We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (103)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
83
1
4
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
83
1
4
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 14 April 2024

Top quality food with beautiful flavors and service was top notch ,lovely people . Would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant for any occasion.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2023

I have been lucky enough to eat several times at Mangapapa and each time it has been amazing. You know you are somewhere special from the moment you walk in the door. Last night we went for tomahawk steak night. I love steak and it...was master class. As was the little tasting plate we shared for an entree and dessert. I have also enjoyed the high tea experience and it was perfection and seeing Mangapapa in daylight is a must. The only thing you will regret is not going.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 April 2023

Went with family from France and was positively embarrassed. Curtains falling down. The 5 course dinner was REALLY bad. The sprouts were like rubber - inedible! My daughter had her food removed when she was till eating. The Rissotto was swimming in oil and the...vege looked like dried leaves disintegrating! All in all just dont go. A past visit for High Tea was regrettable. Dry sandwiches and the cakes were not fresh or appetising. Shame we went back again!More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa Hotel, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2023

Hello Flyer65355296931, thank you for your review. Our handyman has fixed the two curtain hooks that broke during the prior weekend. We were not able to get the spare hooks on Anzac Day, the day you dined with us, however the curtain has now been...More

Reviewed 17 December 2022 via mobile

We had dinner there three months ago and couldn’t fault it. Our recent experience was very disappointing. Had the five course degustation and the first three courses were raw. Not to everyone’s liking. Wine tasting was included in the cost last time. Has this been...done away with? Based on our experience would not recommend .More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa, Marketing at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2023

Dear Jenny, Thank you for your feedback of your recent visit to Mangapapa Restaurant, although we are disappointed to read it and we have shared this with our kitchen team to look at ways to improve. Our five course set menu is a 'trust the...More

Reviewed 8 December 2022

Took my daughter her on 18th Nov and it was extremely disappointing. I walked away thinking wow that place is highly over rated. The pastries were dry and felt like they were old reheated food. Most of the desert food had no flavour and was...just a nothing. An absolute waste of money, we have done a few high teas and this was definitely not worth the money, tasteless and dry. There were no one else there at the time, I can now see why ☹️☹️More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa, Marketing at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2022

Dear Jane, We appreciate your feedback and have shared this with our kitchen team to look at ways to improve. We use fresh and seasonal produce and our menus are baked fresh everyday. We apologise you do not feel we offered value for money, we...More

Reviewed 7 November 2022

Have been for high tea several times over the years and have always had a wonderful time, great food, service and atmosphere, unfortunately our recent experience has left us extremely disappointed. The food was tasteless and lacked finesse, we had to ask for our tea/coffee...when we had nearly finished our food, and the icing on the cake was our guests that did not wish to have bubbly were charged $7 for a glass of juice as they did not have any sparkling grape juice, a bit on the nose! Would not recommend and unless changes are made, will not be back as it is not cheap, but once upon a time was worth the $55, not anymoreMore

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2022

Dear Dudley and Freda, Thank you for your feedback. As a loyal customer who has visited us regularly, you know the standard that we operate at and we are sorry this was not the case when you last visited our restaurant. We are taking the...More

Reviewed 29 October 2022

Having dined many many times over the years for High Tea and Evening Meals which were faultless . I as so disappointed today 😢 High Tea had definitely lost its flare .. Service was Shocking . We had to clear our plates away ourselves .....Get our own drinks .. As they had forgotten to bring to table .. First time I’d ever seen food left on plates when we left .. I’ll never go back again 😢 Apparently change of chef so I’ve been told ..More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa, Marketing at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2022

Dear Vanessa, First of all, we would like to thank you for your repeated business. It is truly valued and we are so disappointed as a team, to see you feedback from your last visit. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. This...More

Reviewed 3 August 2022 via mobile

After waiting such a long time to attend a high tea here, we were very disappointed. Stale sandwiches which had been refrigerated and were not fresh as well as cold savouries. The sweets were in abundance and not too bad. Definitely not outstanding as we...had been led to believe.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

Hello Queensland Man, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that your experience did not meet expectations. We make all our sandwiches fresh each day, so I am disappointed this freshness was not able to be experienced on the plate. With our savoury dishes...More

Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

Went to a high tea for a friends 70. Food was appalling. Sandwich bread was crispy and fillings a disgrace. Stale cold savoury with processed cheese on top, terrible scones and stale macarons. They replaced the sandwiches when we complained with something that was just...as bad. When we complained when we went to pay $55 they said they would take $5 off. Sorry not good enough. I paid $30 and that was $30 too much. What an embarrassment they have. Didn’t go to the bathroom but friends that did said it was not very clean. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2022

Hello Pennynsam, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience. We have been working on changing our menu to ensure we provide a wonderful overall experience. By listening to client feedback we continue to make changes to our seasonal dishes so that they are...More

Reviewed 11 June 2022

We come here every 3-6 months loving the atmosphere food etc. This time from 1st arriving was worrying signs, arrived 5.50pm for 6pm dinner booking, fireplace not on, candles not on, it just felt that staff were scrambling to get going. Hors d'oeuvre came out...and our booking had 1 of us as Vegan, oops forgot. Then the 3 course meal was very average not what we would normally expect here, upon leaving I asked if the chef was the same as last time and was told no, it was a new chef. Food was oily, flavours didnt connect and not as what I would expect in this type of restaurant, very average. Will wait at least 6 months before trying to return, very dissapointing for us both.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa, Guest Relations Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2022

Dear Foodie4294, Thank you for your feedback. We take this very seriously as we operate at such a high standard and we have reviewed within senior management and the team for ways to improve. We hope that you will return so we can offer a...More

Reviewed 12 May 2022

We went here for high tea with some frames and the service and quality of food was terrible. The bread was stale had to go and find somebody to bring us a tea they appear to be totally disinterested in what they were doing. Certainly...will not be coming back I will suggest you avoid what was a very disappointing high tea.More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa, Guest Relations Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2022

Dear Jaeynsham, We are as equally disappointed to read your review about your experience. This is certainly not the standard our team like to work at and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We have shared your feedback with the team and...More

Reviewed 10 May 2022

Tea was simply amazing and breakfast is wonderful!! The area that Tea and Breakfast is served in is simply stunning! The Dining Room is also simply elegant!!

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2022

Have done many high teas over the years and this one was a bit disappointing. Such a lovely day, it would have been nice to be outside on the terrace under an umbrella. Instead in a room by ourselves, no atmosphere, obviously running to a...very set routine. Food ok, very bread based, so all savoury items seemed very similar. Nothing warm. Sweets ok, but boring and no scones with jam and cream, an essential!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa, General Manager at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2022

Dear Alikr2015, Thank you for your valued feedback on your recent high tea experience and highlighting some opportunities for us to enhance the customer experience. I like your suggestion to utilise our sunny outdoor terrace for guests wishing to dine or sit outside and this...More

Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

The savoury and sweet served were tasty and a glass of sparkling juice was served with the high tea instead of wine because we informed them we did not drink wine. The ambience was nice but not the best. Limited tables so booking is essential....Overall it was a nice afternoon tea experience.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa, Marketing at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2021

Dear ok_xin, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our food and beverage choices and your time here at Mangapapa. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards The Mangapapa Team

Reviewed 5 July 2021

A fascinating venue which retains much of its history whilst displaying excellent interior design. The staff, whilst professional and retaining some 'old world' formality are nevertheless welcoming and friendly enough ensure casual kiwis remain at ease ! As noted the period decor is tasteful and...excellent quality. The relatively small dining room (and possibly the clientele) resulted in a 'muted' atmosphere lacking the 'buzz' which, in moderation, can add to a relaxed dining experience. The degustation menu was very good with the chef's Indonesian roots providing some interesting touches. The wines are an eclectic selection and well presented.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mangapapa, Marketing at Mangapapa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2021

Dear Malcolm, Thank you for your fantastic review of your dining experience at Mangapapa. It truly is a special and unique property for Hawke's Bay with so many stories about the history of the place. We strive to provide a relaxing, dining experience away from...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Mangapapa Hotel
392 reviews
.00 km away
The Magpie Motel
44 reviews
3.18 km away
Fairmont Motor Lodge
43 reviews
3.21 km away
Valdez Motor Lodge
118 reviews
3.27 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Star Of India Authentic Indian Restaurant
150 reviews
3.43 km away
Off The Track
834 reviews
4.12 km away
Thai Silk Restaurant
179 reviews
4.06 km away
No.5 Cafe & Larder
217 reviews
1.02 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Askerne Vineyards
112 reviews
2.06 km away
Hawkes Bay Farmers Market
260 reviews
2.75 km away
Arataki Honey Visitor Centre
395 reviews
4.03 km away
Splash Planet
383 reviews
3.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Vacation59989805441
30 August 2022|
Answer
Response from Mangapapa | Property representative |
Hi Jude, Thank you for your message. It is best to speak directly with our team on 06 878 3234 or email as there maybe something the reservation team can do with availability for you and they can also do the booking direct... More
0
Votes
Jenni B
24 October 2018|
Answer
Response from Mangapapa | Property representative |
Hi Jenni, Thank you for your question. If you click onto our website, you will see under the Restaurant tab different sections for things we offer. Under the High Tea section, there is a menu and all our pricing details... More
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

MANGAPAPA HOTEL, Havelock North - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Mangapapa Hotel

Mangapapa Hotel is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5