and salads to start then a cheese soufflé and the fresh fish. It was delicious. The Craggy Range Merlot was wonderful. Highly recommend for a nice dinner.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2024

Hi Austin, thank you for your review! We hope to welcome you back to Craggy Range again soon.

Reviewed 19 February 2024

This is superb! Beautiful setting, awesome food and attentive staff. Such a relaxing place. We loved our long lazy lunch!

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2024

Hi Sonia, thank you for your lovely review! We are pleased to read you enjoyed long-lunching with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

Had drinks on the terrace in view of TeMata mountains. Our server put through order for ribeye (for 2) which needed 50mins. Best use of our time to enjoy the vineyard wines while our beef cooked! The ribeye cooked medium was mouth watering tender and...deliciously cooked 3 different ways. The sides (salad, garlic potatoes & creamed spinach) complemented the meat. More than enough to feed 2 of us.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2024

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to read that you had a lovely time enjoying Te Mata Peak's views while waiting for the Matangi Ribeye to be prepared. We look forward to welcoming you back to Craggy Range again soon!

Reviewed 15 February 2024 via mobile

Lovely place for dinner and drinks. Staff was warm and cordial. We had the shared ribeye. It’s worth the price. Perfectly cooked and a lot of meat. Come with salad, creamed spinach and potatoes. Excellent experience.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maggie McDonald, Marketing at Craggy Range Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Hi Sue, thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our evening with us at Craggy Range. We hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Cherry Grove Motel
60 reviews
4.62 km away
Porters Boutique Hotel
199 reviews
4.64 km away
The Village Motel
86 reviews
4.72 km away
Mangapapa Hotel
392 reviews
7.31 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pipi Cafe
444 reviews
4.45 km away
Black Barn Bistro
628 reviews
2.37 km away
Alessandro's
189 reviews
4.46 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Craggy Range
529 reviews
.03 km away
Te Mata Park
47 reviews
1.55 km away
Hunter Gatherer Tours
28 reviews
1.37 km away
Black Barn Vineyards
82 reviews
1.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Resort48862597800
21 November 2021|
Answer
Response from CraggyRangeVineyards | Property representative |
Hi Resort48862597800! Yes we are open for dining. We will be open for normal business hours. 12 -3pm and 6-9pm. We are fully booked at this stage, however feel free to contact us on 06 873 0143 to be waitlisted or in case... More
0
Votes
FernT91
27 March 2021|
Answer
Response from CraggyRangeVineyards | Property representative |
Hi Fern T! We have a small 3 course menu priced for $20. They receive some sweet and salty popcorn as a snack to start, then a choice of either mac and cheese or fish and chips for the main course followed by a dessert... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CRAGGY RANGE RESTAURANT, Havelock North - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Craggy Range Restaurant

Yes, Craggy Range Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Craggy Range Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5