We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Speight's Ale House, Petone

Is this your business?
75-81 Jackson Street | Petone, Lower Hutt 5012, New Zealand
+64 4-586 6266
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good45%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (7 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Bar, Pub, New Zealand, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
75-81 Jackson Street | Petone, Lower Hutt 5012, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Good Kiwi food, I can highly recommend the Pork Belly Bites. As my wife is gluten intolerant it was nice to see a good range of GF choices. The drinks list was pleasantly typical of the type of establishment, no complaints there. My Wife was...More

Thank Paulhollingsnz
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Paulhollingsnz Thanks for your review And please, next time you're in, feel free to change out the savoury beans for mashed potatoes...it really won't be a problem! Kindest regards Justin

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great ale house to drop in to for Lunch - fantastic environment and friendly helpful staff. The lunch time mains were very large and great value. Nice to top this off with a tasty ale. Considering we dined on a Monday the ale house was...More

Thank dnlcompton
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi dnlcompton Thank you for your reveiw...and your kind words! Hope to see you again soon Kindest regards Justin

Reviewed 9 April 2018

Rather noisy, but that is not a complaint. Quite busy but service was excellent. Seemed a popular place to be. Had Lamb's Fry and it was outstanding. Will be back.

Thank welingtonanna
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi welingtonanna Lambs Fry is my favourite! Lunch today in fact... Thank you for the review, and I hope you can come back soon Kindest regards Justin

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Had dinner here tonight for the third time, normally pretty decent & always great service/atmosphere. However this time we left very dissatisfied & feeling a bit ill. The pork belly bites were super dry & over-cooked, chicken burger for main was burnt to charcoal &...More

Thank Dee_7326
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Good afternoon Dee_7326 Thank you for your review, and my apologies that your night with us did not meet your expectations! While I appreciate that you were aware we were busy, being busy should never be an excuse for serving meals that do not meet...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018

Spoilt the Mrs here for her birthday. The evening was fantastic. The service, the attention to detail and quality of the food served was very good. The price just right and great to see smiling staff. Cheers guys

Thank YoungTaniwha
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi YoungTaniwha Great to see you had an enjoyable visit with us See you again soon Regards Justin

Reviewed 5 March 2018

Came here in September and it wasn't good, but since we were in Wellington for 5 days my family suggested to come here for dinner. I was apprehensive because of my previous experience. This time was completely different. We had a family of 7 adults...More

Thank MandaV23
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi MandaV23 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience I am glad we were able to meet your expectations this times, and that your visit with us was enjoyable Consistency is the name of the game, and I will share your review...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

A spur of the moment meal. My friend and I just wanted a quick meal and although Speight's was really busy they found a table for us and there was not waiting for our most wonderful steak. Mmm, just perfect. Don't forget to use the...More

Thank flyingkiwi001
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi flyingkiwi001 I'm glad we were able to look after you! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Regards Justin

Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

We will definitely return to this restaurant when next in Wellington. The service was excellent and fast even though they were busy on a Monday night. The food was delicious.

Thank tuiblackpool
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi tuiblackpool Thanks for visiting and glad to see we looked after you See you again soon! Regards Justin

Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Had the "small" blue cod meal tonight. Wish I had made it the large only because it was so delicious! Best blue cod Ive had on this side of the Cook Straight. Was a busy night, but I was seated, served my drinks and then...More

Thank ChelsDave T
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi ChelsDaveT Thanks for the review! Great to see you enjoyed the Blue Cod...a super fish! Regards Justin

Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Great ribs, beautiful snapper on Asian slaw, black cherry chicken, chicken parcel and kids meatballs with mash. Everything was really good and good service. Yummy sundae with butterscotch sauce to finish things off. A favourite place for us to go.

Thank Cynthia N
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi Cynthia N Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after visiting Great to read you had a great time! Kindest regards Justin

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Lower Hutt
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
97 reviews
.43 km away
The Lighthouse and the Keep Wellington
52 reviews
.43 km away
Settlers Motor Lodge
39 reviews
.48 km away
Dupont Motels
59 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Siam Spoon Restaurant
122 reviews
.05 km away
K Sing Restaurant
75 reviews
.19 km away
My French Larder
108 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
NZique
30 reviews
.08 km away
Korokoro Dam
16 reviews
1.14 km away
Neko Ngeru Cat Adoption Cafe
6 reviews
.76 km away
The Chocolate Story
10 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Speight's Ale House, Petone staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75-81 Jackson Street | Petone, Lower Hutt 5012, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Lower Hutt
  • Phone Number: +64 4-586 6266
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;