We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
76
38
31
19
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
76
38
31
19
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mixed grill steak value for money the pub meal today enjoyed their meals lovely food lovely evening jane bingo xx cam charity manageress
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 23 November 2020 via mobile

Value for money. Staff great and all in masks. Felt safe and I am booking to go again. Food nice and hot.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Thank you for your review Danthetraveller13. We appreciate you taking the time and we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 21 November 2020

Went for an evening meal and a few drinks with family and it was such a nice experience. It can't be easy for the staff with so many guidelines to follow as it was clear some customers made it difficult for them as they were...not prepared to follow these. I for one, could not fault the service or the food. Looking forward to my return visit.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2020

Thank you for your review nickyh372016. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit. It’s true that there are a few people who have a problem with following the guidelines but they are outnumbered by the guests who are understanding and know that it is...More

Reviewed 13 September 2020

Fantastic service! Nothing was to much of an ask for Sophia and Rhiannon! Thank you so much for a great night! Xx

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Thank you for leaving your review Alex, I shall pass on your kind words to Rhiannon and Sophie. We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed 6 September 2020

The best chips in Caldicot tonight, lovely food, service and staff. Support your local.Such a friendly pub, the locals are the best.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2020

Hi Sharon! Thank you for your lovely review. We're pleased you enjoyed your food and the company. Hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 11 August 2020 via mobile

Visited with feiends for a meal today,first time since lock down and was amazed. The system in place was fab and the staff very friendly and welcoming. Felt very safe and enjoyed the experience. Well done to Sophie,Beth,Natasha and Caroline being so thorough and thoughtful...and for implemting the new rules,also food was stunning thank u team Haywain xxMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, General Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2020

Thank you very much for your lovely review Nic! I shall be sure to pass this along to the staff you have mentioned. We're pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 16 March 2020

Would just like to say that have visited here a few times lately and Jane the manager is always very welcoming and takes pride in her place of work. The food is lovely and drinks very reasonable. The staff do a fantastic job and this...is all down to good management.Well done to Jane and her team xxMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, General Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Thank you for your lovey review Nic, it is appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 16 March 2020

After having become frequent visitors at this pub I would like to thank Jane, the manager for always being so friendly & making everyone feel welcome. Nothing is ever too much trouble & the staff that work with her are fab too, as is the...food and drinks. Well done Jane & the team 😊More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, General Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Thank you for your lovely review Sarah. It is appreciated! We hope to see you all soon.

Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

Would highly recommend, friendly staff and fantastic food. The staff are always accommodating and going out of their way to make sure the customers are happy! We can’t wait to visit again soon.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, General Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Thank you for leaving such a positive review Sophie, we really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Reviewed 11 February 2020

We haven't been to the Haywain for a while so we thought we would try it for our anniversary meal. What a mistake!! The good part was the starters which were of a reasonable quality in taste. Then it all went downhill. We had already...changed one of our starters due to one being unavailable, then the mains arrived. My wife ordered the Lamb donner meal which came with two cardboard Pitta breads. It consisted of mass of peppers and fried onions with what looked like preformed lamb lumps on it. It tasted of nothing but the mint infused in it. My meal was no better. I ordered the small mixed grill with the £4 upgrade to the rib-eye steak. When it arrived again it was on a huge bed of fried onions. The chicken and gammon pieces were tiny and they with the two sausages were hidden under the "rib-eye". The best tasting were the sausages. Everything else was bland. The steak had not been seasoned and instead of being cooked medium, parts of it were still red and chewy. I broke my rule of never eating steak in a pub and suffered the consequences. The pub has definately lost it's ambiance. Smells of disinfectant wafted around us (from the table cleaning) and BO abounded in our vacinity (not the Pubs fault). In all we had a very disappointing evening. The Haywain has a special place in our memories as it was where we had our wedding reception 47 years ago. We won't be returning anytime soon.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Owner at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

I’m sorry to see you were disappointed with your visit Richard. Unfortunately there are times when menu items are out of stock as meals go in and out of favour. I’m glad you enjoyed your starters! Your mains were both served according to our brand’s...More

Reviewed 7 January 2020

We came to The Haywain for a charity bingo night. What a fantastic time everyone had. It was so busy, the 2 chefs, Sophie & Cam did an amazing job getting everyone's food out in such a timely manner & it was all well presented...& hot. Well done both. The bar staff all worked extremely hard & Jane & James did a great job calling out the bingo. Everyone in the pub seemed to enjoy the night, looking forward to the next event.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Haywain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Thank you for your lovely review Sarah we’re pleased you enjoyed our bingo night! We look forward to seeing you and your friends soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Brooklands Motel
20 reviews
1.29 km away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1,728 reviews
4.19 km away
Days Inn by Wyndham Magor
278 reviews
5.61 km away
Ty Hotel
1,638 reviews
5.98 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
FrAtelli Restaurant Caldicot
196 reviews
.43 km away
The Castle
238 reviews
.62 km away
Aroma
48 reviews
.41 km away
Knight of Bengal Indian Restaurant and Take Away
108 reviews
.46 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Caldicot Castle
298 reviews
.58 km away
Dewstow Gardens & Hidden Grottoes
479 reviews
1.05 km away
Wye Valley Archery
38 reviews
1.72 km away
Severn Way
22 reviews
6.98 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Haywain staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing