Namaskar Indian Restaurant

Namaskar Indian Restaurant

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+64 6-877 7208+ Add website
Hours
Sun
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wed
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thu
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Fri
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$30.00 – $101.00
CUISINES
Indian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Does this restaurant offer takeaway or food to go?
About
Namaskar is a classy Indian Restaurant serving authentic Indian cuisine by using local produce and authentic spices. Each dish is freshly made to order so you can experience the taste and flavour of different spices. Namaskar established in 2012 and has built its strong reputation, a family run Restaurant with a passion for quality food and great service, interior are warmly decorated with glamour wall papers and golden colour, lighting are beautiful and dimmed. This creates a smooth warm lively atmosphere. The Namaskar is a place where you can enjoy a fabulous authentic Indian meal with your friends or family in the warm and friendly surrounding.
PRICE RANGE
$30.00 – $101.00
CUISINES
Indian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Table Service
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles272 reviews
Excellent
168
Very good
76
Average
9
Poor
12
Terrible
7
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Angela C
New Plymouth9 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 couples
Lovely meal out, friendly staff and quick efficient service. Had a lovely meal our, Butter Chicken Medium was very flavoursome and tender, could have been a bit hotter spice wise but always hard to guess levels when unfamiliar with a new Indian restaurant... good prices for a nice meal out...
Written 17 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Davieland
Auckland986 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 family
We ordered our meal for delivery. It was delivery promptly and piping hot. The curries were very tasty. One dish was ordered medium but tasted milder than the mild curries. I’d order again from here. Ordering online was easy and straightforward.
Written 12 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dreamer22680580459
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 couples
This spot is a great restaurant for tasty Indian Food. Ive never been disappointed. Their curries vary from mild to hot and they always get it right. I love their amazing menu, there is so much to choose from. The atmosphere is always warm and inviting with a very friendly management and staff that make sure you are happy with the food you have ordered.
Written 12 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jill
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021 none
We've always rated this restaurant but last nights takeaway was awful, we've recommended so many friends to it but last night was awful. We had the Lamb korma, usually we tell people how great the lamb is but not this time, firstly it didn't seem as though the lamb was cooked in the curry, and the lamb was in large chunks and so VERY TOUGH we had to change to our steak knives to get into it, it took an awful lot of chewing before we gave up and agreed how bad it was. WE had to cook something else and tossed the curry away.
Written 14 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Beejay1958
Wellington17 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 couples
Ordered a takeout from here. I'm not sure if it was a seasonal dilemma or a regional variation but I have never had carrot and green beans in my Jalfrezi before. No sign of chilli peppers.The chicken was tough and not lean. The Pilau rice was almost cold and stuck together in lumps which made me think it had been reheated from frozen. The naan was good. Won't bother next time.
Written 1 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

poppy500NZ
Cambridge234 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 friends
Service and food was fairly lack luster. Portion of the mixed meat sampler were very meager for $30. Felt completely ripped off by paying so much for so little relatively tasteless food. Compared to other Indian restaurants the portions were very small. Comments at the table were that the different curries lacked depth of flavor and spiciness. The final Straw was the owner laughing at me when I ended up paying for items I had not ordered when the bill was Split between the table . Would not recommend based i. The stingy portions (will ignore the terrible service when paying as this may have been a case of lost in translation).
Written 30 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Namaskar I
Hello poppy500NZ thank you for writing false review, your comments about food, portion and service really disappointed us. in this difficult time when business are struggling to get enough staff on roaster, we always work hard and make sure we can deliver our best to our customers. we welcomed you and your group served water on arrival, asked for drinks, took your order, after serving you starter we checked with you if everything ok, everyone was happy, when you finished starter we cleaned your table and served you mains, just after serving mains we checked with you if everyone is enjoying their meal and everyone was happy, after finishing your meal we cleaned your table and asked for dessert which you didn't order. please tell us which part of this is a lack of service? we asked you for what we normally do from drinks to dessert as part of our service, but you only ordered one starter and one main between two people and now complaining about portion and service, no idea what you were expecting? Why would we laugh at you? I was talking with one of my staff about something else before your partner came on counter to pay bill, suddenly I got laugh on my face while I was talking to your partner I wasn't even looking at you nor talking to you, At least you saw a restaurant owner is working hard on Saturday night and laughing, not many business owners nowadays. We didn't charged you extra. your partner came on counter and asked he want to pay what's left as other people already paid bill, you checked receipt after your partner paid bill then you mentioned you didn't order cheese n garlic naan, I went straight at your table and asked other people if anyone not paid for cheese n garlic naan, one person realised that he missed it. I asked them if they can pay you $6, they agreed and there was no drama at all. you could call us for refund if they didn't paid you, we are happy to pay you please send us your bank account number, we don't want blow your budget for this trip. please don't write false reviews for your own wrong thought and someone's mistake. its very discouraging for our hard working team. Thank you
Written 3 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KiwiZool
Napier82 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 family
Wonderful menu - something for everyone. Totally enjoy the tasty meals and friendly staff. Sign up to earn loyalty points for a discount on your food (tonight I saved $10!). Naan breads never disappoint and the Indian Hot Tikka Masala was outstanding.
Written 16 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LilyNewZealand
Hastings65 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 none
A wonderful restaurant in the Hawkes Bay region. Excellent food, beautifully presented and the starters are excellent. This restaurant is always very busy. It is a favourite when family are visiting from our of town. You can order take out from next to the main restaurant. A wide menu and the restaurant can cater to different dietary needs. Always enjoy the food, the atmosphere and the service.
Written 14 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Discover64416830388
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 family
We came here for dinner on tuesday night . We ordered veg mancurian and paneer tikka for entree . Manchurian was fine but tikka was okey okey . And the mains was out of the test lahsooni palk have no flavour of lahsoon got corn insteed, Alloo gobbi got green beens and jalfrezi got carrots and not a real jalfrezi base for sure . Was disappointed . Never coming back
Written 4 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

NIStrach
Edinburgh66 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 couples
Visited this restaurant as we were in the mood for an Indian meal and this was highly recommended. Started with poppadoms which were a bit disappointing but the mains of lamb Bhuna and chilli garlic chicken with rice and garlic naan bread were very good. Slightly disappointed that the chicken was mild when we requested hot. Atmosphere was very friendly and family orientated and overall we enjoyed our meal here.. definitely recommended.
Written 7 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

DAFYDDHD
Featherston225 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 none
Popular local restaurant, we walked past a few tinpmes and busy at lunch and dinner. We had a takeaway delivered, great fir gf as everything marked. Food was great, one if the best Indian takeaways we have had for quite a while. Thoroughly recommend.
Written 21 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Grazyfromgisy
Gisborne24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2020 none
Went on a Friday night. Awsum service and amazing food. Well done. Our favourite Indian in NZ. (Travelled 230km to go for a curry). Also a good wine list
Written 6 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Linda W
Wellington2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022 friends
The food was delicious and the staff were awesome. They discussed choices with the kids so they could feel comfortable trying something new (and spicer) than they usually would. A must visit in Hawkes Bay
Written 6 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

kiwibear
Napier320 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2023 couples
It was a Monday evening early and we were the only couple dining though others came in while we were waiting. We have been here before and loved the experience. This time though the food was insipid and watery. Both curries! We had a chicken vindaloo which we asked to be mild - we like hot curries but often a Vindaloo can be very hot but we like the sour taste. This curry was like a watery butter chicken - not at all like a vindaloo. We also had a vegetable curry in a green sauce - I’ve forgotten the name. This was tasteless and not at all spicy though we asked that it was medium heat. My first worry was the limp popadoms as I believe a good Indian restaurant can be initially judged by its preliminary poppadoms! These really were not even slightly crispy! I did tell the waitress but she said I’d eaten them so there was nothing she could do!?! I also told her that the curries were not as i remember eating them before and she said Oh. So I can no longer recommend Namaskar which is a great shame - but I do work see whether or not a chef actually prepared our meals?! Maybe they had the night off or we were too early for them?
Written 20 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bazza
Opotiki59 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 friends
Went to this restaurant for the first time at the suggestion from my brother in law Excellent food and service and in a very nice area of Havelock North
Written 21 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-15 of 267
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
St. Georges Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · European, New Zealand
Pipi Cafe
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Pizza
Maina
$$ - $$$ · Cafe, European, New Zealand
Deliciosa Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar
Alessandro's
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Pizza, European, Neapolitan
Mamacita
$$ - $$$ · Mexican
Mary's
$$ - $$$ · New Zealand
Fiko
$$ - $$$ · Mediterranean, Greek
Peak House
$$ - $$$ · Cafe, New Zealand
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

NAMASKAR INDIAN RESTAURANT, Havelock North - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews

All Havelock North HotelsHavelock North Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Havelock North
Things to Do
All Havelock North RestaurantsRestaurants near Namaskar Indian Restaurant
FlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire