We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Sails Restaurant & Bar, sits directly on the crystal clear waters of one of the most stunning inner harbors in the Caribbean. Pull up a seat at the water's edge for a delectable lunch or dinner and allow our experienced Chef to tingle your taste buds with her exceptional International - Caribbean infused culinary skills, or soft-paddle at the bar & lounge on a refreshing island cocktail.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood, Caribbean, Bar
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (512)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
260
142
43
15
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
260
142
43
15
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster burger beef potatoes rice great location fish of the day lovely view harbour water island cruise georges nutmeg lambie
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Monday lunch mid March 2024 was scenic and delicious with very good service from female server. Definitely enjoyed the Calypso Conch. Amazing views of Grand Anse beach from the deck. Make a reservation in advance! They decided to renovate their bar so there was some...construction noise while we were there. What a terrific experience otherwise. Would definitely return! Check out our photos of the menus and bill for pricing.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

Had a wonderful lunch here with a large group. Amazing views of the port and the activity there during the day. The food and drinks were top notch. Service was also great overall.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Great location and view of the bay, food was ok but the service just isn’t good. Had to flag the waiter down to place order, and long wait for food. Had to find the waiter to get the bill and pay. Would have sit and...enjoyed the view a while if we could have gotten a second drink order in, but that would have been impossibleMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2024

We stayed on Grenada for 2 weeks, Sails Bar was definitely our favourite off-hotel place, went 3 times, once just for drinks and twice for food. Went early evening so was quite - but nice. Need to check the hours as couple of times, closed....A very nice place - good food and good vibe.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Troy Holas, General Manager at Sails Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share such kind words with us. It was certainly a pleasure having you! We all look forward to your next visit. CHEERS!

Reviewed 16 February 2024

We waited 1,5 hour for the table. When we finally were seated the, very rude, waiter told us that the kitchen would be closed for another 35 minutes. The drinks we had while waiting were very expencive. But the worst: the servive was terrible. Don’t...go there!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Troy Holas, General Manager at Sails Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

We do apologize for your experience on this occasion. Firstly, upon arrival you were made aware that our kitchen was closed. You had no reservation, but was still offered the opportunity to wait for an available table. You and your party decided to wait. We...More

Reviewed 6 February 2024

Service was excellent especially the lovely bartender!! The food portions were perfect and tasty. We had the lobster and the curry shrimp and both were delicious. Our waiter was prompt and friendly. The ambience was lovely and so was the ladies washroom... :)

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2024

Food fine but the service remained totally rubbish throughout. Stunning location. Toilets excellent and amazing views.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

The ambience is great. The staff is very welcoming and courteous. The food was pretty bland. Not really seasoned much but the drinks were perfect. Great spot for a few drinks and nice look at the water.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2024

The location on the water is lovely. We were surprised to arrive at around 5:15 and be told, despite the menu's list of bar bites available from 4-6, that the kitchen wouldn't open until 6 and that we could only sit at certain tables even...though the restaurant was mostly empty and remained so until we left. We decided to order drinks before the kitchen opened. We were told that none of the draft beers on the menu were available. When given the food menu, we were told that the only fish on hand was tuna. Eventually, the food came and was quite good. We ordered 3 appetizers--seafood crepe, Caesar salad with chicken, and fried shrimp.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

Very nice place to stop for lunch, great location right on the water, rather busy when the cruise ships are in town as it’s the only nice looking restaurant we could find. But we were not disappointed and the prices were not over the top.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2024 via mobile

Great food and great presentation and fantastic service. Beautiful view of the island. Would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

Service was great and the staff was friendly. The environment was great too! However, the portions are very small for the hefty price. You are basically paying for the nice environment. The drinks were very good! I ordered a pina coloda and the rum came...on the side so you know exactly how much alcohol is in it. I would go back but maybe just for a drink and the environmentMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2024

We came here for dinner last night. The restaurant is in a lovely position right on the harbour side. We hadn’t made a reservation but we managed to get the last available table. The waiting staff were very pleasant. We both ordered a strawberry daiquiri...which was very nice. We both ordered the chicken with grilled potatoes. It took a while to come and the potatoes were cold. Chicken was ok. Average at best and pricey for what it was, I probably wouldn’t come back.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023 via mobile

We visited Sails on Friday afternoon 29th Dec for lunch. We were given a table promptly and ordered a drink each. 15 mins later the drink hadn’t arrived so politely asked were our drinks were; sadly they had been sat waiting for delivery to our...table for last 10 mins or so. Anyway the drinks arrived and we ordered food after being told there was no lobster, no coconut shrimp and no plantain. Well that was ok so we ordered two burgers. Following another 20 minute wait we were then told they had no burgers. OK we thought we will have a wrap each, only to be told they had no wraps either. This left only seafood which one of us is allergic to. This debarcle left us gobsmacked, so we asked for the late lunch snack menu to made available so we could order food; the member of staff replied very abruptly NO. The bill was requested and we asked to speak to the manager. Luckily the manager was available and when we tried to explain what had gone wrong she consistently interrupted us both and talked over us, so I couldn’t get my message across. We paid the bill and set off out the restaurant, only to find the manager outside waiting for us. I tried to explain to her the point I was trying to make but again was interrupted and spoken over. Finally I said that I was trying to speak to her only to be told that I was wrong colour to speak to her. I found that last comment wholly offensive and of a racist nature, I never once mentioned anything of the sort to her and if she would let me speak I could have explained how the restaurants lack of ingredients had eliminated 2/3’s of the menu. Alas I couldn’t get a word in. The restaurants in positioned in a beautiful setting and with respectable staff and ingredients I could see why Sails rates so highly; However after our experience I can’t recommend anybody goes here, hence the 1 star review and if I could rate it 0 stars I would.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Troy Holas, General Manager at Sails Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Usually, when responding to unsatisfactory guest experiences we first offer a sincere apology and promptly seek effective measures to address the issue at hand appropriately. However on this occasion, that wont be the case. The only thing we are truly sorry for, was not immediately...More

Reviewed 30 December 2023

absolutely terrible service.. staff were rude over half of the menu wasn't available..... waited half an hour to be told what I had chosen wasn't available and the drinks took half an hour to come. when I asked for the manager ... surprisingly there wasn't...one ...or even anyone in charge...More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Troy Holas, General Manager at Sails Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2023

Usually, when responding to unsatisfactory guest experiences we first offer a sincere apology and promptly seek effective measures to address the issue at hand appropriately. However on this occasion, that wont be the case. The only thing we are truly sorry for, was not immediately...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Candle Glow Apartments
18 reviews
1.16 km away
Silversands Grenada
232 reviews
2.15 km away
Caribbean Breeze
21 reviews
2.54 km away
SeaBreeze Hotel
53 reviews
2.57 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Good Food
15 reviews
.89 km away
Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant
485 reviews
.81 km away
Boots Cuisine
96 reviews
.70 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
House of Chocolate
319 reviews
.18 km away
Carenage
391 reviews
.14 km away
Fort George
787 reviews
.17 km away
Grenada National Museum
215 reviews
.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kenny519
24 October 2019|
Answer
Response from babydrake | Reviewed this property |
Take a cab, I thinks it’s a hike from the cruise dock. You could ask someone at the marina if they will run you over in a dinghy. There is a dinghy dock cleat and entrance from the water.
0
Votes
Wendy S
26 December 2018|
Answer
Response from Nicole C | Reviewed this property |
I don't know if it is open on Christmas Day or not. But I do know that it is closed on Sundays. Sorry I couldn't be more help.
-1
Votes
B6269XRthomasm
19 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from ShereenH284 | Property representative |
Casually elegant for dinner Casual day
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SAILS RESTAURANT & BAR, St. George's - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Sails Restaurant & Bar

Yes, Sails Restaurant & Bar offers takeaway services.

Yes, Sails Restaurant & Bar offers delivery services.

Sails Restaurant & Bar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5