We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$35
CUISINES
Irish, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
features, about
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
25
9
6
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
25
9
6
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster fish cakes sea bass west cork last night mains
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

No Face Mask Ruined our Dinner: Very good meal with good drinks selection. Waitress pleasant but evening spoilt as face mask was worn hanging under chin. Not the correct way to treat and serve customers. This spoilt the occasion.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 September 2020

Not one staff person in this restaurant is wearing a mask!! Avoid this restaurant; hygiene not good-- flies were buzzing, the wine and food were terrible for the price, it is NOT the Vincent Coughlan pub, but the "Le Petite Bistro". Their card reader rejected...both of our cards 5 times even tho we had used them hours earlier; forced to run out in the rain for blocks to get cash when they insisted it WASN'T their Card reader! and in the end it was. Not really a French Restaurant or SAFE restaurant as you would think.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
gwencontact, Owner at Le Petit Bistrot, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2020

Dear Loretta After booking with us on the 8 of September 2020, we did look after you and your husband with the upmost care as we provide to all customers. You had, on the spot a lot of occasion to discuss your issues with a...More

Reviewed 9 September 2020

this restaurant is where vincent coughlans was. given our pandemic-related consciousness, the first thing we noticed going in here was that the staff are not wearing any face coverings. "there's plenty of space" says the server, from about two feet away. maybe, its OK, but...its not whats recommended. but we stayed, and were rewarded with some very fine food indeed. its a seafood restaurant, so we all went with the fish. and it was very good indeed. our starters, prawns, calamari, fishcakes are fairly standard menu items, its true, and thats fine when they're this good. mains, lobster, monkfish and sea-bream.all really good, particularly the monkfish, served with mussels and chorizo. I really enjoyed this meal. there were two servers, and they were excellent. managed a busy evening, efficiently and with a bit of humour. fair play. one question. who's idea was it to water down the sanitiser in the restroom? it was practically water, and not an accident, since it was this way in both restrooms. pity that! i know that we have to get on with our lives, but that'll work a whole lot better if we respect the safety requirementsMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed 6 September 2020

Went here last night with my family and honestly it was the best meal we have ever had out. I went for fish cakes and shared prawns for a starter and I have never tasted anything like it. Everyone in the group thought the starters...were excellent. I had the seabass for mains and it may not be everyone taste in the since they give you the whole fish, but the taste was again excellent. For dessert we ended up getting almost all the deserts that they had on offer and we shared them. We all agreed again that they were superb. Regarding the covid-19. We felt very comfortable, tables were well distanced. And everything was spotless.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 August 2020 via mobile

I last dined here 3 years ago, I’m pleased to say it has improved greatly, friendly service reasonably prices and fantatsic patisserie, the best of french bistro cuisine und West Cork produce.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 August 2020 via mobile

Nice restaurant and good atmosphere. Had the battered cod and chips, best I’ve ever had. Staff very friendly.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 August 2020 via mobile

Most enjoyable meal. Whole lobster fantastic, and compared to other establishments not badly priced. Very good service all round. Will be back.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 19 August 2020 via mobile

It’s called a speciality seafood restaurant and we were expecting fresh fish as advertised.. we had calamari, prawns and crab cakes and all were very poor. Definitely frozen, same garnish side salad on each plate and shop mayonnaise in a little tub. There is no...“chef” in this restaurant.. deep fat frier.. and no care or consideration for cooking. It’s called “le petit bistro” so you can avoid it at all costsMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 19 August 2020 via mobile

Front of house were nice and friendly, restaurant is on the pricey side but the condiments with the fish complimented the dish beautifully and was well worth it

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 July 2020

The restaurant now calls itself Le Petit Bistrot. The food was really excellent. We had the seafood chowder, the butterfly seabass and the chocolate Guiness mouse. Each dish was great. Perfectly prepared, visually attractive with very well balanced flavours. The place had a good atmosphere....We know it is difficult, but more effort should be made to protect everyone against Covid19. The staff wore no masks and we experienced a diner at an adjacent table being allowed (served) to move a chair to add to the table so that he was sitting less than 1m away from us.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Blairscove House & Restaurant
236 reviews
7.35 km away
Casey's of Baltimore
628 reviews
11.13 km away
Westlodge Hotel
378 reviews
12.27 km away
Maritime Hotel
1,638 reviews
13.10 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Budds
208 reviews
.17 km away
Restaurant Chestnut
62 reviews
.15 km away
Bally Bia
55 reviews
.11 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rosies Bar Ballydehob
18 reviews
.16 km away
Schull Planetarium
31 reviews
7.31 km away
Cape Clear Ferry
30 reviews
7.02 km away
Heir Island
33 reviews
7.72 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Le Petit Bistrot staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Le Petit Bistrot

Le Petit Bistrot is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5