We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$5 - $57
CUISINES
Caribbean, Bar, Pizza
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Reviews (282)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
76
103
52
11
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
76
103
52
11
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza roti fries bingo night a lot of fun darren island wednesday trivia band caribbean
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great time. Visited for lunch. The service was friendly. The food and drink was perfect. The view amazing. I recommend!

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2024 via mobile

Very friendly service, good prices especially as it's facing the marina! The live background music was great. We enjoyed both dinner and lunch

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2024

Google prickly bay to see what's on, then visit BINGO is a MUST Pizza, I would say the best around Reasonably priced for food and drink

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2024 via mobile

Friday night at prickly Bay is a blast. Semi outdoor venue hosted a great band lots of dancing lots of fun people and the barbecue chicken was outstanding ! Pizza night a few days earlier was also worth the visit. We certainly recommend that.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2024 via mobile

The environment was fun and welcoming, and the food yet simple but very tasteful. I especially like the idea that they have special on different days along with live entertainment. The supervisor team and line staff ensure you enjoy yourself, I will definitely be back!

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2024 via mobile

Arrived at 6pm in time to watch the steel pan. Greeted nicely, presented with menus before we were even shown to our table- ok. Place was quiet. A waiter was close to our table and we ordered 5 beers. It took ages for those to...arrive. No-one asked for our food order so we went up to the food counter and placed our order. Food arrived (pizza and pasta ) and to be fair it was good. Steel pan was excellent. However trying to order more drinks was a ridiculous challenge. Our server disappeared, asked another server then asked another server, asked at the bar but was told they couldn’t serve us because we were seated at a table, asked at another bar to be told we needed to ask a server. Drinks finally arrived after around 40 minutes and a lot of hassle. This theme continued throughout the evening. The place started to fill up, great atmosphere and good band. There were lots of tables with no drinks on them. It seems as though the staff go out of their way to try to look busy without doing anything. Perhaps the only way forward is to incentivise the staff with a sort of profit related pay ? For instance every time the server makes a drinks sale a small percentage is added to the servers wage. Thereby the customer receives great service, the server is paid more and the owner sells more drinks. This is just an idea- it is a great place to hang out but can be very frustrating when you can’t get a drink.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2024

We had a lovely experience, service was prompt and polite, and the half-price pizza was brilliant, absolutely no skimping on contents. Bottle of lovely Sauvignon blanc was a bargain at 55 ECs. No complaints, though the restaurant has lost some of its charm through modernisation...(we last visited 4 years ago!). Professor Malcolm AlisonMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
darren turner, Owner at Prickly Bay Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Thankyou were glad you had a great experience, our Team really do appreciate your feed back,

Reviewed 30 December 2023

Horrible service. Worst restruant ever. I've eaten at road side shacks with better food and service. The first red flag, was after a half hour at the table no waiter came and we had to flag one down. Everything took a long time, the drinks...abd the appetizers took another 40 minutes to come. We waited TWO HOURS for our food which was cold and burnt.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2023 via mobile

Was visiting with co-workers. To be told not to bring any f****** water into the establishment over the microphone was shocking. It wasn’t like we weren’t already spending on drinks & food. Certainly wouldn’t recommend to families if language like that is being used &...I wouldn’t recommend to anyone who wants to feel like a valued customer.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
darren turner, Owner at Prickly Bay Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Yet Again, The bingo sessions are recorded. At no point did i swear in front of 400 people , flaming and chuffing are the words used, ITS a fun filled night, and certainly a family night, weather your already spending or not, we sell water...More

Reviewed 15 December 2023

I find myself somewhat disappointed. I accompanied my parents for a celebratory familial evening at the restaurant's Bingo event and it was completely overshadowed by the manager’s significant lack of respect towards my group. This over two bottles of water which my folks are never...without for habitual and health reasons. Granted the evening started fun and they completely neglected their bottled drinks, and initially opted for a mocktail at the bar and later a beer. Unfortunately, the manager later behaved in a manner that led me to believe that he was of the opinion that my family and I, as patrons, entered the restaurant with the deliberate intent of transgressing restaurant rules and undermining his administrative authority. We simply had not known about a policy against bringing bottled water into the restaurant. The matter was handled quite poorly on Mr. Turner's part. Our evening began around 7:40 pm, we were met by a greeter upon entry who told us nothing about our bottled water but helped us get acquainted since we were first timers; we didn’t identify any signage nor did we know to be on the look out for such, the waitresses working the space said nothing as well (quite frankly they did not attempt to come to our table even though we were told by the greeter that a waitress would check in with us for our order upon being seated, no big deal as we sorted ourselves with drinks from the bar). What’s more, there weren’t any reminders by the manager/BINGO host as to rules that he witnessed were being openly disregarded. Subsequently, a sequence of events unfolded: a) the manager/BINGO host dispatched a bartender to inform me of the prohibition on bottled water not purchased on the compound, to which I immediately and apologetically responded, promising to store the bottles in my car; b) post-assisting my mother with her Bingo card, I started for the exit toward the parking lot during which the manager, seemingly dissatisfied with my remedy, vented his frustration and ire publicly towards our table, employing foul/offensive language and intimating his authority to expel policy infringers from the premises. His statements included "Do not f@,k!ng bring bottled water here again". The lack of humility, patience, and decorum displayed during this episode was disconcerting, given our lack of engagement in any form of aggression, my family's respectful compliance, and our group status as first-time patrons unaware of established policies. I must applaud the Bartender Stephen for being so kind and people-oriented when I ordered drinks- he has a bright future ahead with the right mentorship. Nevertheless, it is noteworthy that upon the manager's request he conveyed our policy breach with an element of trepidation this was approx. 1.5 hours after our first encounter when I had ordered drinks at the bar. I’m not sure where this fear came from as I was in an enjoyable rapport with my folks when he approached and welcomed the interruption and compliance request. My advocacy for improved conspicuity of regulatory signage, possibly within the digital menu or directly on tables, is offered as a constructive recommendation. Additionally, staff should undergo training to facilitate patrons' compliance with established protocols along with tending to customers' requests, as patrons such as myself and my family, cognizant of the principles of mutual respect, enjoy supporting local businesses. At the end of the evening, due to the unfavourable experience, I found it necessary to apologise to my parents, having previously recommended the establishment and Bingo event based on favorable online reviews. Regrettably, I cannot, in good conscience, advocate for this establishment to others, nor do I foresee a return on my subsequent visit to the island. Simply, my proclivity leans toward the avoidance of aggression and undue tension. I hope the manager/BINGO host is gracious enough to understand this review and makes whatever effective adjustments needed to ensure all patrons are respected and problems are identified and resolved amicably between all parties involved. All the best to the operating team as the success of this establishment equates to their quality of life (and vice versa). However, I implore the manager to adopt more effective and respectful approaches to problem resolution and customer engagement.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
darren turner, Owner at Prickly Bay Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Well theres two sides to every story and then theres the truth, firstly our bingo is recorded FACT, At no point did i swear or use foul language. FACT , Flaming and chuffing ARE not swearwords. And are a common part of my vocabulary ,...More

Reviewed 14 December 2023

My family and I are visiting the area and decided to attend the bingo as we had heard good things about it. Everything was going well until about 10pm when I heard Daren Turner make statements to a customer of a crude nature. He stated,...and excuse the language, “Prickly Bay Marina is a private Restaurant and Bar, and we don’t want you bringing drinks on our property so don’t bring your (cuss word) water here”. His rant continued for several minutes and various cuss words were used. This business is stated to be a family friendly business and what we heard was far from it. As you are aware, children sometimes attend your establishments. I am grateful I opted out of bringing my children! This is not the language any person should hear at a family establishment let alone children. Secondly, I have never in my years of life experienced a paying customer being degraded and disrespected publicly like that. It lacked grace and decorum. It was tasteless. It was uncomfortable for all who attended. The use of a microphone to spew such hatred and anger over bottled water is just remarkable! Especially at such an establishment! I am absolutely appalled, as were most of the guests! It is even more disrespectful as he had not previously spoken to this customer before and this was the first error she had made. His behaviour was inexcusable! I for one was unaware of the policy that we cannot bring our own bottled water. I do suggest if there is such a strong policy, that you place very evident flyers at the entrance, on your socials.. everywhere! No one should ever have to be subjected to such words as those used by Mr Turner. I know if my mother was spoken to like that, I would certainly take great offence! As such, I wish to file an official complaint.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2023 via mobile

I walked to Prickly bay marina this morning to have breakfast. The breakfast was surprisingly good. I ordered the breakfast sandwich on a freshly made baguette. Also, the coffee that accompanied it was very good. The service was perhaps a bit slower than what one...would hope for. Staff were friendly.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2023

If you are coming on a Friday night, do not come hungry. The service and long wait time for your food is terrible. Over 2 hours and still not receiving our food. The live music is nice and entertaining though.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
darren turner, Owner at Prickly Bay Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Thanks for , The entertainment part. Were striving to address your other concerns and have made changes to ellieviate waiting times ,

Reviewed 16 June 2023

We went for dinner and bingo. I had the roti and my wife had the chicken wrap. Both delicious. Service was great and the bingo was a lot of fun! I recommend you try this place. Live music on the weekends and great pizzas (...we have had many)More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
darren turner, Owner at Prickly Bay Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2023

Thankyou. The team really appreciated your revue . We have changed lots of things to improve service and function . And our new team are eager and willing with the help of some of our well established team. Again thanks . And by the way...More

Reviewed 7 June 2023

The food, drinks and entertainment were amazing. It was awesome experience, will definitely return.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
darren turner, Owner at Prickly Bay Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2023

Thank you . A real lift to our Team. Looking forward To seeing you again .

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Lance Aux Epines Cottages
244 reviews
.38 km away
Calabash Hotel
1,096 reviews
.58 km away
Mount Hartman Bay Estate
71 reviews
.75 km away
Coral Cove Cottages & Apartments
34 reviews
.91 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Beach Club at Calabash
369 reviews
.46 km away
Island Fever
9 reviews
1.34 km away
Spice Affair Restaurant
90 reviews
.79 km away
Cuban Corner Options
6 reviews
1.43 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
West Indies Beer Company
201 reviews
.89 km away
Sankalpa Yoga Studio
7 reviews
1.05 km away
Aquanauts Grenada
583 reviews
1.14 km away
Scuba West Indies - Grenada
281 reviews
.43 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dutch M
13 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Gda_Bob | Reviewed this property |
Don't think they do, if ou mean proper 3+ day charters there are several companies, look on thegrenada explorer website for their adverts, sunsail for example. You cannot do day rentals.
0
Votes
Richieg1g
4 September 2015|
Answer
Response from 114dpt | Property representative |
Prickly Bay is located a leisurely 5 min walk from Casa bella, and we are the closest restaurant to where you will be staying. We look forward to seeing you. We also have a Bakery with fresh baked goods every days,Well... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PRICKLY BAY MARINA, Grenada - Restaurant Reviews, Phone Number & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Prickly Bay Marina

Yes, Prickly Bay Marina offers takeaway services.

Prickly Bay Marina is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5