We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, New Zealand, International, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
88
118
38
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
88
118
38
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb shank mash lambs fry pies calamari fish of the day waiting staff petone parcel mains
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 28 March 2021

As usual the Speights Ale House provided a wonderful meal in a relaxed, friendly environment. The staff treated you like long lost friends and were very helpful. Very efficient service in a lovely clean restaurant/bar.

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Vacationer819797 Thank you for the 5 Bubbles and comments I will make sure to pass your comments on to my team! Happy Easter! Kind regards Justin

Reviewed 10 December 2020

Hi, I have been going to spieghts ale for a number of years now and have even had a private function up stairs,all which have been excellent. Until our experience on Tuesday 8the December 2020. We had a(Pac of 10). We sat down ordered our...drinks and Bread,all was good, Then OOPS the mains come out.The child's meal and two burgers were great,My wife had the chicken bites as a main they were over cooked dark brown and hard and dry. My self I had lamb shanks, the shank was hard and on the outside the rest was ok, the mash was plain, could have had kumera mashed with it. 4 people had ribs they all said the sauce was thick and to much had to scrape it off, also said the coleslaw was like eating a fork dressing with cabbage etc stuck to it.1 person had calamari was to tough and rubbery and her salad the same as was said about the coleslaw. All 1pac ordered the chicken parcel to b told there were none, at 7.00pm come on. Needless to say on that experience I would not recommend any one visit for a meal and I certainly would not return until I have heard there has been a change the kitchen, and that the meals are back to what they use to be like.Over priced for what we received. Regards Murray YMore

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Murray Thank you for the feedback, and apologies for the delay in replying If you would like to discuss please feel free to contact me at manager@alehousepetone.co.nz or on 04 5866266 Kindest regards Justin

Reviewed 8 December 2020 via mobile

Haven’t been here for over a year. Use to be one of my favourites in Petone. Won’t be back. Stopped in for dinner last night. Treated like a second class diner by bar staff. Wattress was really arrogant. Service slow and food terrible. Ordered the...lambs fry. More mash then lambs fry.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Maoricyclist Thank you for your review - and sorry for the delayed response, but your feedback is appreciated If you would like to discuss further please contact me at manager@alehousepetone.co.nz or on 04 5866266 Kind regards Justin

Reviewed 24 November 2020 via mobile

We came for a beer and burger - should have gone somewhere else. I had the beef burger and my wife the chicken. Sadly the food was stale, fatty and had obviously sat for too long as the bottom burger bun was soggy. To make...matters worse $24 and all we had on the plate was a serving of fries and the burger. No class here! Fortunately the beer was great.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?3  
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Michael H Thank you for your review, and apologies for the delay in responding If you would like to discuss further please contact me at manager@alehousepetone.co.nz or on 04 5866266 Cheers Justin

Reviewed 3 November 2020

Eight of us dined here on a Thursday evening. The restaurant was very busy but we found that there was not a long wait. My meal was delicious, battered fish with chips and a salad. A member of our table ordered the Gurnard, however, she...was disappointed that it didn't come with any salad so I gave her some of mine. My husband had a sundae type dessert which was so large, he couldn't get through it so another spoon was produced by our server - delicious. All in all a very pleasant night out and we would certainly visit Speights again next time to travel to Petone.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Chris Thank you for the 4 Stars, and feedback - much appreciated apologies for the late response! Have a great Easter! Kind regards Justin

Reviewed 26 October 2020

We dined here on Saturday 24 October as it was my grandsons 18th birthday: (table of ten - one child) Our reservation was for six o’clock and we were in good time, We waited and waited and waited for service until my daughter in law...reluctantly had to wave to a waitress to gain attention. (No one wants to be “that” person) The waitress said she would return for orders, which she eventually did. Then, we had another wait for our meals to finally, arrive, so all in all way over an hour after we were seated. The majority of the meals were of poor standard and very disappointing Probably the worst meal was the cheese and bacon burger for the Youngest of our group. It was the saddest flattest toughest poor excuse for a meat patty I have ever seen! Some of the steaks were incorrectly cooked (two were great) cold hard broccoli and a Kumera gratin which was tasteless matched up against a very nice pork rib meal and a tasty well cooked shank dish! Perhaps some of the meals were cooked at the restaurant next door? Upon complaining re the sad burger, a staff member approached our younger member and offered different options to appease. Unfortunately, he was “over it” and declined anything else. We explained that he had a severe egg allergy so probably best left at that stage. He was then presented with a huge bowl of fries (thank you) complete with a dish of tomato sauce and another dish of what appeared to be a mayonnaise based sauce which his father promptly removed for safety reasons due to his allergy. Considering the prices charged, a most disappointing dining experience! Would definitely not recommend sorry!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Justin C, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Lynda Thank you for your review, and I am sorry for the delay in replying And I am sorry that your visit with us didn't go as you, or I, expected! If you would like to discuss further please let me know - you...More

Reviewed 23 October 2020

With a large church group so needed to wait until all meals were on the table before Grace was said and we could start eating. The pot pie with horseradish mash and well seasoned salad was delicious and of good proportions. Ordered apple crumble and...ice cream for dessert but after 20 minutes had to ask when I would receive the dish - the 'machine' hadn't printed out the order so my dessert was packed up in two boxes to take home. Pure orange juice was most acceptable also the G&T prior to dinner.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
justincX5739CG, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2020

Good morning DianneC380 Thank you for the review, and the 4 Bubbles... Also, thank you for your patience with dinner. For large groups we prepare the meals table by table so that everyone at the same table is eating together, but in this case it...More

Reviewed 9 August 2020

I come here often because the food is delicious, The service is nice and quick. I also liked the new changes how the menu is smaller. I ordered the lamb shank because I love lamb shank. It came in a reasonable time. Nice presentation. However,...the lamb was cooked nicely but it lacked flavour. The sauce was a little bit too watery and it also lacked a little bit of flavour. Mash was good, the broccoli was good and the gremolata added flavour. Thank God for the gremolata. But I was just a little bit underwhelmed because this is a really nice restaurant and the food is always good but the lamb shank didn't meet my expectations. I wished I ordered the pie or the fish and chips because the other members of my family ordered them and they said that it was delicious. I still finished it but I just wished I ordered another dish. I would score the lamb shank a 6 out of 10. But it is a good restaurant, the prices are well suited. There are some tasty dishes so still come here just the lamb shank need some improvements.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
justincX5739CG, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2020

Good morning sofiaryan7 Thank you for the 3 Stars and review... I am sorry you were disappointed with the Lamb Shank when you visited. I will take this matter up with my Head Chef today - to see why it could have occurred, and what...More

Reviewed 8 July 2020 via mobile

Waited quite a while for a pretty poor meal. Had the Calamari Salad and it was so salty I couldn't eat much of it. All set on a particularly boring salad. Service was good but wouldn't eat here againMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
justincX5739CG, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2020

Hi serfezy Thank you for the review It is disappointing to read that you didn't enjoy your visit with us... I will discuss the salad with my kitchen team, especially the salty calamari If you would like to discuss further please feel free to reach...More

Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

The staff were excellent in every respect. The food was average. I got the fish of the day which was Gurnard. Tasted rather bland. The fish obviously changes so I would hope to get Snapper next time. Or maybe steak.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
justincX5739CG, Owner at The Speight's Ale House, Petone, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2020

HI Brian M Thank you for your review I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us I will investigate with my Kitchen Team what may led the Gurnard to tasting "bland" - we don't like to overpower the natural flavours of...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
ASURE 83 By The Sea Petone
109 reviews
.40 km away
Settlers Motor Lodge
53 reviews
.48 km away
Dupont Motels
90 reviews
.58 km away
Dupont Executive Motels
50 reviews
.62 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Siam Spoon Restaurant
163 reviews
.07 km away
K Sing Restaurant
105 reviews
.19 km away
Beannie cafe
122 reviews
.20 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Neko Ngeru Cat Adoption Cafe
21 reviews
.76 km away
The Chocolate Story
14 reviews
.36 km away
Light House Petone
138 reviews
.49 km away
Strike Entertainment Centre, Lower Hutt
17 reviews
.99 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Speight's Ale House, Petone staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Speight's Ale House, Petone

  • The Speight's Ale House, Petone is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4