We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Malt Shovel

Low Moor Lane, Brearton, Harrogate HG3 3BX, England
+44 1423 862929
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good22%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
Low Moor Lane, Brearton, Harrogate HG3 3BX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 256 reviews

Reviewed today

Brearton is a lovely traditional Yorkshire village to the North-West of Harrogate, tucked away off the beaten track, and home to the Malt Shovel, a small typical 'village Pub, but with a difference. Whilst retaining the best of its 'village pub' feel, it also offers...More

Thank analyse999
MarekJ986, Manager at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you! We are glad you had a lovely meal with us and we can’t wait to see you back again soon!

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This is my first visit and definitely I will be back. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Very good selection of beer and wine. Staff are very friendly and professional. Lovely pub in beautiful surrounding.

Thank sochas5
MarekJ986, General Manager at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded today

We are glad you had a nice experience with us!

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Pleasant atmosphere, pleasant staff and a more than acceptable bottle of Primotivo. The big let down, the supposed “Steak and Ale” pie. Perhaps a better description would have been “Carrot, Ale and a soupçon of steak” pie. This is supposed to be savoury, not cloying...More

Thank TGRoberts
Reviewed 6 days ago

Never been disappointed at the Malt Shovel. Lovely staff and lovely banter. Like their particular Pinot Grigio (not what I would normally choose). LOVE the schnitzel. Miss schnitzel from living in Germany. Have had two in one week. Other half LOVES the calves' liver. But...More

Thank EileenC1657
MarekJ986, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded today

Please feel free to eat your way through our menu whenever you like. We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us!

Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was delicious, the wine lovely, the service was excellent and friendly, lovely place, lovely atmosphere, will definitely come back!

Thank Jenny D
MarekJ986, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you! We can’t wait for you to come back again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last minute booking with my wife and daughter, very accommodating landlady, the choice on the Sunday Lunch menu was very good. my wife had the dip fried brie and greedy daughter had the moules marinieres very fresh and good flavours, my Devilled Kidneys were to...More

Thank Francois M
MarekJ986, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for choosing to dine with us! We hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had another amazing meal here! Couldn’t get over the portion sizes just perfect! Normally there either to small or to big.

Thank Stephen M
MarekJ986, Owner at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded today

We are glad you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to see you back again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Another lovely lunch here,the usual friendly welcome, great food and impeccable service,highly recommend this warm and wonderful place ! A hidden gem that is worth discovering!

Thank Paul-david B
MarekJ986, Manager at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your meal. We can’t wait to have you back again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We hadn't been for years as we no longer live close by but were meeting some friends - we found the food was well cooked and the portions were generous. There isn't a huge amount of choice, but its in a small ish village so...More

1  Thank fussycats
MarekJ986, Manager at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are glad you enjoyed your meal. We apologise about the bread however we have been home making our bread for over 15 years and receive many compliments. However your points about expanding into different types of bread have been duly noted.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were attracted by the lunchtime set menu for 2 courses £14.90/3 courses £17.40 advertised on their website. However when we arrived and were seated we were only given a la carte menus. When we asked for the set lunch menu we were told that...More

Thank 981Jane
MarekJ986, Manager at The Malt Shovel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We apologise that you were expecting the set menu however the menus on the website are sample menus therefore we cannot promise that they will always be available as they change seasonally. Sorry if this was misleading.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel
1,638 reviews
1.99 km away
The Boar's Head
848 reviews
3.80 km away
Dower House & Spa
747 reviews
4.35 km away
The General Tarleton Inn
447 reviews
4.78 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Guy Fawkes Arms
885 reviews
1.78 km away
Hare & Hounds
17 reviews
2.95 km away
The Restaurant @ The Boar's Head Hotel
253 reviews
3.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
River Nidd Waterside Walk
250 reviews
4.83 km away
The Old Farmyard Ripley
5 reviews
3.71 km away
Knaresborough Castle
1,120 reviews
4.93 km away
Mother Shipton's Cave and The Petrifying Well
1,415 reviews
4.51 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ValentineWelwyn
15 November 2018|
Answer
Response from MarekJ986 | Property representative |
Unfortunately not. Dogs are allowed in the beer garden and sometimes in the back conservatory.
0
Votes
Eric H
16 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from boom593 | Reviewed this property |
They not serving meals on Sunday night. They just open for lunch from 12 till 3
0
Votes
Paul H
23 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Mary W | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I really don't understand your question!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$13 - US$32
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Low Moor Lane, Brearton, Harrogate HG3 3BX, England (Formerly Bleikers at The Malt Shovel)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate  >  Brearton
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 862929
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing