We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$3 - $15
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (114)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
52
36
11
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
52
36
11
4
9
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 12 November 2021

Stopped in to get some lunch at around 1pm, not a lot on offer, got a ham filled baguette, apart from the ham there was not a lot more filling in it. This was once a great place to buy a yummy lunch, will not...bother returningMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

The cafe was busy but food was quickly heated [one item not thoroughly heated through]. Drinks took a bit longer. One long central table so not a lot of privacy in conversation. Friendly staff. Tasty. Would return.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2021

Had a nice coffee here but quite frankly the artisan sourdough bread had no taste. The lady tried to tell me that ciabatta is the same as sourdough bread. I was very disappointed with the loaf and won’t be buying any bread there again. Need...to employ a good baker who knows their breads.More

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2021

We stopped off here for morning tea on our way home from a visit to Havelock North. We’re glad we did. This is a cut above your usual bakery café with its stylish décor, table settings, and fitout. We had excellent coffee and delicious home...made lamb and harissa sausage rolls. The other food offerings looked great, for example hot cross buns with lots of fruit in them. A sign that this is a good place was the large number of (presumably) locals who popped in while we were there, for take-out coffee and baked goodies. The staff are friendly and helpful, and go the extra mile.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2020

Sadly never going back again. It's always been about the food and it's high level of flavour, quality and standard there. Sadly not a patch on how it once was.....

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 July 2020

The coffee and slice were pleasant but I did think that the cafe lacked atmosphere. We used to enjoy the delicious pies from the old bakery that was here and were a little disappointed the buzzy atmosphere was no longer present.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2020 via mobile

A couple of months ago things changed at this place. It sold excellent bread and cakes and now it is only mediocre. I can not recommend this place anymore. A shame but I suppose things change.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JacksonsArtisanFoods, Owner at Jackson's Artisan Foods, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

Hi Ian, Our recipes are still the same so there should be no change with the bread, cakes and other items. They are definitely displayed differently as our old cabinets weren't working. This means that we restock our new smaller cabinets from the fridges throughout...More

Reviewed 20 January 2020

We are from Wellington and our first stop on the way to Napier was always Jacksons Bakery Havelock North. But since it has changed hands the service and bakery food range is now terrible. We have visited several times since the new owners took over...but it is getting worse ever visit. We will never visit again you might as well close the doors as you as new owners have ruined a once very good business. Unfortunately you do not know how to run a business.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JacksonsArtisanFoods, Owner at Jackson's Artisan Foods, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

Hi Bevan, The food range and recipes are still the same. We have changed our cabinets as the old ones weren't working. This means that we restock our new cabinets from the fridges throughout the day. Our sandwiches are now made fresh every day and...More

Reviewed 23 December 2019 via mobile

I wanted an ice cream extravaganza as listed on the ice cream menu. It was lunchtime and the bakery was very busy. Waiting by the ice cream counter for 5 minutes and none of the staff came to serve me. So I went to the...counter where people were being served, where I asked for an ice cream. The young girl came to the ice cream counter to help me, but when I asked for the extravaganza she wasn’t sure what that involved. She went to the back of the shop and came back a few minutes later to confirm what I wanted. She looked in the fridge a couple of times and then disappeared to the back of the shop a second time. Finally she came back to the counter to confirm a second time what I wanted and then said we don’t do that any more. The rest of my group had their drinks by this stage and I was not waiting any longer. By this time it would have been 15 minutes since I first arrived.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JacksonsArtisanFoods, Owner at Jackson's Artisan Foods, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2020

Hi Murray. We sincerely apologise for the bad experience you had at Jackson’s. We were very busy as you mentioned and the staff member serving you had just started working for us that week so was uncertain about how to make the item you requested....More

Reviewed 23 December 2019 via mobile

Love this place! I used to go all the time when I lived in Havelock 10 years ago. Was happy to see they were as good as I remembered when I took the kids this summer. Highly recommend the mince and cheese pies.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2019 via mobile

Met friends here for lunch, good variety of bakery items, very fresh and tasty. Popular and friendly service.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2019

We tend to pop into this cafe on a Sunday afternoon for afternoon tea and it's appreciated that a good selection of cake/savories are always on offer. The food is fresh and the service is efficient, just the place to relax after a busy week.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2019 via mobile

Have been buying bread from here for years when it was Jacksons bakers, which is all it is, just a bakers there is nothing especially artisan about the food sold here, you can buy the same items anywhere. But today really takes the biscuit, no...pun intended, as I was in Jacksons BAKERS to buy a loaf of bread and was told no, you can't buy a loaf we need them all to make sandwiches! I then went home, and called and suggested they order some more and the reply from Kelly the new owner was we make it all ourselves in the bakery! Well Kelly, I suggest perhaps you make enough for your customer needs and your sandwiches too! I am sure that you were probably told by the previous owner want sells and what doesn't! Oh and by the way, while you can call your business what you like, the new name sounds pompous and is not reflected in what you sell. There has not been any major changes in your goods and products to reflect that you are an artisan food supplier and still just a bakers. Moving the bread cabinet to wear it is now is also a backwards step but of course what would I know, only been a customer there for the last six years but won't be a customer any longer after today, terrible way to treat loyal customers and a sure fire way to finish a business off. I will use the only REAL artisan delicatessen in Havelock North to buy my bread from in future! Really good job at alienating customersMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Resort19365483252, Owner at Jackson's Artisan Foods, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Hi. We are Rob & Kelly the new owners of Jackson’s and are saddened that you and your wife, who we understand made the request for the sandwich loaf, have had a bad experience at Jackson’s. We sincerely apologise for the bad experience you had...More

Reviewed 17 June 2019

Popped in for some morning tea and coffee. I got the almond croissant which was disappointing as it was hard and all I could taste was the almond flavouring which tasted more like cherry. It was a shame because I was really looking forward to...it. We also got a couple of pies takeaway and they were enjoyable.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2019

Their pies are the best pies I have eaten (as good as the one I had 22 years ago). I shared one with my husband but wished I'd eaten the whole thing.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Porters Boutique Hotel
199 reviews
.07 km away
The Village Motel
86 reviews
.14 km away
Cherry Grove Motel
60 reviews
.90 km away
Valdez Motor Lodge
118 reviews
4.25 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Malo
363 reviews
.08 km away
Pipi Cafe
444 reviews
.13 km away
Maina
512 reviews
.11 km away
Alessandro's
189 reviews
.13 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Smith & Sheth Oenotheque
41 reviews
.09 km away
Keirunga Park Railway
27 reviews
1.44 km away
Havelock North isite Visitor Information Centre
34 reviews
.05 km away
Mantra Beauty & Body Spa
73 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
313leeb
25 October 2019|
Answer
Response from JacksonsArtisanFoods | Property representative |
Hi, Yes, we courier our fresh food Monday to Friday, including biscuits and fruit loaf. Orders can be made via the email address on our website. Sorry but Trip Advisor won't allow me to post our email addresses or our web... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

JACKSON'S ARTISAN FOODS, Havelock North - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Jackson's Artisan Foods

Yes, Jackson's Artisan Foods offers takeaway services.

Jackson's Artisan Foods is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4